Converting 10% of PRs to citizens "not a target"

Vulcann

Ok,lets hear from the horse mouth...

I'm a pr and if I'm asked to convert, I will since my wife and son are singaporean, so, I'm not going anywhere...

My friend, in your situation (you PR, and your wife and child are singaporean) it is very unlikely they will ask you to take up citizenship.

Why should they, as you're already "stuck" here for all intents and purposes.

I think the intent of such scheme, "force" converting PR to citizen, is more aimed at those PR with no established roots yet and can easily go elsewhere, e.g. the young, single, professional, living on rented property, etc. These are the mobile PR who need to be "tied down" here, so to speak.

For you, your singaporean wife and child (and HDB or private property) already do the job of "tying" you "down" here, so no need for gov to intervene [wave]

Thanks, this has always been my understanding..

So although its a fine distinction, its important to note. I just did a quick search through the ICA website to reconfirm, there is no mention there of renewing PR, but the Re Entry Permit there is, and this must be done every five years...

according to the expiry date of your passport :D

Instead of fixing the problem on PR issues, Ah Goh might have created another one instead with his comments. Those high net value PR might chose to leave instead of conversion. Should have pass to Lao Lee to vet through first. Now end up has to retract his statements.

Some thoughts from this horse's mouth

1. It is quitter (not quiter)

2. What is "renew PR"? I didn't know PR status had to be renewed. Your re-entry permit yes, but that is different. So is it that your PR will be revoked or that you Re-Entry Permit won't be renewed? Different things you knows :o

3. How does the government decide which PR are offered citizenship? What are the determining factors, are there guidelines and so forth? If so, will they ever be released into the public arena?

4. After the invite, what goes into the decision on whether or not to revoke / not renew the permanent residency? This is also an important determinant.

5. If someone really does have their PR status revoked, as already mentioned, what is the timeline for disposal of assets and wind up of personal affairs?

6. Finally, I am also a PR, for me to take up citizenship it will be a positive decision, it won't ever be done under the threat of losing my PR status. My wife and both children are Singapore citizens.

aiyo save the english lesson leh [:p]

believe they will target at middle class who has sunk their root here deep enough (house, car, kids born here, etc) so that they have difficulties turning back, or stop them from turning back when they retire.

they will not target at the high achiever as these people are in demand everywhere.

yes, you are a good target but probably when you are in your 40s :D

Some thoughts from this horse's mouth

1. It is quitter (not quiter)

2. What is "renew PR"? I didn't know PR status had to be renewed. Your re-entry permit yes, but that is different. So is it that your PR will be revoked or that you Re-Entry Permit won't be renewed? Different things you knows :o

3. How does the government decide which PR are offered citizenship? What are the determining factors, are there guidelines and so forth? If so, will they ever be released into the public arena?

4. After the invite, what goes into the decision on whether or not to revoke / not renew the permanent residency? This is also an important determinant.

5. If someone really does have their PR status revoked, as already mentioned, what is the timeline for disposal of assets and wind up of personal affairs?

6. Finally, I am also a PR, for me to take up citizenship it will be a positive decision, it won't ever be done under the threat of losing my PR status. My wife and both children are Singapore citizens.

1) ok, wonder why my swype didnt update me with correct spelling.... [:p]

2) you got your point here but the weird thing is all pr holder will have to apply re-entry permit. it's seems to be directly linked to pr status. example, many years back, my ex quit her job and study full time acca, when time for PR renewal (or to be precise, re-entry permit renewal), she was rejected a 5yrs renewal but given only 1yr. reason being she was not working for continuously for 12mths. now, pr status also link to employment status (maybe no $$ goes into cpf and they are not happy... [laugh] )

3) talent bro, talent and im sure you will be invited sooner or later. they like talents of your caliber. and trust me, they will never disclose those details on how/what/when/who so that they could u-turn anytime when they wanted to.... [laugh]

4) not much detail available yet. give them more times, more detail would be disclose.

5) refer to # 4

6) [nod]

My friend, in your situation (you PR, and your wife and child are singaporean) it is very unlikely they will ask you to take up citizenship.

