Joseph22 Turbocharged September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Not that I think they should AWOL but some of these AWOL really got good reasons eg feed family, only breadwinner. I would believe most commanders are sympathetic to their situation and will do what they can within their powers to "close one eye" but the thing is that these commanders must know the real situation and there must be a 2-way communication between them. Sadly, a lot of such cases may be the hokkien peng kind (at least our time in the 70s to early 90s. now no more liao) and communication to their commanders may be the last thing to be considered. They are the kind: do first and hope don't get caught. I pity those doing NS in those period. Gahmen dont do proper check and help them. my time already improved. A few of my camp mate doing part time outside with camp approval. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 (edited) Just look at what the PR get and what the citizens which need to serve NS get? They get almost the same things minus the commitments we need to give to our country. HDB meant to be an entitlement to citizens now because of those PRs being able to buy public housing , we get our housing to become so ridiculously expensive. Is this country really worth our efforts? Many earning lower incomes aren't even able to afford to buy flats without taking 30 year loans. Where did the word affordable housing go to ? More like a 30 year jail term to me. Think hard , those PRs after making their monies sell their property after pushing them to such high prices would just sell their "flats" and go back to their own countries rich , while the Singaporean have to slog and still serve ns ? While these PRs work straight after uni at 21 , headstart 2 year nvm , still got 2 weeks reservist coupled with RTs if one doesn't pass his IPPT. For all those effort from the citizens what entitlement do we as citizens have? I think being a PR is so much better. Vote wisely. Our voices aren't heard coz it is a one party full of yes man. BTW where is the succession planning for the 3rd gen Singaporeans to take over should something happens to LHL. Non .. Future is bleak. VOTE wisely Edited September 1, 2010 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Just look at what the PR get and what the citizens which need to serve NS get? They get almost the same things minus the commitments we need to give to our country. HDB meant to be an entitlement to citizens now because of those PRs being able to buy public housing , we get our housing to become so ridiculously expensive. Is this country really worth our efforts? Many earning lower incomes aren't even able to afford to buy flats without taking 30 year loans. Where did the word affordable housing go to ? More like a 30 year jail term to me. Think hard , those PRs after making their monies sell their property after pushing them to such high prices would just sell their "flats" and go back to their own countries rich , while the Singaporean have to slog and still serve ns ? While these PRs work straight after uni at 21 , headstart 2 year nvm , still got 2 weeks reservist coupled with RTs if one doesn't pass his IPPT. For all those effort from the citizens what entitlement do we as citizens have? I think being a PR is so much better. Vote wisely. Our voices aren't heard coz it is a one party full of yes man. BTW where is the succession planning for the 3rd gen Singaporeans to take over should something happens to LHL. Non .. Future is bleak. VOTE wisely 1) you can choose to emigrate elsewhere and come back as a PR 2) i think it is unfair to push all the blame to PR, especially for housing... there must always be a willing buyer and seller... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 (edited) Me ? I did think about it . Once my parents are gone i might consider. Not that i didn't serve my time in NS but i think the treatment isn't right. As for being unfair , are those people in power being fair to those first time owners? Imagine they want us to have kids , but burden us with high home prices , even places in jurong and seng kang also not cheap. So how to have kids when the upkeep of kids is so high coupled with high home prices , i seriously doubt a family income of 5k would be sufficient. Edited September 1, 2010 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Me ? I did think about it . Once my parents are gone i might consider. Not that i didn't serve my time in NS but i think the treatment isn't right. As for being unfair , are those people in power being fair to those first time owners? Imagine they want us to have kids , but burden us with high home prices , even places in jurong and seng kang also not cheap. So how to have kids when the upkeep of kids is so high coupled with high home prices , i seriously doubt a family income of 5k would be sufficient. not just that. they want us to have 3 kids but only give us 3 bedroom and the size of the house continue to become smaller and yet more expensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Just look at what the PR get and what the citizens which need to serve NS get? They get almost the same things minus the commitments we need to give to our country. HDB meant to be an entitlement to citizens now because of those PRs being able to buy public housing , we get our housing to become so ridiculously expensive. Is this country really worth our efforts? Many earning lower incomes aren't even able to afford to buy flats without taking 30 year loans. Where did the word affordable housing go to ? More like a 30 year jail term to me. Think hard , those PRs after making their monies sell their property after pushing them to such high prices would just sell their "flats" and go back to their own countries rich , while the Singaporean have to slog and still serve ns ? While these PRs work straight after uni at 21 , headstart 2 year nvm , still got 2 weeks reservist coupled with RTs if one doesn't pass his IPPT. For all those effort from the citizens what entitlement do we as citizens have? I think being a PR is so much better. Vote wisely. Our voices aren't heard coz it is a one party full of yes man. BTW where is the succession planning for the 3rd gen Singaporeans to take over should something happens to LHL. Non .. Future is bleak. VOTE wisely You from which opp party? We are talking about evading NS, and here you go babbling about PR vs citizens. Damn sian to see every single thread got messed up and clouded by the anti-PAP people. No doubt the policies aren't right, but this is our country, and to serve 2 years in NS is an obligation of every Singaporean whether you like it or not. Even if the FT or PR goes hiding in event of war, or even PAP, if Singaporeans dun protect their own motherland, then who will? