Waxing new car

E-Jazz

Most that i know off uses glaze after stripping off the thick compound..i guess you should not why they uses glaze -_- ..and the charges for each car range from $40 to $60..

They charge you for that? Over here the dealers would normally do an 'expensive' (so they say) polish and wax free of charge to impress you....and I think everybody know how 'shiny' they are.... [:p] [:p] [:p]

oh is different here..the groomers charges the dealer..the dealers need to get the car wax up before handling over to owners..

Hi all,

Have got my ride for approximately 2 weeks now.

As recommended by my agent and bros/sis that new car only requires waxing, I was wondering what you guys would recommend.

I'm going to leave it open minded for now in terms of brand etc and the pros and cons, how long it last, steps required and more...

So need you guys to fill me in a little.

The only sad part is I don't have much time on hands usually but am still trying to put the effort in maintaining the outlook of my car.

Million thanks in advance. [:)]

Since yr car is still new n u dont hv much time, maybe u can just send to a groomer to do a professional job once or twice a year.

That sud b enough to maintain your car n keep it looking new.

There r mobile groomers who wash, clay, polish, wax n apply sealant fr abt $50 to $70 each time. Ty also groom e interior in their packages.

I do that n find it convenient n more than enough fr a daily use car.

In between i get it washed outside for a few bucks a time just to keep it clean a few times a month.

I will still say, new car relatively clean.

Jazz is a good size to work on.

Not much time to spare, then better use polymer coatings instead of wax.

I am using Fuss_ hardcoat.

Did 4 rounds of coatings in less than the time I would have done with wax.

get DG or optiwax

Alright, thanks for the info =)

new car simple steps can liao:

1) wash with car shampoo

2) claybar

3) wax

4) detail leave-on

5) sealant

that's all !

I see thanks. =)

Unless you know the what the dealer put on, I'll strip everything down and put on a fresh coat of sealant/wax as soon as possible. I think what they meant about protective layer is either some sort of glaze or cheap sealant/wax. I'm not too sure the dealer would be willing to spend some fortune to put on those type of coating/protective layer like CSII without charging some extras.

Just my 2 cents

Didn't know it also concerns what dealers used. New thing to me, thanks =)

It depends on the brands u are using..some require wax follow by sealant..The sealant does not seal off the paint but seal the wax..

Maddriver, mind telling me if for my situation, car is about 1.5 weeks old coming 2 weeks, what would you recommend if its using DG products in terms of what are the required products, the steps to apply and the items needed to apply them. Thanks

=)

Since yr car is still new n u dont hv much time, maybe u can just send to a groomer to do a professional job once or twice a year.

That sud b enough to maintain your car n keep it looking new.

There r mobile groomers who wash, clay, polish, wax n apply sealant fr abt $50 to $70 each time. Ty also groom e interior in their packages.

I do that n find it convenient n more than enough fr a daily use car.

In between i get it washed outside for a few bucks a time just to keep it clean a few times a month.

Thought of that as well, if worst come to worst and I don't have the time, will have to do that. At first I thought self clean would be fast, didn't know detailing is like an art on its own till i read this forum. So the initial concept of just sending for grooming during CNY has changed to perhaps need to do so more than just once a year.

Whats TY by the way? Thanks =_)

Cause so far, I heard forumers saying these packages cost more than hundreds of dollars, so kinda worried about the high cost which was why I kept reading on products to see if I can do it on my own.

I will still say, new car relatively clean.

Jazz is a good size to work on.

Not much time to spare, then better use polymer coatings instead of wax.

I am using Fuss_ hardcoat.

Did 4 rounds of coatings in less than the time I would have done with wax.

Thanks for sharing =)

I'll read up on polymer coat, haven't had much info on that yet.

Ya Bro..maybe referring to spray liquid wax..

yah hor?! solly solly, got withdrawal kancheong for Friday public holiday to try der OPS and OOS!!....siao liao..

I was referring to some sort of liquid wax which is sprayed and the application is quite fast. Shell (Upp. Serangoon Rd) has it.

yes bro..those are easy to use..

i've tried manually washing my car now for quite awhile, i'd wan to try my hands at "waxing"

i dun quite understand the meaning of "waxing" and "polishing"?

do they actually mean the same thing??

or waxing is merely applying a layer of protective coat ard the car??done probably once every 2 weeks??

wat abt polishing??

thanks in advance im a new car owner :)

Polishing is to remove swirls and oxidation or water marks. Waxing is a layer of protection. Does not remove any defects.