YOG Budgeted and Actual

Civic6228

this thing just came to my mind while I was reading on Yahoo News....did they did the budget based on a pack of chicken rice costing SGD2 and not knowing that it is SGD3 now ??? Did they thought not so many would participate but the truth is we have fantastic participation so the number of pple shoot up ??? Did they thought that the bus ride and mrt ride will never exceed SGD 1 per trip??? there is a possibility right???....Again I think what we are concern is not that it is over budget....but why is it so much over budget with the smartest brain and best professional working on it ??? and being first time should not be a excuse....imagine I lost 200 million of tax payer money and say...well....it is the first time we are trying it out...

anyway....its over ....its over.... :D

$76 million for UPGRADING of facilites.

Which swimming pool is new?

Which basketball court is new?

Which stadium is new?

Which hostel/village is new?

Other countries will built new facilites to benefit the future generations.

We 'wasted' on superficial upgrading.

Not like Beijing got the new birdnest and water-world, etc.

We got nothing new. Just a minister who feels proud of his NEW achievement to add to his resume!

u know the bird nest now is white elephant and for tourist attraction? :D our govt pragmatic. if wanna build bird nest stadium, it must be able to produce real bird nest for consumption

Totally zero accountability, any mistake make is lesson learn, lets move on. What a great place to work in on top of those cash they earn. How i hope all spore co. adopt such culture, i make a mistake, tell my boss lesson learn, lets move... Problem settle!

this is a warped way of looking at it. it's like money goes from right hand to left hand but the total bank account remains the same size. F1 on the other hand does brings money from outside sources, a proven advertising avenue for Sg, providing revenue in return.

The only way we can judge the success is not by whether govt pays the companies and make them richer, but whether YOG in itself is a first class advertisement for our city state. Looking at the media exposure of this event, i can't see how it impacted the world.

In the end, all we get is FACE VALUE AS USUAL.. OVER BUDGETed just to get FACE VALUE... GOOD Decision? Do u know if we have invested the overbudgeted amount into upgrading our facilities or spending the $$ for the REALLY POOR locals or spending $$ on education, we properly get more than this...

Anyway, why do we need to tell the whole world what Singpaore can do? We already have the IRs and our OPEN IMMGRATION POLICY that every foreigners are saying and we are WELL KNOWN to the world to have the highest paid ministers as compared to US...

Ya right... To team Thunder, PLS DONT GIVE LIP STICK SERVICES or brush us with a simple excuse.... We need more detailed explanation than the wayang show

$76 million for UPGRADING of facilites.

Which swimming pool is new?

Which basketball court is new?

Which stadium is new?

Which hostel/village is new?

Other countries will built new facilites to benefit the future generations.

We 'wasted' on superficial upgrading.

Not like Beijing got the new birdnest and water-world, etc.

We got nothing new. Just a minister who feels proud of his NEW achievement to add to his resume!

I laughed when I saw the opening ceremony on TV. That small stage to hold a international event, watched by millions over the world. We don't even have a national stadium for opening/closing ceremony of a major sports event.

Hihi, you seemed to have every explanations for everything...hmmmm, let me guess where you are from.... -_-

This under budgeting is no excuse. Anyone with a semblance of accounting/budgetting knowledge would have done a better job, perhaps with a variance of 50% max and not 300%.

No quotes is no excuse. Whatever the requirements, there were bound to have pros and experts where advice could be sought. And dun forget, we have the bestest brains around!!!

I DUN BUY THE EXPLANATION!

no need to guess, i kah gia only [laugh] [laugh]

thing tat i say is only from my point of view and experience on the ground. u can choose not to believe [laugh] [laugh]

no need to guess, i kah gia only [laugh] [laugh]

thing tat i say is only from my point of view and experience on the ground. u can choose not to believe [laugh] [laugh]

thank you for coming clean. Bravo! [wave]

It is not about believing or otherwise. It is about what you try to explain away the obvious blunders citing various reasons. The fact is: A bad mistakes regarding the budget and expenditure. That is the point.

Edited by Kenneve888

u know the bird nest now is white elephant and for tourist attraction? :D our govt pragmatic. if wanna build bird nest stadium, it must be able to produce real bird nest for consumption

at least they spent millions and ended up with an white elephant, we don even have white ants, aka termites...

Yes, we do have black projects also. Some things are better not be known and told. :D

Just know you will be well protected in SG, thatz good enough. While you are sleeping well, someone out there is risking their life or racking their brains out. :ph34r:

hee hee.. you also in the Black ah... hee heee [cool]

ya, 24 and Knight Rider comes to mind..... kekeke.. kidding.. [laugh]

The technology cost is way to high. What equipments are purchased?

Laptops are sponsored by Acer.

Handphones are sponsored by Samsung.

Photocopies/printers are sponsored by Canon.