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Me ? I did think about it . Once my parents are gone i might consider. Not that i didn't serve my time in NS but i think the treatment isn't right. Byebye, u won't be missed. Taking up arms to protect the nation is patriotic duty. It's similar in nature to filial piety. If your parents give u bicycle, while other parents give their kid BMW, will u disown your parents and go and call other people's dad as your own? PRs are just like a close family friend. Will u depend on a family friend to feed and protect your house and your parents? Feeding and protecting your own house n parents is a "burden" people willingly take on. Similarly, protecting the nation by serving NS, is the "burden" all of us patriots will take on willingly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nose85 Neutral Newbie September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 You from which opp party? We are talking about evading NS, and here you go babbling about PR vs citizens. Damn sian to see every single thread got messed up and clouded by the anti-PAP people. No doubt the policies aren't right, but this is our country, and to serve 2 years in NS is an obligation of every Singaporean whether you like it or not. Even if the FT or PR goes hiding in event of war, or even PAP, if Singaporeans dun protect their own motherland, then who will? my dog will call bobo he will bark at you if you try to invade singapore (my home that is) he will bite off your b o l a if you try and steal singapore (his favour toy - mr bean) he will tear you apart until you become de-virginised if you try to sneak into singapore (if you accidentally touch his a r s e) good luck to you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 (edited) You from which opp party? We are talking about evading NS, and here you go babbling about PR vs citizens. Damn sian to see every single thread got messed up and clouded by the anti-PAP people. No doubt the policies aren't right, but this is our country, and to serve 2 years in NS is an obligation of every Singaporean whether you like it or not. Even if the FT or PR goes hiding in event of war, or even PAP, if Singaporeans dun protect their own motherland, then who will? I'm not but i grew in the area where opp party is in power. Tell you the truth , they can do a better job in looking into the needs of their people they are serving than what the ruling party can do. For me , I'm pretty sure i was talking about evading NS and what commitment we as Singaporeans has to put ourselves in. Yes , i have never intended to run should something goes bad. I'm merely citing how the country are treating the ones who are obligated to serve ns while the treat they give to us doesn't equate . As you said an OBLIGATION , for this OBLIGATION what are we entitled to ? Damn sian ? You from PAP ? Tell me lor , what are the plans for Singapore in 20 years time? Edited September 1, 2010 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 for this OBLIGATION what are we entitled to ? for this obligation, we get to carry the pink IC and red passport proudly. We get to cherish memories of growing up in this hot humid little island, speaking Singlish to one another, building our lives together, living together. Not worth it? Then i feel very sad if u feel so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nose85 Neutral Newbie September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 I'm not but i grew in the area where opp party is in power. Tell you the truth , they can do a better job in looking into the needs of their people they are serving than what the ruling party can do. For me , I'm pretty sure i was talking about evading NS and what commitment we as Singaporeans has to put ourselves in. Yes , i have never intended to run should something goes bad. I'm merely citing how the country are treating the ones who are obligated to serve ns while the treat they give to us doesn't equate . As you said an OBLIGATION , for this OBLIGATION what are we entitled to ? Damn sian ? You from PAP ? Tell me lor , what are the plans for Singapore in 20 years time? in my case i am training my dog, bobo in 5 years to be a guard dog (guardsman equivalent) in 10 years a marksdog (sniper equivalent) in 15 years a commadog (commando equivalent) in 20 years a lau kau ) (lau peng equivalent) this is my 20 year s plant after that dont ask me i really never thought of it yet bobo wants to be a RSM encik because he likes baring the hell of everybody but i asked and discuss with him that being an officer is more kilat he agrees but he still like to think that RSM is that the BIGGEST BOSS OF the NCOs but an officer may be just the bottom or mid level only so any advice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 I'm not but i grew in the area where opp party is in power. Tell you the truth , they can do a better job in looking into the needs of their people they are serving than what the ruling party can do. For me , I'm pretty sure i was talking about evading NS and what commitment we as Singaporeans has to put ourselves in. Yes , i have never intended to run should something goes bad. I'm merely citing how the country are treating the ones who are obligated to serve ns while the treat they give to us doesn't equate . As you said an OBLIGATION , for this OBLIGATION what are we entitled to ? Damn sian ? You from PAP ? Tell me lor , what are the plans for Singapore in 20 years time? As I said before, I dun like PAP policies also. So, definitely not from PAP. Let's just stick to the main pt of the topic and not stray elsewhere. It's just frustrating to see every single thread clouded by PAP and stuff. Even for YOG. Maybe it's something Singaporeans are best at: complain and complain and complain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 (edited) Byebye, u won't be missed. Taking up arms to protect the nation is patriotic duty. It's similar in nature to filial piety. If your parents give u bicycle, while other parents give their kid BMW, will u disown your parents and go and call other people's dad as your own? PRs are just like a close family friend. Will u depend on a family friend to feed and protect your house and your parents? Feeding and protecting your own house