Expertz 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 took public transport to work today because forgot to pump petrol yesterday oh boy the experience was HORRIBLE! - mad rush to enter the train - had to stand all the way for 1hr+ - squeezy over-crowded train - aircon was working but wasn't strong enough to cool the entire cabin - bus took 10 minutes to arrive - seats at the bus stop were dirty - too many people at the bus stop, had to wait under the sun - paid $3 to reach work from home after this experience i finally understand why people are willing to pay above their means to afford and own a car our govt has been taking action to curb private transport all the time but after today's experience, i really think our govt should also start looking into public transport or maybe they are only taking action against private transport because they've never taken public transport themselves! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 you are lucky you only waited for 10 mins.. i once waited close to 45 mins for a bus during peak hour, and when the bus came, it was packed to the brim; didn't even stop for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 Yes...car owners should once a while take public transport to work and weekends shopping. This will help them to appreciate the car worth. No matter what is the cost, car is still useful if you want a comfortable and easy travelling to anywhere in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ehchang8 Neutral Newbie September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 took public transport to work today because forgot to pump petrol yesterday oh boy the experience was HORRIBLE! - mad rush to enter the train - had to stand all the way for 1hr+ - squeezy over-crowded train - aircon was working but wasn't strong enough to cool the entire cabin - bus took 10 minutes to arrive - seats at the bus stop were dirty - too many people at the bus stop, had to wait under the sun - paid $3 to reach work from home after this experience i finally understand why people are willing to pay above their means to afford and own a car our govt has been taking action to curb private transport all the time but after today's experience, i really think our govt should also start looking into public transport or maybe they are only taking action against private transport because they've never taken public transport themselves! why forgot to pump petrol yesterday need to take public transport ? can't u pump it on the way to work ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 took public transport to work today because forgot to pump petrol yesterday oh boy the experience was HORRIBLE! - mad rush to enter the train - had to stand all the way for 1hr+ - squeezy over-crowded train - aircon was working but wasn't strong enough to cool the entire cabin - bus took 10 minutes to arrive - seats at the bus stop were dirty - too many people at the bus stop, had to wait under the sun - paid $3 to reach work from home after this experience i finally understand why people are willing to pay above their means to afford and own a car our govt has been taking action to curb private transport all the time but after today's experience, i really think our govt should also start looking into public transport or maybe they are only taking action against private transport because they've never taken public transport themselves! 10mins waiting time and you kpkb.... and you forgot pump petrol so take public transport? cannot go pump petrol instead? hmm....... seems to have agenda.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 What he stated was feasible and nothing extraordinary. I dont think he misrepresent any thing to make it look worst. Hidden agenda? Yes, he might be promoting the reason for more people to buy car instead of public transport! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 i haf tried waiting 45mins-1hr for the former TIBS 178 at jurong town hall road some 10 yrs+ ago when i was still a school boy. it was pack to the brim and it drove past without stopping. some 10yrs++ later and the same old stories about 45mins-1hr waiting time is still being heard. world class? more world crass. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 why forgot to pump petrol yesterday need to take public transport ? can't u pump it on the way to work ?? i was sick yesterday, today woke up late and decided that taking public transport would be faster as you can tell, i was very wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 10mins waiting time and you kpkb.... and you forgot pump petrol so take public transport? cannot go pump petrol instead? hmm....... seems to have agenda.... what possible agenda could i have? you must be extremely creative to think up 1 anyway who'd have thought? public transport = direct route, bus lane private transport = traffic jam yet private transport still faster and far more comfortable Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 took public transport to work today because forgot to pump petrol yesterday oh boy the experience was HORRIBLE! - mad rush to enter the train - had to stand all the way for 1hr+ - squeezy over-crowded train - aircon was working but wasn't strong enough to cool the entire cabin - bus took 10 minutes to arrive - seats at the bus stop were dirty - too many people at the bus stop, had to wait under the sun - paid $3 to reach work from home after this experience i finally understand why people are willing to pay above their means to afford and own a car our govt has been taking action to curb private transport all the time but after today's experience, i really think our govt should also start looking into public transport or maybe they are only taking action against private transport because they've never taken public transport themselves! Now then you know ah! I tried taking the morning train when my company sent me for courses at Raffles Place or Orchard Road. The experiences were really . For the last few courses that I attended, I drove and pay the full day parking charges in the city. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 Looks more like whining than complaining leh. The only thing that pisses me off is that the passengers be it priority seats or others don't bother to give up their seat for the elderly or pregnant ladies. They pretend to sleep, pretend that they did not see or just fiddle with their handphone or newspapers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ehchang8 Neutral Newbie September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 i was sick yesterday, today woke up late and decided that taking public transport would be faster as you can tell, i was very wrong oic. the prerequisite to have a enjoyable ride in public transport is u have the time. so next time u should do the opposite, only when u wake up early then u take public transport. