Saroja117 Neutral Newbie September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 Hey guys, my car's Tyre got punctured called AA for help and fitted the spare on ,i do not know where to go and change the tube or repair it. Can you all please help me on this, where is the cheapest and best place to repair the tyre. Cheers! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6656 1st Gear September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 What tires u using? Haven't heard about tube tires for a long long time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saroja117 Neutral Newbie September 18, 2010 Author Share September 18, 2010 Tube one cause Suzuki Grand Vitara. Big tires. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 Balestier Lee Huat tyres and battery. still open now till 1-2am. Not sure where you staying though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saroja117 Neutral Newbie September 18, 2010 Author Share September 18, 2010 i at woodlands can go Tomorrow also. Can i repair it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subzro Neutral Newbie September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 Curious, what tyre issit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saroja117 Neutral Newbie September 18, 2010 Author Share September 18, 2010 Dunlop Grandtrek ST30 225/60 R18 100H Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subzro Neutral Newbie September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 On 9/18/2010 at 5:07 PM, Saroja117 said: Dunlop Grandtrek ST30 225/60 R18 100H Correct me if I'm wrong. I don't think it's running on a tube as most modern tires are tubeless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 On 9/18/2010 at 5:21 PM, Subzro said: Correct me if I'm wrong. I don't think it's running on a tube as most modern tires are tubeless. TS need to double-check his tyres. Very likely to be tubeless construction as mentioned by 'Subzro'. Tubeless tyre rely on the air pressure within the tyre to hold the tyre sidewall securely to the rim/wheel. If a tyre-tube is used inside a tubeless tyre, then this is not advisable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 Since TS is an AA member, can also consult their hotline for advise about the tyre-tube. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cammys_MR 1st Gear September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 On 9/18/2010 at 4:07 PM, Saroja117 said: Hey guys, my car's Tyre got punctured called AA for help and fitted the spare on ,i do not know where to go and change the tube or repair it. Can you all please help me on this, where is the cheapest and best place to repair the tyre. Cheers! Hi there,have the same problem notify by other motorist,no wonder the feeling is abit not smooth.Drive cautiously to the nearest pump station cos not willing to change myself.Go to any Tyre shop,they will justify the cause.As for me,there is a slight puncture and they just patch-up.The cost is around $8 - $10 dollars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saroja117 Neutral Newbie September 19, 2010 Author Share September 19, 2010 May i know where to go and patch it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saroja117 Neutral Newbie September 19, 2010 Author Share September 19, 2010 What about Suzuki what will they do, or i have to go to trye shop to repair. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedz76 2nd Gear September 19, 2010 Share September 19, 2010 bro most tyres are tubelss now can go to any tyre shop like those at the petrol kiosks... they will be able to tell if the puncture can be patched.. as like what the bros say.. it can be patched from as little as $5 onwards... depends on the shop (just make sure the shop is not manned only byt the young ah tiongs) if the puncture is too serious... and the sidewall is deformed and crushed.. then you will have to change the tyre (worst case) i believe there are some tyre shops opened at amk autopoint as well on Sun... good luck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saroja117 Neutral Newbie September 19, 2010 Author Share September 19, 2010 I think i hit the curb once yesterday. Maybe it should have been the reason, I am not sure. So will i have to change the tyre completely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic September 19, 2010 Share September 19, 2010 I encounter ppl use a tube in tubeless tire before but that was some years back. I dun think it's practiced now. The reason for doing so is that the tubeless tire has suffer structure damage that is beyond repair in the first place an inflatable tube is inserted into it to tahan a little longer, it's not meant for long term usage. My guess is the previous owner dun want to "waste money" getting a new tire as he's getting rid of the car soon. It's cheaper to insert a tube to temp use it dan spend on a new tire. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvyn Neutral Newbie September 19, 2010 Share September 19, 2010 If at Woodlands area no need so lehchey go too far. Tyre repair shops can be found easily at Woodlands Industrial estate, Sungei Kadut Industrial estate and I dunno what it's called but the industrial estate is just along Mandai road... Yew Tee Industrial estate? In fact, even the Caltex along the road has a small shop manned by an old man, he can help patch tyre too. But the patching is the punch in method where a piece of rubber/latex is slotted into the hole then trimmed off. Patches are harder to find I think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear September 19, 2010 Share September 19, 2010 On 9/18/2010 at 4:07 PM, Saroja117 said: Hey guys, my car's Tyre got punctured called AA for help and fitted the spare on ,i do not know where to go and change the tube or repair it. Can you all please help me on this, where is the cheapest and best place to repair the tyre. Cheers! Most/all new cars come with tubeless tire, so check if yours also tubeless tyre Not all punctured tubeless tire can be repaired without installing tube for re-use (not always available) Many/most tubeless punctures can be repaired by rubber plug insert method Stamford Tyres used to provide free puncture repairs for tire bought from them (otherwise charges $8/-) Petrol station used to charge $12/- for tubeless puncture repair ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...