n parents is a "burden" people willingly take on. Similarly, protecting the nation by serving NS, is the "burden" all of us patriots will take on willingly. Taking arms to protect ? Do you know how inadequately trained we are? Do you think the NS training is sufficient ? Comparing it to Israel's training , our training is just a kid's game. Want to protect also must see got capability or not. Seriously , i won't call others dad but the point is , of course i know Singapore is my family and home, of course i will stay and protect. Now a simple question should something happens to your family do you think your friend(PRs) will come over to help you ? Many i know would just take their bags and run since they have already gotten what they need. While your friend eats and sleeps and takes everything for granted in your home and expects you to protect him while he is in your home. But when things becomes bad , they just pack up and leave. So let me ask you for this kind of friend , by giving him the same entitlement as you had with a family member. So is that fair for those other family members which needs to stay behind? Edited September 1, 2010 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 (edited) for this obligation, we get to carry the pink IC and red passport proudly. We get to cherish memories of growing up in this hot humid little island, speaking Singlish to one another, building our lives together, living together. Not worth it? Then i feel very sad if u feel so. I didn't say so though , i'm proud to be a Singaporean for all that it has given me but to enforce NS? Of course if it is a need i would go. But if one has "valid" reasons and isn't jumping bail. If one is a breadwinner and cannot feed the family , how to serve the country when the family is gone ? In your reference is you are supposed to protect your family if you go "serve" ns , who is to protect and feed your family ? If one cannot do NS must be jailed ? So what is the difference between a PR studying here since he is 6 all the way to 21 then goes to work and becomes a "citizen" he skips the "NS" part. While the other which had the same childhood gets jail for skipping NS. Fair? Edited September 1, 2010 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Taking arms to protect ? Do you know how inadequately trained we are? Do you think the NS training is sufficient ? Comparing it to Israel's training , our training is just a kid's game. Want to protect also must see got capability or not. Seriously , i won't call others dad but the point is , of course i know Singapore is my family and home, of course i will stay and protect. Now a simple question should something happens to your family do you think your friend(PRs) will come over to help you ? Many i know would just take their bags and run since they have already gotten what they need. While your friend eats and sleeps and takes everything for granted in your home and expects you to protect him while he is in your home. But when things becomes bad , they just pack up and leave. So let me ask you for this kind of friend , by giving him the same entitlement as you had with a family member. So is that fair for those other family members which needs to stay behind? I have no comments about the PAP policies on the PR and FT, and this is definitely one of the talking points. But with or without PR or FT, will you still protect Singapore in times of war? So even if Singapore got the lousiest guns, compared to the opposition, will you take up arms? Even if we are inadequately trained, will you fight the war? If answer is no, I say bye bye to you too. I think some of our PR or FT might be more loyal than you. In WW2, some of the people that fought for us are as young as 16-18 years old. You think they got the knowledge or expertise how to fight? Dun believe me, pls go visit the Kranji War Memorial. Many more examples there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 (edited) I didn't say so though , i'm proud to be a Singaporean for all that it has given me but to enforce NS? Of course if it is a need i would go. But if one has "valid" reasons and isn't jumping bail. If one is a breadwinner and cannot feed the family , how to serve the country when the family is gone ? In your reference is you are supposed to protect your family if you go "serve" ns , who is to protect and feed your family ? If one cannot do NS must be jailed ? So what is the difference between a PR studying here since he is 6 all the way to 21 then goes to work and becomes a "citizen" he skips the "NS" part. While the other which had the same childhood gets jail for skipping NS. Fair? You are grossly mistaken to think that a 6 year old can be granted a first generation PR. All minor PRs are 2nd generation PRs which are obligated to do NS. Whether they go all the way to evade or not that's another story but the fact is that the system is they to make them serve NS. Also, you cannot compare Israel NS with SG NS because the level of threat is way different. Edited September 1, 2010 by Tjkbeluga Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 (edited) You are grossly mistaken to think that a 6 year old can be granted a first generation PR. All minor PRs are 2nd generation PRs which are obligated to do NS. Whether they go all the way to evade or not that's another story but the fact is that the system is they to make them serve NS. Also, you cannot compare Israel NS with SG NS because the level of threat is way different. Dude i have a classmate from MY which took sec and poly with me. Didn't need to serve ns and and went straight to uni. Work 3 years for his PR and subsequently his citizenship. Plenty from CN and IN also doing this i think now. Don't tell me cannot. Edited September 1, 2010 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 As I said before, I dun like PAP policies also. So, definitely not from PAP. Let's just stick to the main pt of the topic and not stray elsewhere. It's just frustrating to see every single thread clouded by PAP and stuff. Even for YOG. Maybe it's something Singaporeans are best at: complain and complain and complain. Yes, we can only complain and complain... Why>? Cos thats wad we can only do Wad else? Stage rally, stage protest??? We can't ...We are left to suck our own thumbs... U may say write to authorities... But have u feel so F up when they keep pushing the responsibilities here and there???? Now, i dun even bother wad they say or do. Don't give a damn anymore. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...