Ways to reduce traffic in singapore

Zhiwei933

I suggest to change all cars to opc

If you want to drive during normal hours, pay opc coupon

Then it'll be fair across the board already as TS said, for every 5 cars on the roads 4 are non opc

Obviously non opc cars are the problem!

I suggest to change all cars to opc

If you want to drive during normal hours, pay opc coupon

Then it'll be fair across the board already as TS said, for every 5 cars on the roads 4 are non opc

Obviously non opc cars are the problem!

I am thinking by ncrease the COE price of car why don't they stop OPC system or try to minimize the OPC number cause nowday whenever on the road out of 5 deftinely there will be 1 OPC car and deftinely applied on the way to Johor.

As more roads have more than one lane:

Lane 1, speed limit be de-regulated to no speed limit (cater to clear traffic jams). It has to be an endless highway round the island like a circuit

Lane 2, speed limit at 90km/h (cater to seasoned drivers/motorcyclists)

Lane 3, Speed limit at 60km/h (cater to new drivers/heavy vehicles, motorcyclists, turning traffic)

As more roads have more than one lane:

Lane 1, speed limit be de-regulated to no speed limit (cater to clear traffic jams). It has to be an endless highway round the island like a circuit

Lane 2, speed limit at 90km/h (cater to seasoned drivers/motorcyclists)

Lane 3, Speed limit at 60km/h (cater to new drivers/heavy vehicles, motorcyclists, turning traffic)

Lane 1, no insurance coverage for any accident.

Lane 2, insurance cover 50%.

Lane 3. Insurance cover 100%.

Yap, ERP is a Cow Milking machine. If the true intention is to reduce car number just hit it at the source. Use High COE and cut quota to restrict buying desire. Why spend money to build more ERP and more roads?

Regards,

excatly...............in fact i will suggest one up...forget the COE BS......stop cutiign what ARF lah. blah blah blah.....just make our cars the most expensive one u can find int he world...like paying 200k for a vios to use for only 5 years.....there..i think a lot of problem with be solved

all schemes are no use as long as growth is not impeded at the direct source. Make people dun want to buy a car~! Promote that owning a car is nothing of status, make fun of people owning a car on advertisements, etc. And most important, instead of making the cost of keeping a car very high, make it difficult to buy a car in the first place.

There are a lot of people who dun calculate their figures correctly before buying a car. Thinking if they can buy, they can keep it. And if cannot keep, they lose face, borrow money, use up savings, also want to keep...

Ban all those dealers sales tactic of $1 dollar drive-away. Increase interest rate for loan of buying car. Enforce 60% down payment if want to buy a car. Loan amount must be returned in 5 years max.

That's about the only way~ Make even the slightest idea of owning a car disappear at first thought~

FYI, i'm a car owner [sweatdrop]

So I suppose you will lead by example & sold away your car? Or better yet, like Top gear style, trash it with a hammer. That would certainly show the point.

We Singaporean always like to complain & say our goverment ministers lost touch with the common folks, Telling us everything is still affordable disprite high inflation in alot of things like housing. Tell us our public transport is world class, & encourage us to take public tranbsport, while they got driven around in their limosine.

But just reading this thread, & many similar one, it can be seen that many of us are in fact very selfish, self centred in thoughts. If your pay not XXXX, don't buy car, if need to save fuel, don't buy, we should Charge high ERP, high tax , disband OPC etc.

What effectively alot of us are saying is, I hope more people don't drive (you either can't afford, don't need, etc), but I will be able to still drive (as I can afford, my job required, I have young kids etc), so at the end of the day, I have smooth traffic, I happy, & you go squeeze MRT with others, not my business.

If these is the kind of mentality (which I hope isn't with most people), we truly deserve to to chop like carrot, & don't blame the government or LTA for the next increase of car ownership.

Edited by Kiadaw

and it's gonna be real dangerous for the 3 lanes on the highway to have extreme speed limit difference....

notice the 2 lane autobahn,

when it's unrestricted,

both lanes are unrestricted....

not only 1....

it's just that,

heavy goods vehicles use up one of the 2 lanes....

so it gives the impression that their right lane is for slow vehicles,

left lane for faster ones....

but the lorries and trucks are doing in excess of 140kph leah....

