Tigerwoods Turbocharged September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 aiya... buy KDK la.. or aircon Actually Ceiling fan is good enough, no need aircon. I half year Aircon (Mar~Sep) half year fan (Oct~Feb). Last time my children always On Aircon 21C and cover blanket. I slowly adjust 21,22,23,24,25, and now 26C they still cover blanket. For me, If I on Aircon this is what I do : 1. On Dehumidifier 1st 2. just before sleep, change to 27C Aircon. I still cover blanket as the Blower is directly facing me. Mine is Mitsubishi - better than Daikin. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 Now those cheap cheap fans, sort of ball shape, with a simple V stand, $20-30-40 + I'm using one inside my kitchen, blowing from ground up. Quite the tahan, $45, use it when I'm in the kitchen cooking, already 2yrs ok still. Fan all same, same, no need go buy branded, end of the day also MIC. (Made In China) use liow, throw and buy new one. Not like last time, got bakelite switches, iron casing etc.. can last donkey years, now where got? My table top KDK fan also conked off. Twice liao! The motor refused to turn. What's the problem? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 Last time is not Toyota good lah, was Datsun good. [laugh] Used to be good loh, as good as Toyota last time. But, now most Jappy goods quite crappy also leh. VCD players dunno changed how many already! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 I just turn on aircon if weather is hot, 30mins, and then off, and use the fan after. Actually Ceiling fan is good enough, no need aircon. I half year Aircon (Mar~Sep) half year fan (Oct~Feb). Last time my children always On Aircon 21C and cover blanket. I slowly adjust 21,22,23,24,25, and now 26C they still cover blanket. For me, If I on Aircon this is what I do : 1. On Dehumidifier 1st 2. just before sleep, change to 27C Aircon. I still cover blanket as the Blower is directly facing me. Mine is Mitsubishi - better than Daikin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 OT abit. Anyone heard from fengshui master that ceiling fan is not good (tordano effect)??? Was discouraged by this master to install ceiling fan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nose85 Neutral Newbie September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 Set aside car talk.... My home ceiling fan dunno what brand... apache...sounds like can fly... LOL... but it's rotating slower and slower... time to change. Any brand that is windy enough and suitable for low ceiling HDB? My flat ceiling is so low until if u stand and raise ur hand, ur finger sure kena the fan blades. Am looking at KDK... spray some wd 40 into it it worked for me that was taught to me by the electrician Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 Only if fan center is right above your body, aka stomach, will kana stomach problems, like stomach ache etc... besides that, ceiling fans were not invented during the ancient times (besides the huge leaves above the roof for fanning) doesn't constitute anything to fengshui, if that fellow say that to you , then how, whole house aircon or no fan?Boh koh leng right? one also need proper ventilation in the house, if not no proper flow of chi. OT abit. Anyone heard from fengshui master that ceiling fan is not good (tordano effect)??? Was discouraged by this master to install ceiling fan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6656 1st Gear September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 How about adding a supercharger to get the max RPM speed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
West_end Neutral Newbie September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 Hi brudders, OT a bit, sorry arhh. Can I do something to the speed control switch of the ceiling fan to slow down the motor? Normally I will set the speed to 1 and max would be 2 out of 5, can I toggle the controller so that speed 1 is slow down to maybe 30-60 rpm, this would be good for night time use in the bed room. Can or not? By adding a resistor (of calculated value) across the COM & Speed-1 wiring' terminal, the desired fan speed could be achieved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agalvilaku 2nd Gear September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 Not sure whether still have USHA fans in Singapore, used to have 15 years back. some hardware shops still sell the ceiling hook for that (it needs a different hook than the current one's). Nowadays, fans don't last even for 5 years. You guys won't believe, i have two fans in my house back in India, aged 50 & 33, both are from Crompton Greaves. Until now, only changed the condenser once or twice, never recoiled the fan. When shopping for the ceiling fans, keep in mind, 3 blade fans can give you more sweep \ min than 4 or 5. Marketing people say, 4 or more wings give more air in less sweep, but, that is not true. Go to basic and you will get more air. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 Only if fan center is right above your body, aka stomach, will kana stomach problems, like stomach ache etc... besides that, ceiling fans were not invented during the ancient times (besides the huge leaves above the roof for fanning) doesn't constitute anything to fengshui, if that fellow say that to you , then how, whole house aircon or no fan?Boh koh leng right? one also need proper ventilation in the house, if not no proper flow of chi. Not like dat say. Ceiling fan is fixed on top. Fan blades rotate creating downforce to floor, then bounce back again, thus creating a "tornado" effect. Standing/table fan can be swinged around, so winds are dispersed. Just trying to check with you guys whether if you have heard this type of thingy from so called fengshui master or not. My thinking is, if ceiling is well-designed = better distribution/movement of air around (rather than through strong force), then only need to on at slow speed to move the air around effectively. So, theoretically should be no tornado effect lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 I just turn on aircon if weather is hot, 30mins, and then off, and use the fan after. Sometimes I timed Aircon Humidifier only for 1 hr and same time on ceiling fan. Its better as the warm feeling is due to humidity level. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 Isn't that what I said already?Ceiling fans don't effect unless position is above your stomach, and that is from MY Feng Shui master. Besides that, better to have ventilation then none. If like that cannot then how to say? An Chua kong? Not like dat say. Ceiling fan is fixed on top. Fan blades rotate creating downforce to floor, then bounce back again, thus creating a "tornado" effect. Standing/table fan can be swinged around, so winds are dispersed. Just trying to check with you guys whether if you have heard this type of thingy from so called fengshui master or not. My thinking is, if ceiling is well-designed = better distribution/movement of air around (rather than through strong force), then only need to on at slow speed to move the air around effectively. So, theoretically should be no tornado effect lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 30mins for me only, my side most of the time quite cool in the night. Sometimes I timed Aircon Humidifier only for 1 hr and same time on ceiling fan. Its better as the warm feeling is due to humidity level. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluepica 4th Gear September 3, 2010 Author Share September 3, 2010 Time to change a new one. But got people here say KDK hoh leh. My parents' wedding gift, a KDK table fan still working now since 1970... as old as my eldest sis! No noise, still oscillating! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluepica 4th Gear September 3, 2010 Author Share September 3, 2010 Now those cheap cheap fans, sort of ball shape, with a simple V stand, $20-30-40 + I'm using one inside my kitchen, blowing from ground up. Quite the tahan, $45, use it when I'm in the kitchen cooking, already 2yrs ok still. Fan all same, same, no need go buy branded, end of the day also MIC. (Made In China) use liow, throw and buy new one. Not like last time, got bakelite switches, iron casing etc.. can last donkey years, now where got? this one not suitable for my home.... all steel and rust very fast.... moreoever when it is chokes by dust, everyone is waiting for anyone to clean it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 To me, KDK or nothing. Having said that I bought a ceiling fan from JB and assembled it in my SG home. Can't remember the brand but come with remote control, timer, LED lites and emergency lighting (EL). EL suppose to light up automatically when there is a blackout. Been more than a year already, so far so good . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 Not bad. KDK old days yes, not, cmi. My parents' wedding gift, a KDK table fan still working now since 1970... as old as my eldest sis! No noise, still oscillating! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...