Why should they, as you're already "stuck" here for all intents and purposes.

I think the intent of such scheme, "force" converting PR to citizen, is more aimed at those PR with no established roots yet and can easily go elsewhere, e.g. the young, single, professional, living on rented property, etc. These are the mobile PR who need to be "tied down" here, so to speak.

For you, your singaporean wife and child (and HDB or private property) already do the job of "tying" you "down" here, so no need for gov to intervene [wave]

Concur with you. My Malaysian (SPR) fren who was SINGLE at that time was offered to convert to Citizen. (But, ran away then. Reasons: too stressful here).

Is he sleep-walking again?

Last time he said Goal 2006 then changed to Goal 2010....after realising not possible then said just a dream.... [lipsrsealed][laugh]

according to the expiry date of your passport :D

Nuh Uh....my govt is independent of sg govt, and my PR is not tied to my passport (I am on my third passport but have not renewed my pr)

2) you got your point here but the weird thing is all pr holder will have to apply re-entry permit. it's seems to be directly linked to pr status. example, many years back, my ex quit her job and study full time acca, when time for PR renewal (or to be precise, re-entry permit renewal), she was rejected a 5yrs renewal but given only 1yr. reason being she was not working for continuously for 12mths. now, pr status also link to employment status (maybe no $$ goes into cpf and they are not happy... [laugh] )

This is actually what bugs me the most, and what I have been aware of since day one.

It is a policy that I believe needs to be very very closely examined. If REP is really tied to employment, what point is PR? May as well just issue a long term visit visa...

"A valid Re-Entry Permit (REP) is necessary whenever a Singapore permanent resident (SPR) wishes to travel out of Singapore. It will enable you, as an SPR, to retain your PR status while you are away. A SPR who leaves Singapore or remains abroad without a valid REP will lose his SPR status."

PR doesn't have to be renewed if the person don't leave SG... So technically, they are not renewing PR-ship.

ok my bad..... to me is the same... because even if you leave SG for a a day during this time.... you will eventually have to renew it.....

it is not like if you work overseas for months or years then have to renew it

eh.. darryn.... pls spare me the english of why you think is different.... in my own opinion it is the same but it may have been misleading to you.... paiseh

Nuh Uh....my govt is independent of sg govt, and my PR is not tied to my passport (I am on my third passport but have not renewed my pr)

it the re-entry permit that tie to the expiry of the passport. How to give you 5 years if your passport expire in 2 years time.

ok my bad..... to me is the same... because even if you leave SG for a a day during this time.... you will eventually have to renew it.....

it is not like if you work overseas for months or years then have to renew it

eh.. darryn.... pls spare me the english of why you think is different.... in my own opinion it is the same but it may have been misleading to you.... paiseh

No lah...sorry to be pedantic. [wave]

is just something that is on my mind. My greatest fear is that I happen to be between jobs (or building my own company) when it comes time to renew my re-entry permit, then I won't be able to travel....

But my PR will still be ok....

Is quite scary you knows to have to think this way...

No lah...sorry to be pedantic. [wave]

is just something that is on my mind. My greatest fear is that I happen to be between jobs (or building my own company) when it comes time to renew my re-entry permit, then I won't be able to travel....

But my PR will still be ok....

Is quite scary you knows to have to think this way...

i am sure when the time comes.... my wife will share the same fear as you.... [:p]

it the re-entry permit that tie to the expiry of the passport. How to give you 5 years if your passport expire in 2 years time.

If you change passport, you just inform ICA of new passport number and the REP is transferred automatically, now can even do online also.

But for renewal is an actual application procedure, where you must also provide details of your employment.

his passport should still be his NZ passport rather than SG passport.....

PRs still owns their own country passport

Yeppers...I just got my new passport - the design is very pretty :D[:p]

But not enough pages [furious]

<_< err....... of course lah

Yeppers...I just got my new passport - the design is very pretty :D[:p]

But not enough pages [furious]

i like pretty design, can exchange with me :wub:

all cut down on paper and each can only be used for 5 years