WKS: Fewer Foreigners Granted PR Status This Year

Vulcann

Seems better odds of getting a PR approved than striking toto, 4D leh... :blink:

1 in 2 processed applications gets approved, machiam go casino play da siao (大小)also can win some how...

tikum tikum may kena yes?

Did not really know it is so easy to get a PR here.

On a serious note, how stringent was/will be the control then and now?

We are not against real talents e.g. Jim Rogers that bring great value to our nation as a PR per se.

Or a tycoon becoming a PR and setting up companies to employ local folks.

Instead what we see on the ground are supposingly talents (OMG, a PRC bus driver?) competing DIRECTLY with us for the same jobs but at a lower asking pay.

Will we see a day they bring in Obama, Hillary as PRs then citizens to be in the cabinet?

That will be the day....

Ok enough of ranting.

Your views?

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1081613/1/.html

Fewer foreigners granted PR status this year

By Hetty Musfirah Abdul Khamid | Posted: 16 September 2010 1603 hrs

SINGAPORE : With the tightening of immigration criteria since end of last year, Singapore will have fewer permanent residents this year compared to 2009, said Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng in Parliament on Thursday.

He added that the country will manage the numbers to ensure quality of immigrants.

Some 132,200 people applied to be permanent residents here last year.

Of these, about 115,900 applications were processed, and 59,500 or 51 per cent were successful.

Mr Wong told the House that of those granted PR status, the majority of them qualified under the Professional, Technical and Skilled Workers Scheme where they are contributing to the Singapore economy.

Others who were granted permanent residency are dependants of Singapore Citizens or are dependants of these economic PRs.

Mr Wong said the country will continue to be stringent in its requirements for PRs, welcoming those who can contribute to the economy and integrate well into society.

"Singapore will have fewer PRs compared to the last five years. With the new criteria, and that means in future, the rate of increase will decline," said Mr Wong.

Even so, Mr Wong said Singapore cannot afford to close its doors to immigrants.

Mr Wong also told the House that an inflow of immigrants helps to improve the old-age support ratio by increasing the number of economically active residents.

In 1970, when the country's total fertility rate (TFR) was above the replacement rate of 2.1, each elderly person was supported by 17 working adults.

Currently, Singapore has about 8.2 working adults in the resident population supporting 1 elderly person.

Mr Wong said that if there were no PRs, Singapore would have slightly fewer adults - with 7.2 working adults supporting 1 elderly person.

He said: "We will still need immigration to make up for the short fall of babies and help ease the pressure of an ageing population, but we will carefully manage the numbers to ensure the quality of immigrants.

"At the same time, we are careful not to allow the inflow of immigrants to upset the current mix of races in our population."

Mr Wong assured that Singapore does not go overseas and target specific ethnic groups to come to Singapore. Unlike other countries, Singapore also does not have immigration consultants that advertise and help people migrate to Singapore unlike other countries.

However, Mr Wong said that Singapore does offer scholarships to attract talent.

Mr Wong said: "We have the ASEAN scholarships for example. And we also have companies who are out recruiting people and they are also interested in a heterogeneous and multinational workforce and because they have operations in other countries. They are also recruiting people by offering scholarships.

"So we hope more of our companies can do that, and hopefully if they come here to work for awhile, they like (it here) and they may want to settle down."

As for the new Population and Talent Division, Mr Wong said the government will look into areas like integration. It will start work at the beginning of next year. - CNA /ls

those that are rejected are mainly viet or china brides, who sadly, mostly are married to those man without much CPF contribution to start with.

of course government wont approve these kind of applications.

Than again, two person i know, registered a "company", one selling frog porridge, the other one cannot remember what he do, declared three years of income tax of $40K and got their viet wife's PR approved.

Are these the "selected talents"?

Edited by Tom_kkh

im sure the opposition wil b banking on this as their main campaigning...altho based on our pathetic birth rate we do need immigrants but what they did is like opening the floodgates. its too late now...whoever thot of the 6.5M population seriously did not thk far enuff the consequences.

