Apvman 2nd Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 Just came across this news today on Straits Times... Now HDB also control us from buying overseas properties unless u declared and yor HDB ownership is more than 3 years... WTF? Whats overseas properties got to do with HDB rulings... CB... The government so scare that pple all go buy overseas properties if they dont have other alternatives? So scared that the money will go to other countries instead to our HIGHLY PAID Ministers? Next Mon, sure got alot of pple around complaint abt this nonsense rule.... Cant wait for this coming election.. Time to make my vote...Hopeless. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 of course lah.... gahmen wants to collect own people money.... that's why they allowed for 2 IR's to come in.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear September 4, 2010 Author Share September 4, 2010 (edited) very tulan... I still dont understand whats abt buying foreign properties got to do with HDB hosuing policy? The new rule also apply to PRs too... NBzz... Like that many pple I am know of also kana... wtf.. Looks like the only way to get our $$ back is 1) Null yor CITIZENSHIP and migrate 2) WHEN YOU ARE DEAD... Edited September 4, 2010 by Apvman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 aiyah.... our gahmen wants to 'protect' local money mah.... haha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 On 9/4/2010 at 12:16 AM, Apvman said: Just came across this news today on Straits Times... Now HDB also control us from buying overseas properties unless u declared and yor HDB ownership is more than 3 years... WTF? Whats overseas properties got to do with HDB rulings... CB... The government so scare that pple all go buy overseas properties if they dont have other alternatives? So scared that the money will go to other countries instead to our HIGHLY PAID Ministers? Next Mon, sure got alot of pple around complaint abt this nonsense rule.... Cant wait for this coming election.. Time to make my vote...Hopeless. The only group that I feel is really targetted here is the Malayian PR who have a place in JB and return there everyday .... literally earning Singaporen $$$ and all spendings in Malaysia. And to top it off, they buy resale HDB and rent it out ..... Issue is: How many such cases are there as versus how many cases of Singaporeans who invest in property in Australia, New Zealand etc.... This policy also affects such a groupa and I feel thay are unfairly penalised. Truthfully, I think requiring HDB owners to STAY in their flats is the most important thing that needs to be enforced. If they don't need to stay in it, then they don't need to own it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 (edited) Isn't it silly, if you stop ppl from buying foreign properties, wouldn't their "extra money" be plough back into local properties? like that LPPL what.... knn Edited September 4, 2010 by Trex101 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 they should penalize those who use HDB as an investment.... or intends to stay in HDB, and invest in private ppty.... if you're able to afford private, by all means live in them....don't bother about re-sale HDB, and the people who truly needs a roof over their head.... and if you're richer, go all out in the private property area.... don't even try to take advantage of HDB.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 Not bothered by this rulings cos I can only afford to purchase a HDB. The rest of my money is to go holidays annually, to be able to buy things I like even though I may not need to have. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 I thought the ruling is for those who owns overseas properties to dispose them before they can buy HDB, not the other way round. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 I tot this rule is not new, only now it has been tweaked little bit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenneve888 4th Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 On 9/4/2010 at 12:32 AM, Apvman said: very tulan... I still dont understand whats abt buying foreign properties got to do with HDB hosuing policy? The new rule also apply to PRs too... NBzz... Like that many pple I am know of also kana... wtf.. Looks like the only way to get our $$ back is 1) Null yor CITIZENSHIP and migrate 2) WHEN YOU ARE DEAD... To die may be faster than to migrate..... Most countries need one to be a PR first before he can be a citizen. And to complete the process, he needs to chalk up certain no of years of stay in the new adopted country before given citizenship status. Only then can we clean up our CPF. The above is what I know. Not sure if there is any country in the world that approve citizenship immediately. Anyone care to share? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 nope.... they may not call you PR, but maybe 2nd class Citizen.... haha.... but they still take care of your welfare, and medical needs....as well as subsidize you/ your child's education.... that's how they treat the basic needs of Humans, and not as "2nd Class Citizen" or PR.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nose85 Neutral Newbie September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 the policy is to ensure money stays in SIngapore and encourage money to be in CPF if i sell my HDB flat, the money how is it going to go some to cpf, some to where ? any link to read about thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 half of what you profited from the sale of the HDB flat will have to go into your CPF account.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 does that mean those farking ah tiong have to sell their house in china?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 On 9/4/2010 at 3:53 AM, Little_prince said: does that mean those farking ah tiong have to sell their house in china?? china so big, as if HDB have the means to check there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear September 4, 2010 Share September 4, 2010 On 9/4/2010 at 4:21 AM, Sk65 said: china so big, as if HDB have the means to check there. So that's to say the garment self-pawned??? Put in a rule that's almost impossible to check if it's violated??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...