Dogbert1973 Clutched September 17, 2010 Share September 17, 2010 I always wondered, when authorities enforcing time based offences, whose time do they use? For example, was driving next to Bus lane just now at 9.25am, so what if I enter the bus lane at 9.26am. (Bus lane ends at 9.30am) perhaps my car clock already shows 9.30am. ERP no argument cause the clock is on the gantry so for carpark and bus lane, do they have 'unofficial policy' that the 1st & last 10 mins they do not really summon you. Anyone knows how it officially works or kenna summon at 9.29 am before? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Novestel 1st Gear September 17, 2010 Share September 17, 2010 On 9/17/2010 at 2:42 AM, Dogbert1973 said: I always wondered, when authorities enforcing time based offences, whose time do they use? For example, was driving next to Bus lane just now at 9.25am, so what if I enter the bus lane at 9.26am. (Bus lane ends at 9.30am) perhaps my car clock already shows 9.30am. ERP no argument cause the clock is on the gantry so for carpark and bus lane, do they have 'unofficial policy' that the 1st & last 10 mins they do not really summon you. Anyone knows how it officially works or kenna summon at 9.29 am before? cut and paste url :- http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/city.html?n=236 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dogbert1973 Clutched September 17, 2010 Author Share September 17, 2010 On 9/17/2010 at 2:51 AM, Novestel said: cut and paste url :- http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/city.html?n=236 you are saying officially LTA and Cisco follows time from this clock? you know or is a guess? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged September 17, 2010 Share September 17, 2010 I would think they take reference from GMT? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged September 17, 2010 Share September 17, 2010 They have to as this is so call the offical time. But those people on the roads might not sync their watches. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doraemarc Clutched September 17, 2010 Share September 17, 2010 well, dat would put us in the same situation when tearing parking coupon.... my clock shows 10:00am so i tear as it is... shorthly after i leave sui sui LTA come n check n her time is 9:54am only... so will they fault us? guess that's pretty much subjective.... n depends on e officer's mood at point of time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 17, 2010 Share September 17, 2010 (edited) +/- 10 mins should be fine... I got my summon waived as that fellow summoned me because it was 0953am and I tear my coupon to start at 10am... Edited September 17, 2010 by Typhoonz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic September 17, 2010 Share September 17, 2010 This is the official time in Singapore : http://www.singaporestandardtime.org.sg/ Singapore Standard Time (SST) is the national standard time, and disseminated to the public by National Metrology Center via Internet. You are welcome to use our free service to synchronise your computer time to SST. What is Singapore Standard Time? How is SST determined? How is the accuracy of SST assured? SST is an abbreviation of Singapore Standard Time. It is obtained by offsetting +8 hours from UTC. The National Metrology Centre maintains the caesium atomic clocks. They are regularly compared, through GPS satellites, with some 260 atomic clocks maintained in about forty countries around the world. An international organisation BIPM (Bureau International des Poids et Measures) collects data of these atomic clocks and computes the world average time, or international time. Singapore Standard Time is then generated by aligning our caesium clock to this international time and corrected for the time zone of Singapore. Consequently, UTC of Singapore is within the accuracy of 100 nanoseconds (one-billionth of a second) from UTC at any time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear September 17, 2010 Share September 17, 2010 even if they is a official time, but how and who to certify that the time is adjusted correctly. And that the camera they use, or that they watch must be "official time piece" then it is official. I knew that if you make police report, there is no such thing as 9.23, 9.29 or 9.31. They round off to the 5 and 0. For me I dont enter bus lane within the +/- 5-10 minute margin. All other time drive on all the way, when it is cleared. Strangely, many drivers avoid bus lane even during week ends and PH. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear September 17, 2010 Share September 17, 2010 (edited) On 9/17/2010 at 2:42 AM, Dogbert1973 said: I always wondered, when authorities enforcing time based offences, whose time do they use? For example, was driving next to Bus lane just now at 9.25am, so what if I enter the bus lane at 9.26am. (Bus lane ends at 9.30am) perhaps my car clock already shows 9.30am. ERP no argument cause the clock is on the gantry so for carpark and bus lane, do they have 'unofficial policy' that the 1st & last 10 mins they do not really summon you. Anyone knows how it officially works or kenna summon at 9.29 am before? They stop monitoring bus lane about 5~10 mins before into or times up. So... no excuse. But if you really got summon, can right in to appeal as their discretion, but have to show you are not blocking any buses. Edited September 17, 2010 by Nothingtodo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear September 17, 2010 Share September 17, 2010 On 9/17/2010 at 2:42 AM, Dogbert1973 said: I always wondered, when authorities enforcing time based offences, whose time do they use? For example, was driving next to Bus lane just now at 9.25am, so what if I enter the bus lane at 9.26am. (Bus lane ends at 9.30am) perhaps my car clock already shows 9.30am. ERP no argument cause the clock is on the gantry so for carpark and bus lane, do they have 'unofficial policy' that the 1st & last 10 mins they do not really summon you. Anyone knows how it officially works or kenna summon at 9.29 am before? Oh, as for carpark, if your coupon is left with 5 mins, they will usually wait for times up (after 5 mins away from their sync GMT time). Tickets which I receive is alway about 10 mins from my watch time, which I sync every month. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewtk Neutral Newbie September 17, 2010 Share September 17, 2010 Have worked on a project with HDB that is related to parking. There's a 10 minute grace so you won't get fined if you exceeded less than that. Believe me these guys are also quite sensitive to bad publicity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear September 17, 2010 Share September 17, 2010 On 9/17/2010 at 5:33 AM, Chewtk said: Have worked on a project with HDB that is related to parking. There's a 10 minute grace so you won't get fined if you exceeded less than that. Believe me these guys are also quite sensitive to bad publicity. I believe you...especially when the E event is coming.... if u dun believe, there will no 'summon' for minor offence Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yong54321 Neutral Newbie September 23, 2010 Share September 23, 2010 I second this... there is a 10 minutes when parking without coupon.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched September 23, 2010 Share September 23, 2010 Strange leh, my iphone time (set at auto) is 20 over seconds different from this SST..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear September 23, 2010 Share September 23, 2010 On 9/17/2010 at 2:42 AM, Dogbert1973 said: I always wondered, when authorities enforcing time based offences, whose time do they use? For example, was driving next to Bus lane just now at 9.25am, so what if I enter the bus lane at 9.26am. (Bus lane ends at 9.30am) perhaps my car clock already shows 9.30am. ERP no argument cause the clock is on the gantry so for carpark and bus lane, do they have 'unofficial policy' that the 1st & last 10 mins they do not really summon you. Anyone knows how it officially works or kenna summon at 9.29 am before? they use traditional method, look at the sun ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...