Freestylers09 5th Gear September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 My current job reach hm at 7 woke up at 645 i ready sian liao last time woke up 8plus home at 6 bonus high i quit I really backside itchy wonder sometimes why pple can tahan work till so late? Late as in entertainment or? Life is short $ can never earn finish but time can be missed n never buy back, mai regret can already ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 IMO Sometime people work not because they have to or bosses force them, its to make themselves feel good and important..... family gets neglected along the way. Consider as willingly sacrificing family?? Personally, I think its still acceptable if people work for personal interest and $$, but its due to "supporting the company"... its stupid, cos in todays climate, which company sacrifices for its employees in return?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 I am a bit old fashion, father no time for kids are ok..... Last time father hardly spend time with and the children still respect the dad cos their mother teach them so..... Now both parents working, that is the problem! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 His pay is $25k/18 working hours per day/30 days = $46 per working hour. You = $6k/8 working hours/22 days (you get weekends off mah ) = $34 per working hour Not that far off. It's only worse off by 26% but mitigated by more time to rest and with family. Look at it the other way. At least he can quit and still have more cash in his bank and find a $6k job... And try his best to mend the fences... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 Its a cycle. The uncles will regret working so much during their prime; the freshies like me don't mind working long hours (sometimes bo pian), even tually i'll reach a stage like some of you guys then i'll also regret. Sighz. But can't help it, need to forge a career and try to achieve as much as possible. Different people. Different priorities. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 I do not believe anyone able to balance work and family life. As long as one is working for dear $$$, there will be no balance. Its either this, or that. Either you concentrate work, get along well with boss and collegue, get promoted with raise or.... just go along with work flo, time to go home go home, receive monthly pay, and stag there. When time to get retrench, retrench, when time to get fired, get fired. Its hardly heard off doing 9 to 5 work, 5 days week, get home on the dot, but yet get promoted, with liking from boss and management. Nbr, unless you own or your father/mother own the company. Actually there is such a job and a high paying one. My not so close friend works in Insurance Co and HOD for corporate accounts. Delegate the work to staff and seldom work late and monthly $20k, his bosses & peers also eng eng cheng cheng one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 the scenario of the current parents is quite different from the past..... the older generation work day and night to meet end needs like taking extra job after hours, today the parents so-call work late or work hard can be facing computer or making conf call even on day off or vacation, time spend with entertaining clients, bosses, friends at golf course, karaoke (cos some selfish parents say they also need personal time)...... so the kids question that the parents seem like enjoying doing what they call 'busy with work' but yet no time for them Come to think of it, in the Olden days our parents slogged to make ends meet. Now we as parents slogged to clear sh1tloads of work and spending more than we earn. Yes I hate to say this, a. I bring my Laptop to ALL my vacations. b. I work when I'm on MC c. I work when I'm on leave. BUT I still leave office most of the time by 6pm. Sometime is wrong with me ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hao80 Neutral Newbie September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 Think that is not a productive way of working: a. I bring my Laptop to ALL my vacations: -> Isn't it a chance for you to recharge and rest? b. I work when I'm on MC -> You will be more prone to make mistakes and need even more time to correct your mistakes. c. I work when I'm on leave. -> I can understand. Sometimes there are too many distractions at work. Phone calls, email & some useless meetings etc. Nowadays, I have stopped working late (past 9pm) to spend more time with my baby. Instead, I will fully focus on making my working hours more productive, tackle key priorities and not a "YES" man to minor non-priority requests. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 Actually there is such a job and a high paying one. My not so close friend works in Insurance Co and HOD for corporate accounts. Delegate the work to staff and seldom work late and monthly $20k, his bosses & peers also eng eng cheng cheng one. , no wonder he not so close with you. That's Y telling such things, or the least, paint such picture to you. Have you been or are you in the insurance industry by the way, just to see if its true? Cause it is not as glamorous and beautiful as what any freshy thought, or what those managers, supervisors made out to be. Its recruiting strategy just to recruit staffs. Not hiding anything, I was from AIA before. 4 months in there, seen enough liao. Maybe hang longer see more, but gets poorer. My good poly mate still in there. Hang around for closed to 10 yrs liao. My brother's friend in Prudential, quit to become corporate member many years back. Nbr heard any of them say they work short hours but earn tons one. Don't be fool. Those who tell ppl they work less and earn peanuts are those that had slogged for many years, or already started with silver spoons, so to speak, the achieve the managers or supervisors status, then have their supervisee "work" for them. No such things as easy job pay high high, again, unless you Paris Hilton, or son of Bruce Willies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 , no wonder he not so close with you. That's Y telling such things, or the least, paint such picture to you. Have you been or are you in the insurance industry by the way, just to see if its true? Cause it is not as glamorous and beautiful as what any freshy thought, or what those managers, supervisors made out to be. Its recruiting strategy just to recruit staffs. Not hiding anything, I was from AIA before. 