SupperTime Clutched September 12, 2010 Share September 12, 2010 meh should just continue releasing COE at current and let the jams and erp get higher.... why need to curtail coe or reduce quota somemore ? no need to make the working man angry. best is to just let it go like others said before... let it become so bad that the deterrent would be in time factor. not viable to drive anymore. but alas, give people that chance to own a car, even if it doesnt move from the msp. that imo is the key thing. let us OWN it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 12, 2010 Share September 12, 2010 letting people own a car was the gahmen's intention in the first place.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SupperTime Clutched September 12, 2010 Share September 12, 2010 letting people own a car was the gahmen's intention in the first place.... last time in 2003 i believe... now not so sure liao. :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 12, 2010 Share September 12, 2010 it was, is and always will be.... people can own car, but to drive it on the road??? it'll be more expensive than buying.... haha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear September 12, 2010 Share September 12, 2010 I remember when I was still in my primary school, to actually own a car means you are really loaded. A 1st hand corolla can cost you above 100k, min 20% downpayment I think, and only 7 years installment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 12, 2010 Share September 12, 2010 not say really rich lah.... but must be able to afford a car.... not like now.... suka suka walk into showroom without cash, can walk out with car keys nia.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 limit 1 car per household. If a 2nd car is needed, then 2nd car must be registered under OPC scheme. Or Follow HK's style. Secure a season parking lot before you can buy a car. This also help solve HDB's insufficient parking lots problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SupperTime Clutched September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 limit 1 car per household. If a 2nd car is needed, then 2nd car must be registered under OPC scheme. Or Follow HK's style. Secure a season parking lot before you can buy a car. This also help solve HDB's insufficient parking lots problem. id agree with you but all FT must pay 200% more tax and no driving license conversion. also limit up to 2 cars for FT and 3 cars for every singaporean family. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 no lah.... the most practical way is to secure parking spaces at your house, and work place.... then only you're allowed to get the permit to drive.... though there's no limit to the number of cars you can own.... just so long you can prove that you have parking spaces for your car, can already.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 not say really rich lah.... but must be able to afford a car.... not like now.... suka suka walk into showroom without cash, can walk out with car keys nia.... Back in those days with 20 - 30k d/p and also the monthly installment can justify you are quite rich, Ask how many here can pay 20k dp now and drive an evo for 7 years comfortably. That is about 1.7k installment amonth bro.... This is base on current calculation with interest of 2.6%pa. Take that amount back 20 years ago when this type of money not many can actually afford back than, and mind you its just a corolla, unlike now you can drive an evo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 another point that had been overlooked is taxis. Private passennger vehicles most ply a one way journey during peak hours and rest of the time is sitting at carparks. Taxis on the other hand ply the roads non stop, occupying road space. The flag down fares for normal taxis are more or less the same. Don't understand why LTA insists that the taxi companies must have a minimum number of taxis. Taxis do formquite a sizable number of vehicles on the roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 vehicle growth wont stop....every tom dick and harry will want to own a car.... to the rich what is coe? coe is negligible to them.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Readonly Neutral Newbie September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 limit 1 car per household. If a 2nd car is needed, then 2nd car must be registered under OPC scheme. Or Follow HK's style. Secure a season parking lot before you can buy a car. This also help solve HDB's insufficient parking lots problem. no offence but that is a silly idea. a household can have husband and wife that needs car for work. worst if households that are with afew siblings ... u trying to tell them that they got to buy opc? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 Just expand/ widen the road... [nod] Ah Kong can spend billions on "enhancing" Mrt liao... Why not on road ? [confused] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forrestcat 2nd Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 Back in those days with 20 - 30k d/p and also the monthly installment can justify you are quite rich, Ask how many here can pay 20k dp now and drive an evo for 7 years comfortably. That is about 1.7k installment amonth bro.... This is base on current calculation with interest of 2.6%pa. Take that amount back 20 years ago when this type of money not many can actually afford back than, and mind you its just a corolla, unlike now you can drive an evo. Yeah bro, juz need to re-tweak the system back to the good old days.... Maybe 50% d/p with 5 yrs max loan? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Readonly Neutral Newbie September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 Yeah bro, juz need to re-tweak the system back to the good old days.... Maybe 50% d/p with 5 yrs max loan? Why would they do that for? It will just kill and push all cars buyers away. COE prices are increasing, shows that they dont need to do anything but just control the quota. When too many complains about the price of cars, all they need to do is just to release more COE. Its that simple ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 yah.... you implement more policies, many car dealers won't want to continue their businesses here already.... no point, cos they're not able to put their cars on the roads..... [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 13, 2010 Share September 13, 2010 just go to HK, and learn from how they handle the road infra-structure there..... [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...