Vulcann 6th Gear September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1080183/1/.html Move to have zero vehicular growth to tackle road jams "imminent" By Hetty Musfirah Abdul Khamid | Posted: 09 September 2010 1928 hrs SINGAPORE: Congestion on Singapore's roads has renewed calls for more aggressive measures to curb the vehicle population. One solution is to have zero vehicular growth, a point raised by Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong at a dialogue with grassroots leaders recently. Observers said implementing such a move is imminent as Singapore roads are nearing maximum capacity. Singapore's vehicle population has grown to about one million. With limited land, vehicle growth rate has been set at 1.5% for the next two years. But, is this sustainable? Dr Lim Wee Kiak, chairman of Government Parliamentary Committee for Transport, said: "We should maintain our current fleet of vehicles, not to increase further. Perhaps, given a chance, Ministry of Transport should consider a reduction in vehicle number rather than (an) increase. "We are looking at a reduction in growth, but what I will like to see is to reach the zero (growth) faster. In Parliament, we have been pushing for some sort of a zero growth, if not, even a negative growth to counteract the excess over the last few years. "They should release (fewer) COEs compared to the number of vehicles taken off the roads so that there is actually a reduction in the number of vehicles in Singapore." The reduction in COEs will mean higher car prices. Is this likely to get more people on public transport? "I will still strive to get a car, even if the price is high," said a member of the public. "I still want to own a car," said another. "If you are holding a certain position, you may need it (car) for the image," said a third. "I will give up my car, if the transport in Singapore is able to achieve the coverage.....(such that) we can go anywhere conveniently," said a fourth. Such reasons are why many say aggressive measures are needed to convince people to take public transport. One suggestion has been for public transport operators to offer fare discounts for travel during off-peak hours, as this is likely to tackle the problem of overcrowding in trains. Dr Lim Wee Kiak said that with discounts, more people would consider spreading out their travel. "So there would be spaces for everyone," he said. Buses must also become a more reliable alternative, said Associate Professor Lee Der Horng from the Department of Civil Engineering at the National University of Singapore (NUS). He said: "We must take some very aggressive approach. What we have to do is, other than the MRT, we have to pay more attention to the buses. "Can we provide more full-day bus lanes? Can we give higher priority to public transportation vehicle like the bus? Can we improve the level of bus service, have cleaner buses, newer buses, faster buses, safer and more comfortable (bus travel)?" Meanwhile, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said it will conduct a review in 2012 to determine an allowable vehicular growth rate. It also said that even if the growth rate is reduced to zero, there will still be a need for usage measures to effectively manage demand for roads. - CNA/ir ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 9, 2010 Author Share September 9, 2010 (edited) Quite surprised to hear about what he said about one solution to curb road congestions was to have zero vehicular growth (this time hope no more clarifications from his press secretary later) and GPC for Transport chairman Edited September 9, 2010 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 ride bike if you can't tahan the traffic.... best of both worlds.... you get private transportation (you decide where you want to go), and don't have to beat the crowds taking public transport!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 9, 2010 Author Share September 9, 2010 ride bike if you can't tahan the traffic.... best of both worlds.... you get private transportation (you decide where you want to go), and don't have to beat the crowds taking public transport!!! Bikes are also subjected to COE bidding system though it would not be as expensive as other categories... And the old chinese saying (no offence to bikers bros out there): 人包铁 (literally meaning human covering steel) analogy forced me to take a Class 3 rather than 2 license last time. The worst part is that riders always suffer on the roads even if they are not in the wrong: a slight brush by any other vehicle (even another bike) may result in dire consequences for the biker. Quite sad to hear about this: http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...ter_killed.html Feel sorry for the family and may he R.I.P. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 ya lor.... got alternative, but you don't want to take.... haha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 just bring back 30% down payment rule lor. Since it is already used to curb housing, will work on cars too. car price may drop u know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 ya lor.... got alternative, but you don't want to take.... haha.... for young guys like us its ok. imagine u family man got small kids and a wife dependant on you? Would you keep risking life and limb to take bike to work everyday or would you rather drive assuming u can very well afford it? I will definitely drive even if its jammed to hell. insurance $$$ alone cannot provide a husband for your wife and a father to your kids. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 (edited) dude.... my dad rides bike too leah (though for leisure rather than day-to-day).... don't tell me he don't have a family to support??? Edited September 9, 2010 by Ferraricalifornia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sons_of_singapore Neutral Newbie September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 Instead of reducing the COE quota & making it more expensive to own a car. They should just increase the min. downpayment to 30% & reduce the max. loan period to 5 yrs. This will be a better way to prevent people from over-borrowing. The last thing the Government want to see is with high COE prices like $100K, the B&B car is selling for $150K & people can't afford to buy car will use their vote to show their unhappiness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 Instead of reducing the COE quota & making it more expensive to own a car. They should just increase the min. downpayment to 30% & reduce the max. loan period to 5 yrs. This will be a better way to prevent people from over-borrowing. The last thing the Government want to see is with high COE prices like $100K, the B&B car is selling for $150K & people can't afford to buy car will use their vote to show their unhappiness. dude.... car and housing totally different.... don't mix the 2 things together.... if you can't afford, don't drive lor.... but you can't afford to not have a roof over your head.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 and if i were the gahmen, i'll introduce even more cars on the road rather than limit the growth potential.... liddat, can earn from more drivers ERP, Petrol Excise Duty Tax, GST, ARF, Parking, fines, etc etc.... why not??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 I keep hearing the limitations. Seems like alot of problems are being raised. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 the gahmen can always blame us, we can always blame the gahmen.... for goodness sake, they are there to serve us leah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenic98 Clutched September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 While is GCT making all these unpopular comments nowadays? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 ministers, do you hear us??? at least use a few of our suggestions lah.... like build roads up ward like how your did to HDB's, and stagger work times.... please....??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 and ministers are chauffeured around issit??? don't they notice too that our roads are clogged up??? funny thing ain't??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 One suggestion has been for public transport operators to offer fare discounts for travel during off-peak hours, as this is likely to tackle the problem of overcrowding in trains. Dr Lim Wee Kiak said that with discounts, more people would consider spreading out their travel. "So there would be spaces for everyone," he said. This clown Lim Wee Kiak, come from where? Spread out travel? Can go to work suka-suka during off-peak period, to "spread out travel"? The boss, will spread out your pants and give you a kick in the butt out of the office, if you don't come to work on time. "Spread out travel... yeah, right... Ask this fella go to Jurong East MRT every morning and spread out their travel with discounts and see how easy it is before tokking kok and trying to act smart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 9, 2010 Share September 9, 2010 Should ask them to take a ride every morning to see the packed trains. Even if they do, the MRT staff will also clear 1 cabin beforehand to ensure the MPs get a nice and comfortable ride. Pui! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...