Octopus 3rd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 Last Sat went for my car servicing, I changed out my normal spark plug (NGK BKR6E-11) after it had clocked 30,000 km. Actually its 29,588 km to be exact. I think it looks quite good considering each costs $3.50 only and 30k km usage would be no problem. I'm using grade 95 Esso petrol, no fuel additive used except when it was 20k km I used Redline F1 fuel system cleaner, and after that no other fuel additive until 30k km. I measured the gap with feeler guage. Original should be 1.1mm, and the results after 30k km usage were two of them @ 1.14mm and the other two @ 1.15mm. Close up of the tip looks good, the "v" profile on the central electrode still looks good, no visible sign of wear. There you go, this show that normal copper spark plug can go 30,000 km usage on my car. A 1.6 litre NA engine. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 Last Sat went for my car servicing, I changed out my normal spark plug (NGK BKR6E-11) after it had clocked 30,000 km. Actually its 29,588 km to be exact. I think it looks quite good considering each costs $3.50 only and 30k km usage would be no problem. I'm using grade 95 Esso petrol, no fuel additive used except when it was 20k km I used Redline F1 fuel system cleaner, and after that no other fuel additive until 30k km. I measured the gap with feeler guage. Original should be 1.1mm, and the results after 30k km usage were two of them @ 1.14mm and the other two @ 1.15mm. Close up of the tip looks good, the "v" profile on the central electrode still looks good, no visible sign of wear. There you go, this show that normal copper spark plug can go 30,000 km usage on my car. A 1.6 litre NA engine. Used to use the BKR6EY11's on my 180sx. They looked a lot more worn at 10000kms! Your's look like they can still go on! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear September 6, 2010 Author Share September 6, 2010 Yes, I think another 10k km usage no problem. Performance and FC no difference as compared to new plugs. In fact, C&C service guideline stated 40k km usage interval for this model spark plugs for my car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 bro, can share with me where you get those plugs at $3.50/pcs, I am using the same plugs, but cost me $5/pc leh. :angry: thank you so many. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear September 6, 2010 Author Share September 6, 2010 bro, can share with me where you get those plugs at $3.50/pcs, I am using the same plugs, but cost me $5/pc leh. :angry: thank you so many. The price was breakdown costs including servicing which I done together among other stuff. So if only purchase the spark plugs alone I not sure if the price still stand. Its a shop in Yew Tee Industrial area, I need to check up on the actual address and will PM you tomorrow. I also changed my front brake pad to Bendix General CT which costs $48 (excluding labour). So far ok, feel same as stock brake pads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 Yes, I think another 10k km usage no problem. Performance and FC no difference as compared to new plugs. In fact, C&C service guideline stated 40k km usage interval for this model spark plugs for my car. How come you changed it so early then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear September 6, 2010 Author Share September 6, 2010 How come you changed it so early then? Cos before this experiment I also having doubt that normal copper spark plugs can last 40k km.... But now that there is evidence, I think will go 30k km cos that's my 1 year mileage clocked. Don't like the feeling of leaving it too long, there's danger of it being seized on the engine block. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 The price was breakdown costs including servicing which I done together among other stuff. So if only purchase the spark plugs alone I not sure if the price still stand. Its a shop in Yew Tee Industrial area, I need to check up on the actual address and will PM you tomorrow. I also changed my front brake pad to Bendix General CT which costs $48 (excluding labour). So far ok, feel same as stock brake pads. thanks bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 Yes, I think another 10k km usage no problem. Performance and FC no difference as compared to new plugs. In fact, C&C service guideline stated 40k km usage interval for this model spark plugs for my car. One workshop in AMK used to tell me (which I believe him) that stock plugs can last up to 40k but have to check the conditions at regular servicing intervals. Nowadays I got my servicing parts from stockist in Veerasamy Road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 bro, can share with me where you get those plugs at $3.50/pcs, I am using the same plugs, but cost me $5/pc leh. :angry: thank you so many. You got your plugs from stockist? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 You got your plugs from stockist? ya lor, bought from song yi, $5/pc plus GST. if buy from AD (AM) is $4.55/pc plus GST, but very far away leh, me live in West leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 Cos before this experiment I also having doubt that normal copper spark plugs can last 40k km.... But now that there is evidence, I think will go 30k km cos that's my 1 year mileage clocked. Don't like the feeling of leaving it too long, there's danger of it being seized on the engine block. I guess its the application. On the 180 at 10k, my wear was way worse than your 30k. If you're worried about it being seized, get your mech to check it at every servicing Then it'll be no different from changing plugs (Seizure wise) every service - DISCLAIMER: Your mech might hate you after Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 I guess its the application. On the 180 at 10k, my wear was way worse than your 30k. If you're worried about it being seized, get your mech to check it at every servicing Then it'll be no different from changing plugs (Seizure wise) every service - DISCLAIMER: Your mech might hate you after We do encounter once in a while those plugs that is extremely difficult to remove, if my mechanic don't feel right he would advice the owner go home and soak the plugs with WD40 or RP7 penetrating lubricant then try again. The worst is to either break the plugs or strip the thread from the engine block, that would be a very costly repair. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 Actually your plugs look pretty good considering 30k km mileage, we have seen worse for some 10k plugs. What car model are you driving btw? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear September 7, 2010 Author Share September 7, 2010 thanks bro. PM sent... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear September 7, 2010 Author Share September 7, 2010 (edited) One workshop in AMK used to tell me (which I believe him) that stock plugs can last up to 40k but have to check the conditions at regular servicing intervals. Nowadays I got my servicing parts from stockist in Veerasamy Road. I believe we both drive the same make/model car. Do you also use BKR6E-11 spark plugs? How much does the stocklist sell such plugs? Edited September 7, 2010 by Octopus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear September 7, 2010 Author Share September 7, 2010 I guess its the application. On the 180 at 10k, my wear was way worse than your 30k. If you're worried about it being seized, get your mech to check it at every servicing Then it'll be no different from changing plugs (Seizure wise) every service - DISCLAIMER: Your mech might hate you after No lah, I think once removed better to replace, cos the plating (anti-seize purpose) on the spark plug's thread would be some wear or damage already. Anyway every year replace I think would be good enough for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 Last Sat went for my car servicing, I changed out my normal spark plug (NGK BKR6E-11) after it had clocked 30,000 km. Actually its 29,588 km to be exact. I think it looks quite good considering each costs $3.50 only and 30k km usage would be no problem. I'm using grade 95 Esso petrol, no fuel additive used except when it was 20k km I used Redline F1 fuel system cleaner, and after that no other fuel additive until 30k km. I measured the gap with feeler guage. Original should be 1.1mm, and the results after 30k km usage were two of them @ 1.14mm and the other two @ 1.15mm. Close up of the tip looks good, the "v" profile on the central electrode still looks good, no visible sign of wear. There you go, this show that normal copper spark plug can go 30,000 km usage on my car. A 1.6 litre NA engine. Drove previous Kelisa (same spark plugs model but without V-grooves) more than 50,000km without any issue, although AD workhsop always like to replace spark plugs every 10,000km. However, yours got those yellow rings on the ceramics already (intermittent flashovers can reduce spark performance) Actually spark plugs fire better without the specified gap setting specified ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...