On 9/16/2010 at 4:53 PM, Vulcann said:

In 1970, when the country's total fertility rate (TFR) was above the replacement rate of 2.1, each elderly person was supported by 17 working adults.

Currently, Singapore has about 8.2 working adults in the resident population supporting 1 elderly person.

Mr Wong said that if there were no PRs, Singapore would have slightly fewer adults - with 7.2 working adults supporting 1 elderly person.

I always puzzled by this type of justification which seems to pop up lately. [confused]

My thinking is the comparison normally refers to western pension states like UK, Germany, France, etc whereby tax payers paid high income taxes but get to enjoy pension benefits after retirement.

In our CPF system, it is supposed to meet our retirement needs.

So what is this x no. of working adults to support 1 elderly person ratio all about?

Does it mean that my aged mother now is being taken care by myself & 7.2 other folkse.g. Tan Ah Seng, Tan Ah Lian, Mohd, Sabrinah, Subramaniam, John Doe, Romeo Rasario & 0.2 of Wang Xiaoming out there?

Really did not make sense leh... [confused]

Seriously can any economist bro out there explain?

On 9/17/2010 at 1:25 AM, Maroon5 said:

im sure the opposition wil b banking on this as their main campaigning...altho based on our pathetic birth rate we do need immigrants but what they did is like opening the floodgates. its too late now...whoever thot of the 6.5M population seriously did not thk far enuff the consequences.

Correction: one of our ex-HDB/ex-URA chief said we can accomodate up to 7.5m, no problem since 6.5 to 7.5m not much difference...

On 9/17/2010 at 12:27 AM, Tom_kkh said:

those that are rejected are mainly viet or china brides, who sadly, mostly are married to those man without much CPF contribution to start with.

Than again, two person i know, registered a "company", one selling frog porridge, the other one cannot remember what he do, declared three years of income tax of $40K and got their viet wife's PR approved.

If these folks employ our uncles/aunties to help out then I will say good, bring more of them in!

But in reality, it seems not to be the case.

A certain balestier bak kut teh stall I normally patronise was served by foreign-accented folks recently. The previous local/Malaysain friendly staff seemed to have disappeared...

Guess it all boils down to cost, cost & still cost...

On 9/17/2010 at 1:29 AM, Vulcann said:

Correction: one of our ex-HDB/ex-URA chief said we can accomodate up to 7.5m, no problem since 6.5 to 7.5m not much difference...

haha when that happens its time to leave for me... ^_^

On 9/17/2010 at 12:27 AM, Tom_kkh said:

Usually if the husband is a singapore citizen, marrying a foreigner wife - the foreigner wife gets a PR very, very easily. In fact, citizenship also not a problem.

But the other way round (singaporean woman marrying a foreign man) used to be much more difficult.

115,900 applications were processed, and 59,500 or 51 per cent were successful.

Can we assume that around 100,000 incoming foreigners each year as well?

At this rate, the 6.5million will be reach before 2020, does not matter they are granted PR or citizens or not. The total resident population will reach 6.5million in less than ten years time!

On 9/17/2010 at 1:52 AM, Sosaria said:

Usually if the husband is a singapore citizen, marrying a foreigner wife - the foreigner wife gets a PR very, very easily. In fact, citizenship also not a problem.

But the other way round (singaporean woman marrying a foreign man) used to be much more difficult.

yes, u r right, from the latest news, i heard both of them are applying for citizenship now. One has already approved btw.

so long the wife give birth in singapore, its even easier.

I belive it is to maintain our racial quota.

Around 70%++ for chinese,

15%+- for malays

10%+- for indians

5%+- others....

Lately seems to have high influx of PRC, so maybe got to do with birth rate decline IMO

Real "talent" or not, just wayang only....Even the non "elite" knows.