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 what possible agenda could i have? you must be extremely creative to think up 1 anyway who'd have thought? public transport = direct route, bus lane private transport = traffic jam yet private transport still faster and far more comfortable Huh? You mean now dan you know ah? Hey, welcome back to SGP. Where have you been hiding all this while? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 what possible agenda could i have? you must be extremely creative to think up 1 anyway who'd have thought? public transport = direct route, bus lane private transport = traffic jam yet private transport still faster and far more comfortable it is just a thought... you be surprised that there are people with certain agenda when posting.... seriously.... - mad rush to enter the train this is culture or some say kiasuness - had to stand all the way for 1hr+ er... what is wrong with standing all the way? that is why it is much cheaper than taxi - squeezy over-crowded train i agree.... and this has been discussed countless times... as long as the MRT lines does not increase.. there is only so many trains you can have on the track - aircon was working but wasn't strong enough to cool the entire cabin some say too hot some say too cold.... i also find it hot most of the time and make a point to inform the control station - bus took 10 minutes to arrive consider very good liao... what you want? 2m ins waiting time? - seats at the bus stop were dirty i dun see any issue with this.....all countries the same - too many people at the bus stop, had to wait under the sun use umbrella? - paid $3 to reach work from home much cheaper than taxi i guess.... and car too seriously... you should continue driving lar....... you pay small money but want same type of comforts as car.... since you say late, no time pump petrol.... then take cab lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 forgot to pump petrol is really a funny excuse.Singapore is flooded with petrol kiosk,even if you don't like that kiosk,cant you just turn in just pump 5L,chiam si tong until you reach workplace and return back home then pump at the kiosk you like?I never look back at public transport again unless I going to city.Sometime even go city I also never look at public transport.Reason being if I were to send my gf home and then go home,I need to take cab.If I were to go back early,really defeat the meaning of hanging out late in the city area,and the bloody bus will be super crowded,not to mention train. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 it is just a thought... you be surprised that there are people with certain agenda when posting.... seriously.... - mad rush to enter the train this is culture or some say kiasuness - had to stand all the way for 1hr+ er... what is wrong with standing all the way? that is why it is much cheaper than taxi - squeezy over-crowded train i agree.... and this has been discussed countless times... as long as the MRT lines does not increase.. there is only so many trains you can have on the track - aircon was working but wasn't strong enough to cool the entire cabin some say too hot some say too cold.... i also find it hot most of the time and make a point to inform the control station - bus took 10 minutes to arrive consider very good liao... what you want? 2m ins waiting time? - seats at the bus stop were dirty i dun see any issue with this.....all countries the same - too many people at the bus stop, had to wait under the sun use umbrella? - paid $3 to reach work from home much cheaper than taxi i guess.... and car too seriously... you should continue driving lar....... you pay small money but want same type of comforts as car.... since you say late, no time pump petrol.... then take cab lor raise public transport fares! make people who are travelling leisurely stay at home so that public transport will be freed up for people who actually need it! btw, cab = more expensive than car thats why i decided to take bus/mrt but i'd rather pay more infuture to avoid bus/mrt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Author Share September 13, 2010 forgot to pump petrol is really a funny excuse.Singapore is flooded with petrol kiosk,even if you don't like that kiosk,cant you just turn in just pump 5L,chiam si tong until you reach workplace and return back home then pump at the kiosk you like?I never look back at public transport again unless I going to city.Sometime even go city I also never look at public transport.Reason being if I were to send my gf home and then go home,I need to take cab.If I were to go back early,really defeat the meaning of hanging out late in the city area,and the bloody bus will be super crowded,not to mention train. aye yar i really didn't know ma mrt got direct route, your car don't have bus got bus lane which is always empty while cars have to share the remaining roads who knows public transport still so damn slow? seriously, i haven't taken public transport in months and the last time i took it, i don't think it was this bad or maybe it was a one off experience, i'll give it a try again later tonite after work Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 took public transport to work today because forgot to pump petrol yesterday oh boy the experience was HORRIBLE! - mad rush to enter the train - had to stand all the way for 1hr+ - squeezy over-crowded train - aircon was working but wasn't strong enough to cool the entire cabin - bus took 10 minutes to arrive - seats at the bus stop were dirty - too many people at the bus stop, had to wait under the sun - paid $3 to reach work from home after this experience i finally understand why people are willing to pay above their means to afford and own a car our govt has been taking action to curb private transport all the time but after today's experience, i really think our govt should also start looking into public transport or maybe they are only taking action against private transport because they've never taken public transport themselves! U steady can forget pump petrol!!!!! dun tell me the reserved petrol in your car cannot even last u till the nearest petrol station????? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...