Current COE Policy is Unfair!

Mini-itx

i feel the thread topic is an interesting one but seriously or disappointingly mis-focused.

I do believe the spike or steep ramp up of cars started somewhere in 2004 till 2008 and gradually slow down in 2009.

Maybe due to market sentiments (freddieMacMae, Lehman, NY financial turmoil). Coupled with gahment's preparation

for election, they "started to realise" the masses may not be happy with a lot of domestic issues, and some of them are due to their misreading, ignorance or sleeping on the polices.

Anyway, lowering number of COEs and aim for zero growth is a good direction. It is how to do it without incuring too much cost (social, overheads, $$, jobs) that is the tricky thing.

Personally, i think FTs are not really the real major cause of car ownerships. I have many PR colleagues (chinese, indians, angmos) and most are not willing to fork out the cash for the convenience. Trust me, they are as calculative as our gahment. Well travelled angmos will appreciate our public infrastructure. If they prefer not to rub shoulders with foreign workers, most are willing to book for cabs.

Chinese who buy cars are usually for two reasons:

- they are moonlighting and profits > costs of ownership

- they drive to malaysia

Indians (more senior positions) buy OPC for wife to ferry them after work.

During those bumper years (2004-2008), there are some doting parents that bought cars for their kids.

I heard of some who stayed in condo and owned 4 cars. (1 car each for a family of four. Both kids in uni).

Salary workers (employees) owning more than 1 car should be strange creatures in land scarce singapore.

Edited by Jpcc

I agree with TS. For us true blue Singaporeans, we are forced to serve 2 to 2.5 years of National Service followed by another 10 -13 years of reservist. How about these foreigners or PRs? Honestly ask them, how many would serve or willing to convert to SG citizenship? And in the signs of trouble (war), do you think they would have done what our forefathers have done by taking up arms and fight against the Japs?

There should be a line drawn to specify the value of our Pink IC. If foreigners can enjoy the same benefits, then how much does our Pink IC worth at all? Might as well all of us register our children as PR and escape NS.

A larger taxation should have been implemented to make the real difference, not a small increase in certain fees and say there's a difference for them.

I believe after this, a portion of true born Singaporeans would have accepted these people and not grumble that much.

Uhmmm...sorry to burst your bubble, but second generation PR must also serve NS...and er uhmmm...also sorry but PR don't have the same benefits as you, pay more for hospitals, no handouts from govt (which are partly paid for by PR taxes by the way), less chance of schooling to mention just a few.....

And who said a PR wouldn't take up arms to fight against the "the Japs" (or whoever might happen to challenge) - how do you know this?

be kind to animals k [laugh] [laugh]

It is quite evident that he may represent the minority...as you have heard from quite a number here, that we have nothing against FTs

Yeah...isn't it a strange thing when you and I are in agreement [laugh][;)]

be kind to animals k [laugh] [laugh]

It is quite evident that he may represent the minority...as you have heard from quite a number here, that we have nothing against FTs

You should change it to

Be Kind to Peasants (peasants are like animals anyway)......

Yes, I do understand many in MCF have nothing against FTs. In fact, some (or even most) will even welcome them with open arms. People who are rich enough to afford cars and houses can never understand a poor peasant's life and how we peasants struggled to compete against FTs.....

ITs the how big the flood gates were opened....

ITs way too big and these people are taking up jobs and killing salary. Someone has mentioned earlier...... Who used to work at Mcdonalds? The now? Who used to be our janitors (I still remember calling those old folks morning auntie!)..... But now, I see young FTs instead!!

Now, take a good look at the IT industry and see how many foreigners. They are driving down the salary. Recently, my company's contract with a big organisation ended and was replaced by another company. The new contractor replaces the positions with mostly FTs and from what I have heard, the salary they are receiving is much lower than what I have received.......

Before that, we compete with locals for positions. Now we have to compete with FTs and they are willing to accept a much lower salary compared to us. Who will the company hire? So what you have better skills, the company can train them too. Reducing cost is what they ultimately want, not your so-called better skills.

Talking about that, even the IT guy in my company is foreigner........lol.....

You must look at it from different angles also. Your company lost the contract to another company with lower cost. If your company won the contract, it simply means higher cost to your client and your client may not be competitive in the market and may eventually lose out to other competitors and your contract eventually may be terminated too.

Tomorrow, what if you become a boss and you start your own business. Who will you hire to run your business? Will you consider cost which may means the survival of your business or you just be patriotic enough to have locals who may demand high salary and you are laughing to pay them?

Another point, if Singapore dont need those foreign workers (so called lower salary workers) to come in to take up jobs such as janitors, waitress, bell boys, drivers and etc. Locals will surely want higher wages and hence all prices will goes up. How about the normal meals that you are consuming now cost you another 30% higher or taking the bus cost another 50% more in the bus fares, and i sure a lot will KPKB with the cost and etc.

Imagine, if without those foreign workers, who will want to work to construct the HDB, clean the roads, cut the grass and trim the trees, repair the road, clean the windows of the sky scrappers, house maid, dish cleaners??? May be you yourself will not want the job or how many Singaporeans will let their son and daughters to take up all this jobs? Perhaps you may ask the gahmen to pay you extra incentives if you want to groom your son to become a janitors in the future so as to save guard the job for the locals.

