Kilatz 1st Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 Actually wanted to post this some time ago but forgot about it until i kana this grass cutting again today. For bros out there, please be aware wen passing near any grass cutting works on the road side. Was passing by Old CCK when spotted some men using the typical grass cutting equipment... the one with the long pole with a piece of rotating plastic at the other end. They were about 5 meters from the edge of the road so i thought can pass by safely. As i pass by, i heard a twack and thought siao liao. True enough, when i check later, there is a slight dent with chipped paint where i think a piece of pebble has hit onto my front passenger door. I can't and am not blaming the grass cutters for the whole thing... they are just doing their job. But just to warn bros to exercise some caution when near these grass cutters. As they sweep the cutter left and right, inadvertently some pebbles or stones may get whipped by the plastic cutter and get thrown into the air in all directions. In my case, tio the door. There is also the possibility of hitting the glass window or (even) windscreen?? Anyone experienced this before? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davetan86 Neutral Newbie September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 I encounter this before at woodlands road towards SLE.. For me lucky case, only the piece of grass tio my side doors Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 yes..kena twice with dents and paint chips..now i try to avoid them like the plague..i'm more worried abt windscreen crack Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 i kanna rear glass shatter before called the town council and found the grasscutter company claim him for it and loss of use Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 I remember I was standing roughly 20 metres from them and a pebble fly and hit my leg. Blu-Black for 3 days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kilatz 1st Gear September 4, 2010 Author Share September 4, 2010 If door can dent, then windscreen crack is definitely a possibility. Furry's case is the first i hear about windscreen tio... so now i better siam far far... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zztensor Neutral Newbie September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 So far, haven't had problem with grass cutters (touch wood). But when i drive in jurong (bo bian cos live in the west), very often will get small rock chips scattered on the roads by lorries....wah lao, if other cars drive quite fast past u, ur car will kenna whacked hard by those rock chips....sian.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ftco 2nd Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 I kena before too on TPE. Car was then just 1 week old. The flying debris left a stone chip on my door that touch up paint will not be enough to cover. Damn sim tia! :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crystal_tiong 1st Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 i kenna before at thomson during peak hours . i heard some pebbles knocked onto my car , but i couldnt get down to confront them else i will be causing more jams ! indeed there was a obvious dent ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crystal_tiong 1st Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 I remember I was standing roughly 20 metres from them and a pebble fly and hit my leg. Blu-Black for 3 days. so sway leh .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 i kanna rear glass shatter before called the town council and found the grasscutter company claim him for it and loss of use i also saw before, an altis with a shattered rear window due to pebbles struck up by grasscutter.. Police was there taking statements from both parties.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 My advice is stay away from these activities or its vicinity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TRD 2nd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 my car was following behind a truck than the truck suddenly drop some rocks around the size of our fist and hit my car windscreen and had a crack .the next day the crack got bigger three day later i went to change windscreen very expensive i got no time to blame the company coz i rushing to somewhere that day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 for my case, when i see them from afar, i will do a lane change to avoid them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 my car was following behind a truck than the truck suddenly drop some rocks around the size of our fist and hit my car windscreen and had a crack .the next day the crack got bigger three day later i went to change windscreen very expensive i got no time to blame the company coz i rushing to somewhere that day It happened to me before, truck with full load of pebbles in front, saw a couple drop and came hurtling towards my car, "twack"! Check bonnet and sure enough, paint chipped off in 2 areas Now I try my best to avoid these hazards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimcheam Neutral Newbie September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 my car was following behind a truck than the truck suddenly drop some rocks around the size of our fist and hit my car windscreen and had a crack .the next day the crack got bigger three day later i went to change windscreen very expensive i got no time to blame the company coz i rushing to somewhere that day bro i tot just pay $100 to change the windscreen as it should be covered up the insurance policy ma ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kilatz 1st Gear September 6, 2010 Author Share September 6, 2010 And try to avoid cement mixer truck also. I didnt realise it until the evening of that day. Got 2 drop of cement on my bonnet. By that time dry and set already. Must carefully scrape off but until now still have mark. Hope when send for polishing it will help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched September 7, 2010 Share September 7, 2010 Those grasscutters can't be bothered about passerbys or cars parked along the kerb. My place nearby have alot of cars parked by the kerb, everytime grasscutters appear, someone in the family would notify us to shift our cars. But they can't wait for a few seconds one, even if we tell them to hold on. Children playing by the side also get hurt by flying grass or particles.. Very inconsiderate, they just hide among those noise when shouted at to stop. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...