[sweatdrop]

Oh Yes,

Ban all car advertisments whether on Magazines or on TV. Cannot use cars as lucky draw. Local car magazines will close shop but MCF still alive [laugh].

Regards,

Oh Yes,

Ban all car advertisments whether on Magazines or on TV. Cannot use cars as lucky draw. Local car magazines will close shop but MCF still alive [laugh].

Regards,

But then we got nothing to talk about.

Jiak hong ah. Talk c--k only. [:p]

But then we got nothing to talk about.

Jiak hong ah. Talk c--k only. [:p]

You mean you need car magazines and TV ads to talk about cars meh [laugh]? No car also can come and talk about car here in MCF. I will be too old to drive eventually but still can come MCF mah :D.

Regards,

You mean you need car magazines and TV ads to talk about cars meh [laugh]? No car also can come and talk about car here in MCF. I will be too old to drive eventually but still can come MCF mah :D.

Regards,

No car ads and car mags then how we know abt new cars?

So I suppose you will lead by example & sold away your car? Or better yet, like Top gear style, trash it with a hammer. That would certainly show the point.

We Singaporean always like to complain & say our goverment ministers lost touch with the common folks, Telling us everything is still affordable disprite high inflation in alot of things like housing. Tell us our public transport is world class, & encourage us to take public tranbsport, while they got driven around in their limosine.

But just reading this thread, & many similar one, it can be seen that many of us are in fact very selfish, self centred in thoughts. If your pay not XXXX, don't buy car, if need to save fuel, don't buy, we should Charge high ERP, high tax , disband OPC etc.

What effectively alot of us are saying is, I hope more people don't drive (you either can't afford, don't need, etc), but I will be able to still drive (as I can afford, my job required, I have young kids etc), so at the end of the day, I have smooth traffic, I happy, & you go squeeze MRT with others, not my business.

If these is the kind of mentality (which I hope isn't with most people), we truly deserve to to chop like carrot, & don't blame the government or LTA for the next increase of car ownership.

aiyo... nobody is saying our government is super bad lah. You working in government hah? [:p]

what we are discussing is just how to reduce traffic mah~ no one says i drive, you cannot drive. Main thing is that cars should only be for those who really need it, not for rich, not for show off-ers. Maybe everyone who buy a car should have his/her background be investigated by the traffic police before they can buy. Only approve those who deem really need a car. That would be much better. haha...

Personally, even though i own a car, it's due to my job, i try to take public transport or walk whenever possible, don't mind squeezing in bus. Got more chance to see pretty girls some more, what's the harm. Haha... [laugh] FYI, I get into serious traffic jams only about twice per month~ [:p]

I only hate those drivers who are impolite, rush like mad, don't signal and don't give way... [rifle]

Attitude of many drivers here is quite poor compared to many overseas countries... [shakehead]

aiyo... nobody is saying our government is super bad lah. You working in government hah? [:p]

what we are discussing is just how to reduce traffic mah~ no one says i drive, you cannot drive. Main thing is that cars should only be for those who really need it, not for rich, not for show off-ers. Maybe everyone who buy a car should have his/her background be investigated by the traffic police before they can buy. Only approve those who deem really need a car. That would be much better. haha...

Personally, even though i own a car, it's due to my job, i try to take public transport or walk whenever possible, don't mind squeezing in bus. Got more chance to see pretty girls some more, what's the harm. Haha... [laugh] FYI, I get into serious traffic jams only about twice per month~ [:p]

I only hate those drivers who are impolite, rush like mad, don't signal and don't give way... [rifle]

Attitude of many drivers here is quite poor compared to many overseas countries... [shakehead]

Ok, Fair enough. But how to justify who need car more?

Anyway I only believe we only need Food, water & oxygen, ..& make babies [:p]

Everything else is "want".

Edited by Kiadaw