Yup, i am not a local and i thank your gahmen to give me PR status and i make the SGD and will bring back to my country. But, i do contribute by bringing in business from overseas into Singapore and your gahmen got the tax and contribute to her citizens. If we, FT or foreign workers cannot contribute to your country, will your gahmen still want us? I guess everyone knows better. If you cannot perform in your company, the next moment you will be sacked and kick out. That's simple.

No offence. Just sharing an opinion.

You should change it to

Yes, I do understand many in MCF have nothing against FTs. In fact, some (or even most) will even welcome them with open arms. People who are rich enough to afford cars and houses can never understand a poor peasant's life and how we peasants struggled to compete against FTs.....

You too own a car so do not use try that en masse sympathy vote. <_<

You should change it to

Then, my friend, strive to be better and be above them....unless you have feigned helepessness already...then you are beyond anyhelp

You should change it to

Be kind to pheasants.............................can?

I can say the "Pheasant Plucker" tongue twister......and you deserve to be plucked...

Uhmmm...sorry to burst your bubble, but second generation PR must also serve NS...and er uhmmm...also sorry but PR don't have the same benefits as you, pay more for hospitals, no handouts from govt (which are partly paid for by PR taxes by the way), less chance of schooling to mention just a few.....

And who said a PR wouldn't take up arms to fight against the "the Japs" (or whoever might happen to challenge) - how do you know this?

I don't know if I am correct but from what I have heard, some PRs have no intention of staying here for long time...... They are only interested in the $$$ and then go back to their homeland.

I don't know about the 2nd gen PR but I think it only refers to those who are born in SG right? Not those who are born in their own country and come to SG. As for the newly born ones, they have around 18-19yrs. They can finish Diploma, go to a foreign University and bye bye to local NS..... Then family all go back and the end.....

I read from another HWZ about how some PR students are trying to get scholarship to study in SG and then break bond and don't ever come back. Dont know if its true that thats what I have read.

You too own a car so do not use try that en masse sympathy vote. <_<

Lol.... mine is old Toyota..... People own BMW, Porsche and GTRs.... You telling me these people understand the life of poor people? You must be joking.....

Be kind to pheasants.............................can?

I can say the "Pheasant Plucker" tongue twister......and you deserve to be plucked...

Whatever.........

I am not exactly posting in support of having FTs pay for higher road tax as there are no exact numbers to state that they are the ones contributing to the rise in vehicle population. But a bit out of topic here, I do wish that there are far lesser FTs in Singapore, well other than the ones doing the jobs that Singaporeans don't want to do or are not capable of doing.

Really, Singapore now is no longer a place I can associate with. Everywhere I turn, I see a foreign face, hear a foreign voice. Give me back the Singapore of the 80s and the 90s and I will show you Singaporeans who will feel proud to call Singapore home and defend the country in times of need.

Call me xenophobic if you like but tell me which other country in the world has a FTs population 1/3 the size of its population! Social issues, job security, our standard of living... all will arise if this remains unchecked. The situation is getting ridiculous and those who choose to think otherwise are obviously short-sighted and choosing to live with rose-tinted glasses.

I don't know if I am correct but from what I have heard, some PRs have no intention of staying here for long time...... They are only interested in the $$$ and then go back to their homeland.

I don't know about the 2nd gen PR but I think it only refers to those who are born in SG right? Not those who are born in their own country and come to SG. As for the newly born ones, they have around 18-19yrs. They can finish Diploma, go to a foreign University and bye bye to local NS..... Then family all go back and the end.....

I read from another HWZ about how some PR students are trying to get scholarship to study in SG and then break bond and don't ever come back. Dont know if its true that thats what I have read.

I am not sure of exact definition of second gen PR either, but just a thought for you...

So what if PR just earn money then go back home. While they are here, aren't they contributing to the success of Singapore, don't they pay taxes, participate in the economy? And those really top quality ones that do stuff like teach at uni, researchers etc etc - aren't they contributing to the development of Singapore and the IP that is Singapore owned? Then if they really do go back when they earn enough - isn't that better? Then they don't clog the hospitals etc (assuming go back when get older and more inform so consume proportionally more healthcare etc)

And if people really do break bond - they can never step into Singapore again right? Which (to me anyway) is a very major problem, however you will always get such cases - there are also, I am sure, cases of Singaporeans that siam NS, run off after education (subsidised by govt) never to come back right?

Foreigners dont come in and sort of "invest"....

Where's the economy going to grow and become better....

Some of the suggestions which are in this thread would suggest SG moving backwards to become Malaysia...

[thumbsdown][shakehead] [shakehead]

Lol.... mine is old Toyota..... People own BMW, Porsche and GTRs.... You telling me these people understand the life of poor people? You must be joking.....

you telling me a poor person owns a Toyota? even a car at all in Singapore? You must be the joker...

you read too much hwz...

try to stay away from edmw...

really very bad for IQ especially for growing kids like you