New Laptop with one or two adjacent dead pixels

Yewhiong

Hi bros,

Recently, I have bought an Asus notebook at the Comex. The retailer was Courts. It's only recently that I realised that there is one or two adjacent black pixels. It's hard to differentiate whether it is one or two adjacent black pixels.

Any bros can accept their new notebook with dead pixel? I found it irritating, especially spending so much money to buy this notebook. Esp Asus which I thought is famous for quality. Any advice for me that I should take?

Regards,

Kent

Hey bro,

Dead pixels are a bad sign for your display.. It should never be acceptable, especially for a new laptop.. The dead pixels can spread, from one or two, to many and eventually affect a major part of the screen..

I'm sure laptop nowadays have at least a year warranty.. I'm using an Asus Laptop too, by default it comes with 2 years warranty.. I've purchased the 3rd Year warranty for a reasonable price..

How long ago was it since you got your laptop? Is it within the 1 to 1 exhange period from the retailer? If it is, it'll save you the trouble.. As long as you have the original receipt..

If not, you've gotta go back to the servicing centre.. here's the link:

Asus Service Centre

[wave]

my fren bought a Sony Digicam during the comex. The screen was found to have a dead pixel. The sony booth was managed by Mustafa. Managed to do 1 to 1 exchange with Mustafa within 7 days of purchase.

Went to Asus Support two days ago... Was told by their counter staff that I got only one dead black pixel and I should go back to Courts. I'm a bit sceptical when he said that. No test to verify that it is one dead pixel.

I contacted Courts. Was told that they need to liase with Asus first... Think I got the feeling that I have to wait long long for their answer...

Today, I downloaded a software that can make a pixel to flash. Compared that flashing pixel with my dead pixel. I think it is two adjacent dead pixels. Thinking to lup this N61 laptop to Asus Support again.Taking leave from work again... Driving me nuts...

First time experiencing such 1-to-1 exchange policy... So much hassle.... Haizz. Most prob, my last laptop from Asus or Courts.

to TS, i hav to say someting which will make u feel very bad... normally for laptop panel or even lcd monitor, 1 or 2 dead pixels is very difficult to get a 1-1 exchange... comparing a digicam with such a bigger screen, it is impossible to compare... the smaller the size of the screen, the more difficult it is to kana dead pixels (tis explains y digicam can be 1-1 exchange accepted)... therefore for a normal lcd panel, it is easier to get it (hence retailers/manufacturer wun easily giv 1-1 exchange for 1 or 2 dead pixels)...

to add on, yes its even mentioned in the warranty that such dead pixels are considered the norm for current LCD technology... it won't be deemed as faulty....

having said that some LCD manufacturers do take pride in ZERO Dead Pixel warranty.. but these manufacturers are by large few and hard to come by.

I guessed this is how manufacturers keep their notebook price low by having lesser quality checks on lcd screen.

Different manufacturers has different warranty policy on the number of dead pixels. To be fair to consumers, there should be no dead pixels when the goods are shipped. Sales reps should performed checks and advise customer before it is transacted.

About 5 years ago, I bought a notebook from HN. The sales rep done a full pixel check on the laptop before selling to me. This time, the courts sales rep did not do the test or told me that there is dead pixels on the screen. Guessed might be due to the inexperienced cpurts staff during comex.

Usually, the warranty will state the minimum number of dead pixels to warrant abnormality.

I had a single dead pixel in my new laptop this year, I fixed it myself using the pressure method. But be careful with the object you use, else you will poke through the cushioning cloth and end up leaving permanent marking to your screen.

http://www.wikihow.com/Fix-a-Stuck-Pixel-on-an-LCD-Monitor

Pressure Method

1. Turn off your computer's monitor.

2. Get yourself a damp washcloth, so that you don't scratch your screen.

3. Take a household pen, pencil, screwdriver, or some other sort of instrument with a focused, but relatively dull, point. A very good tool would be a PDA stylus.

