Vulcann 6th Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 I guess most of the bros/sis here are locally-bred Singaporeans, sprinkled (no offence) with some foreigners-PRs, FTs or simply visitors/tourists. And if you have been reading the local press or have been watching local news regularly (I admit I do all the time), what will strike you is that almost everything from the economy to local B&B issues have been reported to be rosy or about to be better or looked into by the powers that be. A good example would be after EVERY NDP rally talk, the reporters would be churning out tonnes of praise by at least 82 MPs, business folks, academics & other eminent people in their follow-up reports. You seldom find any negative doubts expressed. Maybe some slight concerns but nothing that warrants any serious attention. If, however, you dwell into the realms of the internet, you will find that almost all are allegedly not all-systems-go-let's fire-it-up type of situations. I think most of us are wise enough to differentiate fact from friction and not taken in easily by everything in it. Take for example the hot Foreign Talent (FT)/Permanent Resident (PR) topic. (Notice in the local press/news reports, the powers that be have stopped using the term "FT" but the more generic Foreign Workers (FW)? By definition this group of folks include that friendly foreign cleaner at your void deck to high power MNC CEOs. I guess it will some how soothe frayed tempers over the so-called talents which some claimed otherwise.) And lately almost all gov. top guns have been coming out defending the policy of FWs/PRs, probably due to the imminent BIG day. Of course the latest rally by the top of the top guns clearly painstakingly pointed the importance of the contributions from these group of non-Singaporeans to our economy. And you begin to see many letters of attesting to the soundness of this policy appearing on local press or interviewees praising this policy has helped in his/her business or enable him/her to keep his/her job on the local tv. Things get very interesting when you googled words like, for example, "Singapore Foreign Talent" and it would generate, at last count, 275 000 resulting topics. Many of these are simply 100% anti-establishment bashings/arguments without any substantiation but you will also find some do offer sensible points or raise valid concerns. The latter, however, often do not get much attention in the local media maybe due to the sensitivity it may cause. One of the key reasons for the recent setback by the incument gov. of our neighbouring country of losing some states to the opposition was said to be the latter making full use of the internet to spread their cause. Whether the arguments our neighbour's opposition parties raised were valid or not, only time would tell. So the question is: What is the real Singapore? Is it what is being potrayed in the local media or do you think you can find the real answer in the internet? Your views? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 Nuff said... Press Freedom Index Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 Nuff said... Press Freedom Index eh...still higher than NK and China ok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 (edited) Wahhhh.... top 10 conutries all from euorpe. They can talk whatever crap they want. Nuff said... Press Freedom Index Edited September 21, 2010 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 A dog poops on the grass. To us, it's a piece of disgusting shlt, to the grass, it's life-giving nutrients. At least our media reports "truth", as seen from the other side, or even sometimes, as seen on "our side" depending on who's reading lol Better than the crappy B-grade newspapers i've read from "the free West" where it's blatant lies! How about alien landings? Hoaxes by local pranksters reported as real? A seemingly real photo of a man whose head exploded as he played chess? even their "A-grade" newspapers are sometimes bombarded by messages from their own lobby groups and powerful people/groups who have stakes in the "independent" newspapers. No matter where we are, we have to make a stand and sieve out what we want to believe. The Truth is Out There LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agentwilson 1st Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 different la... asian countries still cannot so free...and i agree....if too much freedom of speech, sure jialat control is necessary in a way, until we really develop until european standards of education social graciousness. u see thailand can liao....and taiwan.... seepeh luan...y? everyone can infer Wahhhh.... top 10 conutries all from euorpe. They can talk whatever crap they want. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 from what I read from the news..there are very few negative news..even negative will also be phrased in a "positive" way economy grow? yes of coz..grow from negative mah dun "grow" how to make the citizens consume more goods and service to stimulate economy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 Singapore got no press freedom lah. I learnt that from journalism school. Singapore's press serves to build Singapore's society for the greater good (apparantly). If that means supporting the Government, then so be it. Such is life here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 Those asking for full democracy in all aspects do know watt they are asking for. The so called western powers of full democracy are just exhausting much precious time and resources on bickering ever so often. Mess is getting bigger every day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 the papers got no choice but we have...so let them publish wat they wan, jus read w an open mind and eyes open to the real situation on the ground.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 21, 2010 Author Share September 21, 2010 the papers got no choice but we have...so let them publish wat they wan, jus read w an open mind and eyes open to the real situation on the ground.. That is my position as well. We will have to decide for ourselves what is going out there. Machiam Neo having to take the blue or red pill in the Martrix movie.. I always believe that you have to give credit when due but when the opposite happens, it is always wise to admit the mistakes & move on from there... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 21, 2010 Author Share September 21, 2010 Today's ST forum article which is a little hard-hitting but IMHO fair criticism on our way of life here. It sums up in one sentence (in bold) what my main objective of starting this topic http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_581399.html ST Forum Home > ST Forum > Story Sep 22, 2010 What makes a democracy MS MARGO McCutcheon surprised me last Friday ('No say? It's simply not true, she says') when she wrote that Singaporeans have far more say in what their government does than Canadians. She offered as an example that Singaporeans were consulted before the goods and services tax (GST) was introduced, while Canadians like her were not for a 'harmony tax' imposed by Ottawa. There is more to democracy than government-led consultation exercises. A democracy not only ensures that citizens are consulted on policies, but gives citizens real bargaining power to affect government decisions. Ms McCutcheon's American husband also described democracy as a fancy word for partisan bickering and gridlocked government. Rejecting democracy that way is like throwing the baby out with the bathwater. While we shouldn't adopt democracy's negative aspects, we should not cling blindly to the status quo simply because it may have worked in the past. The form of democracy which works is one in which all political parties compete vigorously; and present better proposals for voters to choose. It should include an open and transparent government, strong and independent institutions not easily manipulated by partisan interests, and capable, upright politicians. Democracy should afford citizens the freedom to express their opinions without fear of unjust repercussions. The mass media should report objectively and fairly, and be willing to criticise the government when necessary. Building such a democracy requires the effort and participation of all citizens. We need an informed citizenry that is able to elect leaders based on merit, rather than out of fear or ignorance, and hold them to account for their actions in office. We can build such a democracy while avoiding the trappings that bog down some other countries. Gerald Giam ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...