Vtec78 Neutral Newbie September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 Hi guys, anyone of u managed to defer ur reservist due to new employment? i juz join this company in july, have a ICT this sept. tried to defer but was rejected.....very upset abt this matter as MINDEF actually give us 3 mths to settle down in a new job yet they reject me. not sure if this is double standard from MINDEF. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 Hi guys, anyone of u managed to defer ur reservist due to new employment? i juz join this company in july, have a ICT this sept. tried to defer but was rejected.....very upset abt this matter as MINDEF actually give us 3 mths to settle down in a new job yet they reject me. not sure if this is double standard from MINDEF. I managed to get request for deferment based on such grounds approved before. However, mine is like commencement of work in new company is only abt 3 weeks away from ICT. So not sure if they might feel yours which is two months apart warrants their consideration or not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtec78 Neutral Newbie September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 the first time i apply for deferment, they state that mindef only give 3 mths for nsmen to settle down. i was like wtf, mine is still inside the 3 mths period. I suspect they juz trying to get more ppl to attend the ICT. i mean mine is a valid reason for deferment due to new employment. yet they reject me.. feel so disappointed with how they treat ppl. during my active days, i was having high fever, yet MO discharge me from medical centre n told me to go back to field camp......another example i was unfair treated, i was excused heavy load by MO due to slipped disc, my CO in my reservist unit still ask me to report in FBO for mob manning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 (edited) I have done a few deferments before. Need employer to write in, usually HR will handle. But the replacement slots are usually holiday seasons or coverage for PH etc. Edited September 13, 2010 by 5936 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 the first time i apply for deferment, they state that mindef only give 3 mths for nsmen to settle down. i was like wtf, mine is still inside the 3 mths period. I suspect they juz trying to get more ppl to attend the ICT. i mean mine is a valid reason for deferment due to new employment. yet they reject me.. feel so disappointed with how they treat ppl. during my active days, i was having high fever, yet MO discharge me from medical centre n told me to go back to field camp......another example i was unfair treated, i was excused heavy load by MO due to slipped disc, my CO in my reservist unit still ask me to report in FBO for mob manning. as what the other forumer suggested, you should produce a letter written by your new employer to assist in the deferment request. it is likely to work better...but pls take note that they will usually recall you back around 4-5 months after this deferment (if successful) for make up.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 the first time i apply for deferment, they state that mindef only give 3 mths for nsmen to settle down. i was like wtf, mine is still inside the 3 mths period. I suspect they juz trying to get more ppl to attend the ICT. i mean mine is a valid reason for deferment due to new employment. yet they reject me.. feel so disappointed with how they treat ppl. during my active days, i was having high fever, yet MO discharge me from medical centre n told me to go back to field camp......another example i was unfair treated, i was excused heavy load by MO due to slipped disc, my CO in my reservist unit still ask me to report in FBO for mob manning. haha. maybe you got the CAO KENG look. anyway, give a friendly call to your OC, explain to him your situation. i know it is not easy to convince your OC cos there are too many CAO KENG soldiers around. just try your best and put in good words; call in at a right time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtec78 Neutral Newbie September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 my unit is super siao on. every yr confirm kena ICT. i dunno if my new job is considered self employment that y they reject it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtec78 Neutral Newbie September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 cao keng or not, that one medical report can tell liao mah. i mean how u keng a slipped disc....lol. duno consider myself too heng or suay to be in this unit. i know some of my frens dun even get recall at all.....for me, ord not even 1 yr kena saf100 liao. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 cao keng or not, that one medical report can tell liao mah. i mean how u keng a slipped disc....lol. duno consider myself too heng or suay to be in this unit. i know some of my frens dun even get recall at all.....for me, ord not even 1 yr kena saf100 liao. lol hmmmm... so how many saf100 you had received and attended? 100% attendance? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtec78 Neutral Newbie September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 1st time deferring. the rest all i attend without fail Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 cao keng or not, that one medical report can tell liao mah. i mean how u keng a slipped disc....lol. duno consider myself too heng or suay to be in this unit. i know some of my frens dun even get recall at all.....for me, ord not even 1 yr kena saf100 liao. lol Better lah. Finish it off quickly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 1st time deferring. the rest all i attend without fail you can use this to request for deferment. but, of course, your OC would prefer you to join the same reservist group. there might be a case whereby, once you missed this, you might be transfer to another group. so, it's your choice. another good method is to write an official letter, perhaps HR dept, to request for your deferment. this one not 100% sure tio. that's why i tell you, it will be better if you can make a friendly call to your OC personally. good luck~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 cao keng or not, that one medical report can tell liao mah. i mean how u keng a slipped disc....lol. duno consider myself too heng or suay to be in this unit. i know some of my frens dun even get recall at all.....for me, ord not even 1 yr kena saf100 liao. lol Not only you suay lah!!! Mine 1st reservist was after 4 mths while my friend in the same unit but ORD later than me got his 1 month after ORD. Still got regulars asked him where he go for holiday during last month... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtec78 Neutral Newbie September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 seriously if i have nothing on hand, i will go, i also wish to clock more high keys, still gt 4 more to go.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtec78 Neutral Newbie September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 to me, going back reservist is nothing, cos i m downgraded to c9L9 perm. i m now a S1 clerk.....quite relax if u ask me....but u may think since so relax might as well go back clock the 1 high key. but right now i have alot of cases on hand to settle for my customers. if i go back for 2 weeks, i think i am going to lose alot of deals....and this is important since i juz started my job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 to me, going back reservist is nothing, cos i m downgraded to c9L9 perm. i m now a S1 clerk.....quite relax if u ask me....but u may think since so relax might as well go back clock the 1 high key. but right now i have alot of cases on hand to settle for my customers. if i go back for 2 weeks, i think i am going to lose alot of deals....and this is important since i juz started my job. fully understand your situation. but i am also quite certain that your OC might not accept your appeal if you explain to him/her based on above statement. saf will usually pay you based on past 3mths of your income. what i can only say, call your S1 through his/her mobile phone and try to talk to him/her nicely. it's all about luck.~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtec78 Neutral Newbie September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 my job is gt close gt money, no close no money. no basic pay. so juz started n havent close yet. so go back camp also knn, NS allowance. not even enuff for petrol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 my job is gt close gt money, no close no money. no basic pay. so juz started n havent close yet. so go back camp also knn, NS allowance. not even enuff for petrol call your S1 lah and see how it goes. worst comes to worst, don't attend and wait for charges loh. but don't say i teach you this one hor. LOL!~ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...