Tom_kkh 1st Gear September 22, 2010 Share September 22, 2010 (edited) No offence but seriously don waste time go tune. This engine how you tune also not going to get any significantly faster. 0.00001 sec faster? tuning does helps. my first car was a 1.6 Hyundai coupe, the one with the cat eye, like what most Kia Koup owners, i was drawn to the look. I also though it was a "sport" car till i loss to some 1.6 stock saloon car. realized the speed sucks and went tuning. Initially did piggy back, engine potting, air filters, a gadget something like cyclone, extractor, exhaust and one gadget that cuts off your aircon automatically if u suddenly hard press the gas peddle, forgot what it's call. Pump caltex Ron100, used royal purple EO, blah blah blah, was able to squeeze out about 2 sec faster from 0-100km/h. After half year, did a turbo kit too. nearly did a wet nitrox system. But i am tired of all the tuning and got another real turbo car than again, that time was young, so.... i should have gotten a faster car at the first place instead of spending so much money for just a 4-5 sec faster sprint. waste money? hell ya, but it did squeeze out some juice, not totally impossible but at a cost. all engines can be tuned with a cost. even a lawn mower. Edited September 22, 2010 by Tom_kkh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjm348 Neutral Newbie October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 I kana one SJW Koup...... Fierce driver.... cut into my lane w/o signalling and forcing me to jam brake. Fierce man....Kia Koupers training for F1? Not a fair comment to make. Is it the SJW Koup that has problem or the driver that has problem. Or you were following too closely and didn't keep distance? 2ndly does such actions limit only to the Koups or all other makes of vehicles are doing it? Well I just saw a SGP toyota did it to a koup this afternoon to pick up a passenager. So how do you rate it? I saw a koup going slow on the left lane this morning along the whole stretch of BKE. Would you consider him as part of the "Kia Koup Drivers" as per your header? Well he doesn't seems fierce to me. Moral of the story...you need not have a Koup to drive like F1. According to statistic requirement, 1 sample size cannot represent the majority. I drive a honda, there are times I cut into other's lane without signalling, because majority of us turn or filter without signally; So what's new?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 M3... one of my favourite cars of ALL time... since the E36 model... u sure bm 135 is a lady car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 tuning does helps. my first car was a 1.6 Hyundai coupe, the one with the cat eye, like what most Kia Koup owners, i was drawn to the look. I also though it was a "sport" car till i loss to some 1.6 stock saloon car. realized the speed sucks and went tuning. Initially did piggy back, engine potting, air filters, a gadget something like cyclone, extractor, exhaust and one gadget that cuts off your aircon automatically if u suddenly hard press the gas peddle, forgot what it's call. Pump caltex Ron100, used royal purple EO, blah blah blah, was able to squeeze out about 2 sec faster from 0-100km/h. After half year, did a turbo kit too. nearly did a wet nitrox system. But i am tired of all the tuning and got another real turbo car than again, that time was young, so.... i should have gotten a faster car at the first place instead of spending so much money for just a 4-5 sec faster sprint. waste money? hell ya, but it did squeeze out some juice, not totally impossible but at a cost. all engines can be tuned with a cost. even a lawn mower. but seriously speaking, even you change your engine to a v12 engine, ppl still think it a slow car -.- it is the branding and the name of the car that ppl admire. not the engine u had swap inside the car. tuning does help, but it kill off the car when u over tune, wear and tear is very high, and the comfort of your ride is gone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 u sure bm 135 is a lady car? no i not sure... maybe its a sucessful businessman's BMW... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 dono lei. i drive koup but i always kena all sorts of cars coming to cut me, tail gate me on the road. I drive very normally with the speed of the road most of the time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 I kana one SJW Koup...... Fierce driver.... cut into my lane w/o signalling and forcing me to jam brake. no la..he didn't cut into your lane purposely one... he wanted to overtake but over-estimated his engine power...so he thought he had over-taken you enough while switching back to your lane, so it looks as if he cut in front of you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 no i not sure... maybe its a sucessful businessman's BMW... hahaha but it a niche and powerful car, v6 twin-turbo 3l ^.^ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 hahaha but it a niche and powerful car, v6 twin-turbo 3l ^.^ only 1 variant is 3liter turbo... 1 series is the predecessor of the compact series (yucks).... ... and i talk like i can bloody afford BMs like tat... but i think its offical the 1 series gonna have a 'M' model soon... M3 my all time favourite... keke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 hahaha but it a niche and powerful car, v6 twin-turbo 3l ^.^ V6? ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rationalexuberance 4th Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 ya lah, i think reckless is the word. THo the Koup looks good, seriously, but it might project a false image of a "real sports car" to the drivers. i agree.. i reckon some of these car owners think their cars can really perform as well as it looks. but it's just another non sports car trying to look like a sports car,just like the tuscani (that's even worse) moreover it's designed to be a coupe,hahaha it's ok to buy one of these if you really like it, but to koup drivers, pls dun act hero. (and if you really look into OMV and real value, ure better off settling with the four door normal one which is cheaper, c'mon this is s'pore with COE) have seen quite a few trying to race around traffic for their own senseless fun, pls dun endanger other peoples' lives with a car that cant handle as well as it looks. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Not only Koup will do such stunts on the rd! Any make/model also have! And there are so mamy such idiots on the rd everyday! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 have seen quite a few trying to race around traffic for their own senseless fun, pls dun endanger other peoples' lives with a car that cant handle as well as it looks. on the contrary if you've driven the koup before you will know that its handling is amongst the best in its class handling wise it beats even the more expensive cars in the market easily performance is on par with any 1.6L car that is true but handling is a totally different issue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 (edited) i agree.. i reckon some of these car owners think their cars can really perform as well as it looks. but it's just another non sports car trying to look like a sports car,just like the tuscani (that's even worse) moreover it's designed to be a coupe,hahaha singaporeans like you in general have bird brains just because the car looks better than your car, you trash the car from every angle possible truth is, you are simply jealous if tuscani the worst ever car that is designed to be a hahaha coupe is that bad, then strange how top gear's jeremy clarkson picked the tuscani instead of a lexus coupe, proclaiming the tuscani to deliver a proper coupe drive and feel experience despite the lack of power he went on to say that he'd rather be in the tuscani than the lexus anytime but small brains singaporeans like you will say, yucks i'd pick the lexus because it is a proper coupe with performance and handling to boot. i'll go as far to state that you must be driving one of the following cars: vios, altis, civic, mazda 3, picanto, avante, i30 or any other cars whose price range is near the koup's i'd rather go with top gear's pick, they have afterall driven the most expensive cars in the world and are in a far better position than you to give judgement Edited October 6, 2010 by Expertz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 only 1 variant is 3liter turbo... 1 series is the predecessor of the compact series (yucks).... ... and i talk like i can bloody afford BMs like tat... but i think its offical the 1 series gonna have a 'M' model soon... M3 my all time favourite... keke m1 is out already, and it look like a bat man car, u can go to m series show room and take a look Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 i would agree with mini, 9/0 of the koup drivers i see think their car is f1 safety car Dey indeed look proud driving their car.. but still better than my city.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prostcode Clutched October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 avante and forte/koup have the exact same engine but avante has only 107 bhp while forte/koup got 125 good thing is that forte/koups are faster on the roads than most 1.6L cars, based on statistics alone a 1.6 forte/koup is as fast as a 1.8 altis or as fast as a 1.6 civic with ivtec but bad point is that you won't even get another 1 bhp from tuning because the car is already aggressively tuned from factory avante only 107bhp? u sure u got ur facts right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 avante only 107bhp? u sure u got ur facts right? well its 121 vs 124 the facts still stand despite the wrong initial number ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...