Count-Bracula Twincharged April 23, 2021 Share April 23, 2021 It can be fitted with a duct. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 23, 2021 Share April 23, 2021 20 hours ago, Kxbc said: I won't recommend kdk. I have 3. 1 broke down after maybe 4 plus years. The other 2 started making noise. It's a design issue. The plastic cover above the blades will loosen over time and make noise when you switch it on. unless it's a haiku fan. I don't think any particular of the more budget friendly ceiling fan is very reliable. Though KDK standfans are super reliable. Maybe i'll just spring for the haiku. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 23, 2021 Share April 23, 2021 My KDK ceiling fan already 23-24 years, still working and very silent. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 On 4/23/2021 at 12:55 PM, Lala81 said: unless it's a haiku fan. I don't think any particular of the more budget friendly ceiling fan is very reliable. Though KDK standfans are super reliable. Maybe i'll just spring for the haiku. the kdk which broke down was the most used. but the overall design gives a buzzing sound over time when the plastic comes loose. so no more such designs for me. i replaced the kdk with an acorn, a budget brand (think $250 or something like that). 2.5 years already and still working fine. On 15 hours per day. It does not come with a plastic cover above the blades so no loose part wobbling and creating the buzzing sound. Fingers crossed. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 1 hour ago, Kxbc said: the kdk which broke down was the most used. but the overall design gives a buzzing sound over time when the plastic comes loose. so no more such designs for me. i replaced the kdk with an acorn, a budget brand (think $250 or something like that). 2.5 years already and still working fine. On 15 hours per day. It does not come with a plastic cover above the blades so no loose part wobbling and creating the buzzing sound. Fingers crossed. yeah looking at some more nicer design fans. But haha need to pay for design. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 1 hour ago, Kxbc said: the kdk which broke down was the most used. but the overall design gives a buzzing sound over time when the plastic comes loose. so no more such designs for me. i replaced the kdk with an acorn, a budget brand (think $250 or something like that). 2.5 years already and still working fine. On 15 hours per day. It does not come with a plastic cover above the blades so no loose part wobbling and creating the buzzing sound. Fingers crossed. can show photo example of which part is creating that sound? vs the acorn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 17 minutes ago, Lala81 said: can show photo example of which part is creating that sound? vs the acorn. This is my "new" acorn. See the part above the blade? it's screwed in and cannot move. The picture below is my old kdk (not the same model but same design). There is this wrap-around plastic above the blade. It loosens over time and can shift around when you touch it. I suspect the buzzing sound happens when the blade turns and causes the plastic to vibrate. The kdk design looks more clean cut but I can't take the buzzing sound. And the whole fan (if white) will discolour unevenly. Some parts will turn yellow. some parts won't. So i have a white/yellow fan now which buzzes (softly but can get loud at times) when I switch it on. 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 26 minutes ago, Kxbc said: This is my "new" acorn. See the part above the blade? it's screwed in and cannot move. The picture below is my old kdk (not the same model but same design). There is this wrap-around plastic above the blade. It loosens over time and can shift around when you touch it. I suspect the buzzing sound happens when the blade turns and causes the plastic to vibrate. The kdk design looks more clean cut but I can't take the buzzing sound. And the whole fan (if white) will discolour unevenly. Some parts will turn yellow. some parts won't. So i have a white/yellow fan now which buzzes (softly but can get loud at times) when I switch it on. Ah OK. I get what u mean. Most of kdk fans all have this extra housing. Thanks. Good advice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 Anyone tried one of those bladeless ceiling fan?? Exhale (this is US brand I think) , Vortec (SG brand from NTU).... ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 On 4/23/2021 at 1:01 PM, Count-Bracula said: My KDK ceiling fan already 23-24 years, still working and very silent. Walao...it's about time you let your ever hardworking fan retire and enjoy with your cpf lah...get it a buddy mate to lighten the workload at the very least 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 1 hour ago, mersaylee said: Walao...it's about time you let your ever hardworking fan retire and enjoy with your cpf lah...get it a buddy mate to lighten the workload at the very least 😁 No wonder when I walked into a Seiko shop today, the sales staff all ignored me. I think really have the frugish kiam kana look. Nah, don't fix it if it ain't broken. I will raise the retirement age of my fan, 30 years! 😂 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 (edited) 2 hours ago, Hosaybo said: Anyone tried one of those bladeless ceiling fan?? Exhale (this is US brand I think) , Vortec (SG brand from NTU).... ??? Probably not efficient. heck fan technology is super low end. If it was that good. Every father mother son will use the same design. The fact that you don’t see anyone using means it’s crap. as a layman, the fan speeds isn’t too high to support multi bladed compact designs. Long span blades are still much better. Look at all the big ass fans installed at MRTs and halls. They generate really good wind. https://www.bigassfans.com Edited April 26, 2021 by Mkl22 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 1 hour ago, Count-Bracula said: No wonder when I walked into a Seiko shop today, the sales staff all ignored me. I think really have the frugish kiam kana look. Nah, don't fix it if it ain't broken. I will raise the retirement age of my fan, 30 years! 😂 You worked in CPF before? Learn from them to keep raising retirement age? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 On 4/23/2021 at 1:01 PM, Count-Bracula said: My KDK ceiling fan already 23-24 years, still working and very silent. at least 6 or 7 of my KD ceiling fans are quite noisy , I have no problem with other brands. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 26, 2021 Share August 26, 2021 (edited) Ceiling fan detached from ceiling. Edited August 26, 2021 by Ct3833 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 26, 2021 Share August 26, 2021 41 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Ceiling fan detached from ceiling. The smallest one was the most alert about the surrounding...the 2 in black must be very hungry or had their butts glued to the ground...😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Se3h3ng 2nd Gear November 13, 2021 Share November 13, 2021 Ceiling fan broke down at the mark of 5 years… zzz. wanted to buy haiku but the wind CMI. anyone got lobang for nicer looking ceiling fan without lights? Thanks!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged November 15, 2021 Share November 15, 2021 I wish to install a ceiling fan for more steady airflow in a small room. My ceiling board doesn't look strong and I am afraid it may not be able to take the weight of the ceiling fan. Are the ways which I could overcome this? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...