Swopping of cars...

Holiday

any thoughts on subject?

i would be real interested if can get to swop car with other like minded folks, of cos the omv/value and age, condition is abt the same.. [cool]

cos personally i find trading in cars to 2nd car dealers will definitely get chopped [knife]

i am not sure whether MCF can post such topic or not? [laugh]

anyway, maybe you want to share your car's details so that mcfers can private msg you if they are interested to swop with you. [:p]

oh cannot post? is that right? [laugh] , you may be right since i dun see any thread of this nature in the forums i visited, heh.

anyway mod, pls delete post if this violates any of the rules in the forum.

if not, then i'll just have an interest check... btw, mine's a 1 year old opel astra off peak car and im actually looking for a car with bigger boot space....

cheers!

Actually I did think of this also... It will be great if someone can set up a website to do just that

heh, at least got 1 like-minded car owner.

cos i think pple buy cars according to their needs at that specific point of time and it may change, say 1 or 2 years down the road.

so if there're 2 willing parties who can negotiate betwn themselves and not get 'carrot chop' by dealers, why not eh?

moreover, there are already dedicated companies set up to help car owners process whatever paper work when they sell their

cars for a couple of hundred $$. a couple of hundred $$ compared to the thousands of $$ pocketed by dealer...hmm..something to ponder over.. <_<

any thoughts on subject?

i would be real interested if can get to swop car with other like minded folks, of cos the omv/value and age, condition is abt the same.. [cool]

cos personally i find trading in cars to 2nd car dealers will definitely get chopped [knife]

Only rear cases can happen

My wife got a red 207CC to let go/ swap. Looking for a MPV (Stream/Odessey/ others). No dealers, they are sharks. Our twins arrived last Dec. Lifestyle change, she need her own set of wheels that can accomodate 2 baby seats. Anyone keen?

Actually I did think of this also... It will be great if someone can set up a website to do just that

actualli, why dun u and TS juz swap?

Interesting to read this. I just thought of something that's available, but Singaporeans seldom do.

It's called leasing. Basically you go to a leasing company and lease a car, for like three to five years. You make a monthly payment of which they cover more or less everything (maintainence, servicing etc) and you pay only for your own usage (petrol, ERP, parking).

At the end of the term you either:

1) Pay a lump sum to purchase the car outright

2) Return the car to them

3) Exchange for another new one, and then start over.

The only thing is that the car is never "yours" in that sense, and it's sort of like renting. But it seems like a good idea to me actually.

Interesting to read this. I just thought of something that's available, but Singaporeans seldom do.

It's called leasing. Basically you go to a leasing company and lease a car, for like three to five years. You make a monthly payment of which they cover more or less everything (maintainence, servicing etc) and you pay only for your own usage (petrol, ERP, parking).

At the end of the term you either:

1) Pay a lump sum to purchase the car outright

2) Return the car to them

3) Exchange for another new one, and then start over.

The only thing is that the car is never "yours" in that sense, and it's sort of like renting. But it seems like a good idea to me actually.

I'm aware of leasing... back in the States during my school time. I dont know why it's never implemented here... not that I care, either [rolleyes]

Sporeans love to have Ownership of things...

We don't like to rent house either.

The things we rent are :

a. Video DVD,

b. chicks

My wife got a red 207CC to let go/ swap. Looking for a MPV (Stream/Odessey/ others). No dealers, they are sharks. Our twins arrived last Dec. Lifestyle change, she need her own set of wheels that can accomodate 2 baby seats. Anyone keen?

swap with my honda fit 08 model?? heheheh... :wub:

The things we rent are :

a. Video DVD,

b. chicks

come to think of it... only if you bought freehold property then you can have a sense of "owning"...

The things we rent are :

a. Video DVD,

b. chicks

True. Probably ingrained by the HDB thingy.

But come to think of it, most people don't 'own' their cars anyway by taking bank loans.

but car leasing contract includes annual mileage limitation... usually around 12-15K miles.. any excessive mileage is chargeable.. so I'm not sure if this condition suitable for Singapore use.. because most people like to drive up north during holidays..

hmmmm i know Avis offer leasing but to me abit boh hua cos at the end the car is theirs let say stolen or accident etc the penalty very high.. got complication.. moreover if one loses their job you still have to fufil the leasing agreement whereas other who on paper owns the car can sell.. also the court can take a bankrupt person car and auction where as leasing you cant and still must fufil.. get back something to ckver debts better than nothing... i was working closely with govt bodies and i do see how people get sued and have to sell house and cars to pay back etc... even though house still paying loan but its an asset, i do come across cases where house bought at 550k but sell off at 486k.. lucky for house owner the previous house made 320k so manage to cover losses and the cars, 2 of them the coe was high about 31k and 26k then sold that time they make about 6-7k from the car each cos 30% downpayment plus coe high take back higher, dunno how they count...so the car actually make some money to help settle debts, money return to hdb and cpf, still got abit of money to buy 3 room flat..

so "owning" a car and house though still oweing is not a bad thing... sometime can be an asset..

but car leasing contract includes annual mileage limitation... usually around 12-15K miles.. any excessive mileage is chargeable.. so I'm not sure if this condition suitable for Singapore use.. because most people like to drive up north during holidays..

I'm sure the mileage is negotiable. Just a matter of how much you pay for it lor.