Current COE Policy is Unfair!

Mini-itx

definately if he alone leaving, it will not have any impact. but if all leave, u see your PM will panic or not. [:p]

sure panic. all his potential vote going off liao mah [:p]

wah piang le i see all post against foreigners talk c--k one, complain so much, y dont go to MPs or gahmen there complain??? u complain here no use, nothing gonna change especially the TS, u create this stupid topic y dont just u share ur burden with gahmen??post a letter to our ministers. I'm sure they will help u [rolleyes]

some post on Foreigner pull out also talk c--k lah.

the only Foreigner who pull out that will have a big impact on singapore are those construction worker (and its counter part in other industries).

the rest of the so call FT?? go off not much impact one unless they are decision maker of a company and they pull out the whole company.

Ahh i see.. Foreign money/companies, to create better jobs for the locals? On the surface all looks good.

But the sad fact is many of these companies are exploiting Singapore open door policies and recruiting cheaper workers. We need better filters for PR or FW. Else what is the point of attracting foreign investments for Singapore?

Only the GOV benefits 100% from foreign investments through TAX and TAX, , I don

Then sorry to say your friend [crazy]

My kid, monthly school (FULL DAY) = $345, inclusive of speech and drama,

Monthly tuition, for Piano, Tai Kwan Do, Dance comes to less than $200

Where got so expensive as $3k per month....

Mind you...if need to pamper kid can see why

His friend's kid go to Etonhouse.... lol.

Bro, your comment got many loopholes and plenty of self contradicting statements.

Typical example of a 'smoke bomb' statement, coupled with a quasi-economic term at the end...

I really don't see how 'better jobs and opportunities' translate into 'lower pay' and 'cheaper workers'.

Even if they do, thru your warped logic, so what is the alternative?

Kick all the foreign money out? Want to set up comppany in SG?

Sure, first 3 years 100% capital gains and corporate tax.

Is that what you are looking for?

Since all foreign companies are gone, we no need so many PR and foreign workers.

Kick them out as well. HDB prices will come down, since no one staying. Many empty HDBs. Go back to SGD15,000 for one 3 room flat. Cars will be SGD 7000. No ERP, no COE.

Sure its cheap, but can you afford it then?

Food, we have to buy.

Water, we have to buy. (getting better on this now i hope)

Oil, we have to buy.

What do we produce here?

What can we produce here?

No foreign investment giving us jobs, we can survive?

Lets see a viable alternative from you?

PS. Seriously? You think we are cheap? In terms of labour costs?

Go take a tour around our neigbouring countries, or a little bit further to China.

I think you'll find out what is cheap labour.

Can produce babies and after grown up, can export to overseas to work as cheap labor and tt the foreign $$$ back in to SG old folks to buy groceries. [laugh]

Care to explain?? Vietnam is still export mei mei to SG. :wub:

Kick all the foreign investments out and we'll have to export our mei meis....

come to think of it, maybe not such a bad idea... :wub:

lol.... [:p] dun shoot me!! just kidding..

Right now everyone is paying the same COE, the same road tax. I feel this is very unfair. If you look at the popular of true Singaporeans (born locally, not PR or migrants), our population has not grow much over the past decade. The bulk of the increase are caused by immigrants and foreigners!

Thus, I feel that foreigners should be paying a higher COE and road tax compared to Singaporeans. Cause they are the ones who are contributing to our jams (I don't believe no foreigner don't own any cars here.....). Singapore roads for Singaporeans. Not aliens or xenomorphs! Charge them gao gao, just like gahment hospitals and clinics. Make them pay more ERP as well!!

PR included ma?

How will you enforce?

Rental market will boom, which will lead to less transperancy, harder to enforce, more hit n run and a lot of other stuff as well.

How abt let say earning <$5k/mth cant buy any car for sporean & <$10k for foreigners ?

some post on Foreigner pull out also talk c--k lah.

the only Foreigner who pull out that will have a big impact on singapore are those construction worker (and its counter part in other industries).

the rest of the so call FT?? go off not much impact one unless they are decision maker of a company and they pull out the whole company.

I agree, in manufacturing, my company, we definitely can do with alot less pinoy and chinese national engineers. Most of them here are becoz they are cheaper, not that they are more talented than local.

Edited by Ender

How abt let say earning <$5k/mth cant buy any car for sporean & <$10k for foreigners ?

WoW! That's even more unfair! In fact, that's discrimination! If a person is single with no responsibilities, no outstanding debts, less tham $5k why cannot buy car? It's his/her perogative.

There's a car for every budget, wanna buy cheap when COEs are high? Just go for those nearing COE expiration and change car every few years at minimum depreciation. But must drive LPK lah! [:p]

Every country is unique.

What other country, besides New Zealand, do you know is 3 hours flight from their nearest international neighbour? Each country has challenges, just because you have challenges doesn't allow you to milk the people that you welcomed here, that are contributing to your economy, and your well being, you don't get to treat these people as "less equal".

Like I have said many time, if you have a resource problem, don't use it so much, don't fill the glass so full. It is inappropriate and a recipe for disaster to start creating class divides with a population. To start treating one group as more or less worthy than another.

Folks,

I just wanna share a thought here. It's not a "Hate-PR" statement. It's not directed at Darryn personally but it's with respect the line that he's been using (like many others) that I want to comment on.

I'm not mincing my words here, just calling it for what it is, so if any of you feel offended, I'll just state that it's not my intention, but I also do not see it anything less than true and factual.

PRs are here on their own free well, for their own purpose and benefit. They do not come here with the noble intent of 'contributing to Singapore's economy, nor to improve the lives of the citizens"

The truth: PRs are here because the policies/opportunities/lifestyles here favour them ... there is something they (PRs) want and can get from here.

So the reality is that PRs are here mainly (if not solely) for their own benefit. Any 'contribution' to Singapore's economy is a by-product for their own cause. So let's be honest here and not be hypocritical and try to glorify this ok?

Edited by Scoots

Folks,

I just wanna share a thought here. It's not a "Hate-PR" statement. It's not directed at Darryn personally but it's with respect the line that he's been using (like many others) that I want to comment on.

I'm not mincing my words here, just calling it for what it is, so if any of you feel offended, I'll just state that it's not my intention, but I also do not see it anything less than true and factual.

PRs are here on their own free well, for their own purpose and benefit. They do not come here with the noble intent of 'contributing to Singapore's economy, nor to improve the lives of the citizens"

The truth: PRs are here because the policies/opportunities/lifestyles here favour them ... there is something they (PRs) want and can get from here.

So the reality is that PRs are here mainly (if not solely) for their own benefit. Any 'contribution' to Singapore's economy is a by-product for their own cause. So let's be honest here and not be hypocritical and try to glorify this ok?

Yes this is true, the point that is trying to be made, is that PRs pay taxes, they work just as much as a citizen does. They are not paid to be here by the govt, so they should not be penalised....

because the kid is put at that something like kindergarden there for whole day, located at near harbourfront there. just 1 yr 3 mth old already go school :wacko:

15 month old is baby care, so maybe more expensive, mine started at 18 month, also full day, back then was $295 per month (after working mum subsidy)