4 months in there, seen enough liao. Maybe hang longer see more, but gets poorer. My good poly mate still in there. Hang around for closed to 10 yrs liao. My brother's friend in Prudential, quit to become corporate member many years back. Nbr heard any of them say they work short hours but earn tons one. Don't be fool. Those who tell ppl they work less and earn peanuts are those that had slogged for many years, or already started with silver spoons, so to speak, the achieve the managers or supervisors status, then have their supervisee "work" for them. No such things as easy job pay high high, again, unless you Paris Hilton, or son of Bruce Willies. You 4 mths he 15 yrs (I think) how to compare ? Sommore drive Benz stay condo, got another one for Investment, loves watcheszzz, got many paintings drape his wall all specially imported... the list goes on and yet he always at home by 7pm. OK, I estimated his salary @$20k bcz, to live this lifestyle low $10k cannot one... maybe he kena toto last time loh... He told me that in his company, the higher you go the less work you have and more time to entertain clients. mostly at golf clubs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 How many of you work irregular hours or have a spouse doing so? Like maybe you need to work weekends or late into the night. How do you balance your work comitments with quality time with your kids? Or what if you and your spouse have such different schedules you rarely see each other during the week? Leave on time, unless life or death issue If urgent, bring home and do only after family time, I.e after putting kids to bed and talking with spouse etc If not v urgent, at the most, go early tooffice next day to complete Remember, time once passed, cannot be retrieved. Treasure ur time with loved ones Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 Come to think of it, in the Olden days our parents slogged to make ends meet. Now we as parents slogged to clear sh1tloads of work and spending more than we earn. Yes I hate to say this, a. I bring my Laptop to ALL my vacations. b. I work when I'm on MC c. I work when I'm on leave. BUT I still leave office most of the time by 6pm. Sometime is wrong with me ?? I think for your a, b and c , you need to let go. Especially when you are sick and on personal leave. This body of ours needs to be re-charged once a while. It cannot go too long a distance. If machines can break down, same can happen for human bodies. Machines can be repaired but not human bodies for some cases. If you are sick and being advised by doctors to take medical leave and rest, please follow the doctor's advice and rest. Sometimes I find the words "Health is Wealth" very true. When you have rested your bodies well, it would function well for you. That would ensure you are able to work and bring food on the table and of course the dollars and cents (wealth) to the family. I say this not because I am some expert. I am not. But I have my challenges in terms of work demands (in a regional capacity) amidst the stress and pressure coming from almost everywhere. Got conference calls, late night works and crazy deadlines and bosses to meet their expectations. But I never neglect to have proper home cooked food, spend time with wife and family and weekly exercise. Cos if anything were to happen to me, my family would be the most affected. Certainly not our employers/bosses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 I think for your a, b and c , you need to let go. Especially when you are sick and on personal leave. This body of ours needs to be re-charged once a while. It cannot go too long a distance. If machines can break down, same can happen for human bodies. Machines can be repaired but not human bodies for some cases. If you are sick and being advised by doctors to take medical leave and rest, please follow the doctor's advice and rest. Sometimes I find the words "Health is Wealth" very true. When you have rested your bodies well, it would function well for you. That would ensure you are able to work and bring food on the table and of course the dollars and cents (wealth) to the family. I say this not because I am some expert. I am not. But I have my challenges in terms of work demands (in a regional capacity) amidst the stress and pressure coming from almost everywhere. Got conference calls, late night works and crazy deadlines and bosses to meet their expectations. But I never neglect to have proper home cooked food, spend time with wife and family and weekly exercise. Cos if anything were to happen to me, my family would be the most affected. Certainly not our employers/bosses. I agree with you. a. I was on vacation last year and due to the places my wife planned were remote with no internet connection, I only get to clear work on the 2nd last day into my holiday. 500++ emails. In these times, there is no relieve person to do your work when you are away. a 10 day vacation is good only for ... 10 days and I'd prefer to work off some tasks so I go back office not with SH1Tloads of work. Vacation always makes me more sick of my job when I return back to work... b. MC - not for Flu, fever but due to my long workhours in the last 20 yrs, I have work related neck, back, joint problems. I still prefer to work during my waking moments. I rarely get Flu and never fever. c. Sometimes I take leave to run errants and not to rest. since my children are schooling I will clear work when they are not home or when they are doing their homework. I've made changes to my office hours by trying quite successfully to leav by 6pm. I will kill my demons a, b and c in stages... Got to buy Toto... Frankly I hate conference calls and I rarely join. Once the people who always arrange con calls see your style, they will naturally omit your name. Most concalls go in circles and rarely solve problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 You 4 mths he 15 yrs (I think) how to compare ? Sommore drive Benz stay condo, got another one for Investment, loves watcheszzz, got many paintings drape his wall all specially imported... the list goes on and yet he always at home by 7pm. OK, I estimated his salary @$20k bcz, to live this lifestyle low $10k cannot one... maybe he kena toto last time loh... He told me that in his company, the higher you go the less work you have and more time to entertain clients. mostly at golf clubs. Its most likely his sidelines (or insurance is just his sideline) that is bringing in cash. Most agents with these lifestyles double up as housing/property too. Not unless heaven took pity, grant him one or two industrial insurance to start with. Its also the reason the industry regulator took action some yrs back to stop some unscrupulous agents from taking advantage of their client. Take their words and boasting with a pinch of salt. 15 yrs or not, no longer than Chen Ming Li, she also started not start from scratch, so no need to envy. Not being sore eyes here, those start from scratch and make it (within 15yrs or earlier) in the industry is only less than 5%. The majority dropped off because cannot sustain, even after numerous cold call processess and effort . There may be exception, but I am not aware, and so far, none in the industry dare says they are the one, with reasonable proof they really start from the floor up, so to speak. In such "relak" industries, one better start off with some form of back up to really make it later. That's my advice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Floweradvisor Clutched September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 How many of you work irregular hours or have a spouse doing so? Like maybe you need to work weekends or late into the night. How do you balance your work comitments with quality time with your kids? Or what if you and your spouse have such different schedules you rarely see each other during the week? Communication is the best way. Try to communicate through text message or phone and whenever u have free time, spend it with ur spouse. A little bit surprise can also bring a spark to a relationship. For example, surprise ur spouse in his office to have lunch together. But make sure your souse doesn't have a busy day or meeting when u are ready to go he. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear September 3, 2010 Share September 3, 2010 being a real estate agent is not bad....i had a prospect wanting to sell a condo at gillian heights before....and also had an agent wanting to co-broke....but of course real estate is not my career...though i could do it part time ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...