Tricor Neutral Newbie September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 I have a passport which is valid for 4 months and I need to travel to JB this weekend. Will I get into trouble entering or leaving Singapore or Malaysia custom? I don't understand why passport need to be valid for 6 months cause our new passport is only valid for up to 5 years. So minus off the 6 months, this mean our passport is usable for 4 1/2 years. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 I have a passport which is valid for 4 months and I need to travel to JB this weekend. Will I get into trouble entering or leaving Singapore or Malaysia custom? I don't understand why passport need to be valid for 6 months cause our new passport is only valid for up to 5 years. So minus off the 6 months, this mean our passport is usable for 4 1/2 years. Bro, FYI if u renew ur passport with balance, they will bring forward to ur new one....just did my last month... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 The 6 month is to cater for your longer stay...just in case, u kana lock up...haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 The 6 month is to cater for your longer stay...just in case, u kana lock up...haha I doubt you can tell the judge that your passport expires in 1yr, therefore a 2 years sentence cannot be given. lol! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Ya, you know the rules as well, so why bother asking? Just go and renew the passport la.. P.S. If you want to try your luck, do take note it is the Malaysian customs that will give you problems. That is IF you get through Singapore customs in the first place. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 not a big issue i renewed my passport with 3 months left and have been going in / out msia with less then 4 mths validity (this is when i not yet get my new pp)... the sg custom will remind u to renew it, if the C officer is kind enough i got reminders from quite a few C officers that its expiring and they asked me to renew it... at least u need 1 month validity to go msia cos they only allow u to stay not more than one month.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 (edited) I have a passport which is valid for 4 months and I need to travel to JB this weekend. Will I get into trouble entering or leaving Singapore or Malaysia custom? I don't understand why passport need to be valid for 6 months cause our new passport is only valid for up to 5 years. So minus off the 6 months, this mean our passport is usable for 4 1/2 years. It is the rule everywhere in the world that requires you to have a minimum of 6 months validity in your passport. If you travel overseas, the onus is on the airline ticketing staff to ensure that you have a valid travel document otherwise you can be turned back and the carrier have to fly you back to Sg in their expenses. Well, going to JB should be ok, I guess, depending on the immigration officers on both side. Of course, they have every right to turn you back but it is not an issue due to the proximity. Imagine landing in Europe after a 14-hour flight and immediately another 14-hour flight to turn back due if they want to be sticky with the rule there. So, please safeguard yourself. For those who renew their passport with a balance of 6 months in their old passport, usually they will carry forward it to the new passport. not a big issue i renewed my passport with 3 months left and have been going in / out msia with less then 4 mths validity (this is when i not yet get my new pp)... the sg custom will remind u to renew it, if the C officer is kind enough i got reminders from quite a few C officers that its expiring and they asked me to renew it... at least u need 1 month validity to go msia cos they only allow u to stay not more than one month.. Just because they have been kind enough to let you into Malaysia with less than 6 months validity does not mean that it is legally alright. If they decide to stick to the rule, they can always bar you from entering the country. Edited September 1, 2010 by Redstorm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 I thought Immigration will send you a reminder to apply for a new passport even 6 months before the due date? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 I thought Immigration will send you a reminder to apply for a new passport even 6 months before the due date? I caught myself with expired passport, too. Luckily that was a fortnight before the trip Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMsmallcar 4th Gear September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 bro, i kana before less than 6 mth on my passport. Malaysia side will not let u enter and pls do not enter if they say can "settle" bcos when coming out u will get it from them again and this time bigger "settle". They will ask u to get down from your car to escort u to the departure side if u are a passager> if driver, u will ask to turn back. Dun risk lor, as I was caught in 2 hrs jam and forced to turn back. haiz. A lesson learnt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hokuto Neutral Newbie September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 I am a immigration specialist,yes by right is 6 mths,that applies to foreign passport.For singapore passport u will need at least more than 1 mth validity to travel to malaysia or other country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 borrow this thread....i juz applied for passport... and i juz called up ICA and was told..it is pending... any idea..y it is pending..? i have paid the money..and sent the photo..online Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 borrow this thread....i juz applied for passport... and i juz called up ICA and was told..it is pending... any idea..y it is pending..? i have paid the money..and sent the photo..online Renew your passport during off peak season. Now is SCHOOL HOLIDAY Bro. What you expect? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 borrow this thread....i juz applied for passport... and i juz called up ICA and was told..it is pending... any idea..y it is pending..? i have paid the money..and sent the photo..online check if you got any cases... wanted anot... use other passports before anot... aiyo so many reasons for pending mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laksaboi Neutral Newbie September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 best is to constantly check when will ur passport expiried, so wont be caught in a jam when going holiday or oversea Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear September 2, 2010 Share September 2, 2010 (edited) I am a immigration specialist,yes by right is 6 mths,that applies to foreign passport.For singapore passport u will need at least more than 1 mth validity to travel to malaysia or other country. One month validity is definitely too short, lah. I don't think foreign countries will accept a passport with a balance of 1 month of validity. Things can happen when you are overseas and if due to unforseen circumstances you need to extend to more than a month, then you are stuck especially if there is no Singapore Embassy in that country. I am very sure it is not one month but 6 month and it applies not only to Singapore but also internationally. Edited September 2, 2010 by Redstorm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hokuto Neutral Newbie February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 sorry,my mistake to foreign counties at least 6 mths validty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged February 2, 2015 Share February 2, 2015 I thought Immigration will send you a reminder to apply for a new passport even 6 months before the due date? old thread ... I just received a reminder to renew my passport as it will be expiring Oct 2015. however, I do not have any intention of travelling overseas for the next two years. will there be any documentation or fees diff if I renew it now or make a new application/renewal by end 2016 ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...