4. Fold the washcloth to make sure you don't accidentally puncture it and scratch the screen.

5. Apply pressure through the folded washcloth with the instrument to exactly where the stuck pixel is. Try not to put pressure anywhere else, as this may make more stuck pixels.

6. While applying pressure, turn on your computer and screen.

An example for your readup : Dell's policy

Dell LCD Pixel Policy

LCD Display Pixel Policy

Each Pixel is made up of a Red, Green and Blue sub-pixel. When a sub-pixel is fixed in an unchanging state, the visible result is a tiny black, white or colored spot that appears on the screen. There are generally two types of sub-pixel defects namely Bright and Dark sub-pixel defects.

A sub-pixel defect is also referred to as a dot defect.

Bright Sub-Pixel defects: A sub-pixel remains permanently lit, resulting in a white or colored dot on a Black background.

Dark Sub-Pixel defects: A sub-pixel remains permanently unlit, resulting in a black or colored dot on a White background.

During LCD manufacturing process, it is not uncommon for one or more sub-pixels to become fixed in an unchanging state. A display with 1 to 5 fixed sub-pixel is considered normal and within industry standards

Edited by EllaEmma

Went back to Asus Support again. Served by a different counter staff. This time, he recorded "2 dead pixels". Different from the previous visit when the staff said only one dead pixel.

Notebook is at Asus support now. Hopefully, they can do something to it. And not pressing the LCD to resolve the issue.

If i were you, i will just report as notebook intermittenly power off by itself, cannot boot up, keep restarting within the first few days after purchase; need to state no additional hardware like RAM installed, clean O/S, and no external devices plug into notebook...

Good one..

I managed to "proof" to Asus Support that there is actually two adjacent dead pixels instead of one using a software. I'm no pushover, playing by the book. Even downloaded Asus LCD warranty rights, just in case I need to show them.

Courts hasn't updated me any good news. Anyway, if I wait for them, moon will come from the west. So, I decided I go to Asus Support for help.

court will not respond one. they jus sell u the thing them and none of their business le. go for Asus Support, your warranty should have cover the dead pixels. 1 to 1.

Agreed. If Courts dun contact me in a week time, I will write off Courts. Totally no after-service.

Bought a notebook from Harvey Norman about 5 years ago. The sales rep done a proper check, including dead pixel check with me.

Come to think about it... It's risky to purchase notebook online. Considering there might be no 1-1 exchange, since 1 to 5 dead pixels are within industrial standards.

Agreed. If Courts dun contact me in a week time, I will write off Courts. Totally no after-service.

Bought a notebook from Harvey Norman about 5 years ago. The sales rep done a proper check, including dead pixel check with me.

Come to think about it... It's risky to purchase notebook online. Considering there might be no 1-1 exchange, since 1 to 5 dead pixels are within industrial standards.

hi bro

let me share with you my experience with Harvey Norman.

Awhile back this year I bought a touchscreen HP all in desktop.

So it looks like an LCD TV.

I understood from the net that it could be mounted to the wall via a wall mounting plate that comes in the box. All you have to do is attach a wall bracket.

So during the com show. I think SITEX or something. I asked the HP staff and they told me no problem it can.

However, Harvey Norman gave me a better deal somemore got the all-inclusive warranty for 5yrs so i bought from HN. Before purchasing I also asked them whether can mount to wall and they told me can.

Now you know PC show all these companies hire students who dont know s--t bout computers.

So when i brought it back i was figuring how to get it mounted to the wall. So i checked the manual and it said that a wall mounting plate was standard.

But I called HP and they told me dont have such thing ! KNN.

So i write complaint and they push here push there.

Finally I buay tahan I write to Harvey Norman GM and immediately their staff replied!!

Harvey Norman service is EXCELLENT.

Instead of pushing the blame here and there, they went to press HP and HP after much "persuasion" finally said oh actually have but we took it out for regional market even though its the same model.

All this without me lifting a finger!

Harvey Norman then arranged a quick pickup from their store and I had it.

Excellent service really.