Disciplining children or child abuse?

Ahtong

On 5/30/2024 at 2:13 PM, Jman888 said:

please no, grandparents are the one that say rub chilli on lips lor.

Expand  

I read the whole CNA article…..did i missed smthing?

parents piak piak naughty kids but grandparents usually over dote instead one….

grandchildren soooo precious. 

Haiz. 

Beyond the jail term, the guilt and pain of causing one's own young son to die is more punishing, for life. 

Over time, may he learn to forgive himself, heal and not give in to depression. Still need to be responsible for his other children. 

A tragedy. It's a common punishment especially for children caught lying. 

No, my parents will just cane the daylights out of us if we were caught misbehaving. Verbal threats of using soap to wash our mouth if we lied but never carried out. Probably soap too slippery or big or maybe "poisonous" if swallowed. 

These days, it's more likely to tell story about the shepherd boy who cried wolf too often. The reasoning approach. 

RIP little one. Strongly believe that your dad never intended for you to die. He is probably blaming himself no end now. 

Pls do not make the same mistake. It is a painful outcome for child and parent. 

Haiz

On 5/30/2024 at 4:30 PM, ccc888 said:

I read the whole CNA article…..did i missed smthing?

parents piak piak naughty kids but grandparents usually over dote instead one….

grandchildren soooo precious. 

Expand  

read report from chinese papers, I mean in general many old practices come from grandparents. Including those commando style discipline, rub chilli etc.

Screenshot_20240531_063637_Facebook.jpg

On 5/31/2024 at 12:13 AM, Jman888 said:

read report from chinese papers, I mean in general many old practices come from grandparents. Including those commando style discipline, rub chilli etc.

Screenshot_20240531_063637_Facebook.jpg

Expand  

Ic, parents piak piak kids but when they become grandparents…..vy different liao.

  On 5/30/2024 at 3:42 AM, Jman888 said:

i see quite a few father talk and shout at their kids like a commando command, dude the kid can only feel fear but won't understand what you are talking about! 

Expand  

I dunno about teaching methods thesedays, but  I surely kena rotan a lot and occasionally took a few for my younger siblings....😁

It thought me a lot abt resiliency, because you know, we have to stand still to get the rotan....😆

Nvidia CEO is right when he said people need suffering to develop resiliency. Resiliency and grit is key to overcoming barriers and creating breakthrough and hence, success.. Talent without resiliency is useless. The Gen- z folks are way smarter, some even talented, but seems to have little resiliency from what I observed.

Edited by Stary