Seaweed 1st Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 this thing pop into my mind this morning while driving....we are on a three lane road....heavy vehicles on the left....light goods on the middle...the right for overtaking.....so which lane do you travel if you drive a car ??? humm....don't tell me you are overtaking all the time har....so you are staying on the right har ??...because there will be always someone who wants to drive faster...so you will become the hogger...??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 You will not be the hogger as long as you keep up with the traffic in front of you. You are the hogger if there is a very large gap between you and the next car in front of you, or if there is no car in front of you at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear September 21, 2010 Author Share September 21, 2010 even if the guy behind wanted to move faster??? because technically the front is still blocking the back ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 Move on right lane. If some car behind and in front is going faster than I am willing to, I shift to middle lane for car behind to overtake, then shift back to right lane if I meet a car slower than me in middle lane. If all the cars in front of me travelling @ my speed, and car behind me closes up very fast, horns and lights blazing, he can go stick his head up his ass because I sure as hell ain't moving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rosschang 1st Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 even if the guy behind wanted to move faster??? because technically the front is still blocking the back ?? Siam and let him pass lo... wut's the fuss?... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowrider 2nd Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 hogging the most right lane? this is SG cars mentality, esp. in NSH... annoying! not all but a lot! let the faster vehicles pass is you wanna drive slow! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear September 21, 2010 Author Share September 21, 2010 but then why are so many cars travelling on the right when it is only for ovetaking ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 I always keep on lane 2 unless i wan to filter out or overtake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 even if the guy behind wanted to move faster??? because technically the front is still blocking the back ?? Usually I will not move if I am already keeping up with the traffic flow and lane 2 is already congested. You know it's very hard to move over during heavy flow of traffic. Of course, if I'm alone on lane 1 when traffic is light, just move over lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 but then why are so many cars travelling on the right when it is only for ovetaking ??? Traffic congestion lor.. what to do? The only time when you see most of lane 1 is clear is late at night Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowrider 2nd Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 Usually I will not move if I am already keeping up with the traffic flow and lane 2 is already congested. You know it's very hard to move over during heavy flow of traffic. Of course, if I'm alone on lane 1 when traffic is light, just move over lor. yes, you're right... I dont understand if a car behind me wants me to give way as if I'm hogging the road... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlau Clutched September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 yes, you're right... I dont understand if a car behind me wants me to give way as if I'm hogging the road... Because he think he is more important and more successful than you. Road congestion is your problem, not his. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 yes, you're right... I dont understand if a car behind me wants me to give way as if I'm hogging the road... ya lor unless they drive an ambulance, then I will give way. Singapore roads so crowded, so easy to filter in and out to give way meh? just slow down the whole road. There are two kind of super irritating drivers that most people hate, 1) road hoggers who cannot keep up with the car in front and still insist on driving on the right lane 2) mad tail gaters who tailgate in a crowded expressway.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowrider 2nd Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 Because he think he is more important and more successful than you. Road congestion is your problem, not his. what's successful got to do with this??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 ya lor unless they drive an ambulance, then I will give way. Singapore roads so crowded, so easy to filter in and out to give way meh? just slow down the whole road. There are two kind of super irritating drivers that most people hate, 1) road hoggers who cannot keep up with the car in front and still insist on driving on the right lane 2) mad tail gaters who tailgate in a crowded expressway.. 3) Drivers cant decide on driving on which lane....."Take 2 lanes up".... Just to add on Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowrider 2nd Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 3) Drivers cant decide on driving on which lane....."Take 2 lanes up".... I've seen a lot of cabs do this... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 3) Drivers cant decide on driving on which lane....."Take 2 lanes up".... I've seen a lot of cabs do this... ok lah. This one is for a short period of time. If you give a slight horn, 99% of these people will go into one lane. But for road hoggers and tailgaters there is nothing you can do to change their minds.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowrider 2nd Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 But for road hoggers and tailgaters there is nothing you can do to change their minds.... Just stay on your lane and keep up with traffic speed... only ambulance or police car can do this with sirene on! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...