Wan links, Internet services, telephone lines and data center are provided by Singtel. Even budgeted at $1 million for these 4 items, there are still some change to get back.

Customised software for YOG would not have cost $1 million.

There are some IT equipments purchased at the former MOE site for the event planning, but sdefinitely not this much.

I can't understand how the $97 million had been spent. Put it this way, $97 million can build a cluster of HDB flats!!!

Manpower is definitely free with all the volunteers.

let me enlighten u abit.

1) technology workforce of about 100 for 2yrs

2) 2 data centres + all eqpt in the DC

3) all eqpt in venue

4) FM contractor

the reason they didnt break down is becos, tell u, u also dunno. bring u there too far [laugh] [laugh]

please la ... you want to smoke about IT costs, please smoke to uncle and auntie in geyland.... maybe they also IT savvy already, cannot anyhow smoke.

You think all of us so stupid "tell us also dunno"? Don't forget, sizeable number of MCF bros are in the IT business in all various fields, including project management, handling multi-million dollar projects. The rest probably in the finance sector. Also cannot be smoked on accounting figures.

Give the breakdown and let the people judge for themselves. If nothing to hide, then no need to be afraid by showing the figures. Only if something to hide, then try an obsfuscate with all this mumbo-jumbo : Technology $97million . I ask again W.T.F technology costs $97million???

please la ... you want to smoke about IT costs, please smoke to uncle and auntie in geyland.... maybe they also IT savvy already, cannot anyhow smoke.

You think all of us so stupid "tell us also dunno"? Don't forget, sizeable number of MCF bros are in the IT business in all various fields, including project management, handling multi-million dollar projects. The rest probably in the finance sector. Also cannot be smoked on accounting figures.

Give the breakdown and let the people judge for themselves. If nothing to hide, then no need to be afraid by showing the figures. Only if something to hide, then try an obsfuscate with all this mumbo-jumbo : Technology $97million . I ask again W.T.F technology costs $97million???

Well said bro... Technology cost? Hhahaha..Did we upgrade any infrastructure or build a new stadium jsut for teh event? No... The event is tapped onto existing network and infrastructure, media communcation, statlite are all there...

how do we spend so much on "technology"? If there is nothing to hide, jsut give the breakdown and let people have their view ...

Dear all who KPKB...... Let me quote one famous quote that solves all the problem "Lessons learnt, let's move on" [laugh]

Ye right... next time they overbudget again and ask you to pay more in terms of TAX or GST..then I can say that in yuor face...

Lesson Learnt, Move on lah bro

Edited by Apvman

Total amount spent: $387 million

Breakdown of spending:

$97 million: Technology

$76 million: Upgrading of sports venues and equipment

$45.5 million: Live broadcast plus staging of opening and closing ceremonies

$7 million: Journey of Youth Olympic Flame across the globe, starting in Greece

$44 million: Logistics

$18 million: Security

$14.3 million: Operational requirements

$5.4 million: Culture and Education Programme

$79.8 million: Miscellaneous costs such as medical services and training of volunteers

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNew...916-237380.html

Technology 97 MILLION DOLLARS

W.T.F.. technology cost that much? Did they launch a new video game or operating system or what?

This kind of breakdown is no meaning - I think public deserves more details.

they need to further break down miscellaneous. in fact, i think miscellaneous should be less than 2% of total expenses. if they can say miscellanceous incl medical services, then why not start a new category as medical. the word miscellaneous is should not be used to explain the 79.8million.

Edited by Fishy

I see the breakdown but could not fathom how come it cost so much for everything.

By the way, where is the 100m that goes to Jamaica? haha

not many ppl aware that sgp give out taxpayer money to jamaica to rebuild stadium and beg them to come for YOG........ shh.. keep quiet... [grouphug]

44mil for logistics is crazy... u mean we pay for air tix to get the competitors from other countries here as well????

If we do that, we r confirm carrot head........

i don understand how chartering buses for half a month can come up to that kind of price, even if they factor in all the limos and cabs for the officials.

it is really meaningless unless a breakdown is provided which i doubt so....

er are u new to singapore PAP styled accounting and budgeting standards? Just look at the GLCs....no need to reveal financials...and PAP tradition also is that Million Dollar Ministers are not accountable...they can commit daylight murder and will still be untouchable...

Dear All,

I am personally not convince with the replies given by the Minister on the over budget of the recent YOG. Initial budget was 104 Million and actual expenditure was 387 Million. The Minister admited that there was a mistake and it is a bloody expensive mistake. Moreever nothing is mention about making up for the mistake.

Another mistake with projection ...... like the COE. What is happening ?

spent more than three times the projected amount and what had we gone through?

give way to YOG vehicles causing more traffic congestion..

feed the volunteers with "1st class" meal..

sibei jialat...... [bigcry]