Picanto 3rd Gear August 28, 2010 Share August 28, 2010 Try not to buy a COE car unless you are paying for it in full. a COE car (unless it is a sports car) is generally worthless except for Paper which is only COE. If you borrow to buy a car like that, you not only pay higher interest, you hold higher risk. The whole equation generally works against you. ya.....but some people just dun have the cash, yet want a car what to do? take a loan lor............ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear August 28, 2010 Share August 28, 2010 Intend to buy a pre-own car which is registered in 2000 Nov. Owner has already renewed the COE last yr till 2019. Understood that banks don't really finance COE cars. In this situation, anyone has any reccomendations on where I should approach to get a loan if I would like to proceed with the purchase. THanks alot in advance Hope you not buying a brand/model with the manufacturer already closed down (can be your next big problem) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjy Neutral Newbie August 28, 2010 Author Share August 28, 2010 ya.....but some people just dun have the cash, yet want a car what to do? take a loan lor............ bro, i believe you are putting a very general statement in here... to be serious, some COE cars are in fact priced higher than most PARF vehicles. that is because we are willing to pay a premium for some of these cars. i was in fact considering an audi a4 b7series, and e46.. but at the end of the day, being a bmw e36, z3 owner in the past. An audi a4b7 is in the range of 70k to 80k for a 2005 registered vehicle, and a e46 COE is in the range of 55k . Pricings of such cars can in fact be compared to some Brand new Jap/ korean cars.. if u were to ask me to come out 55k cash to purchase a car, i would not even consider. i will definately be looking at loan options and put the rest of the money into proper usage for investments. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 28, 2010 Share August 28, 2010 whoever said non-coupes/sports cars are not attractive, even under COE car category??? i would say the 90's Corolla is still rather popular....especially for cheap car buyers.... haha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 29, 2010 Share August 29, 2010 bro, i believe you are putting a very general statement in here... to be serious, some COE cars are in fact priced higher than most PARF vehicles. that is because we are willing to pay a premium for some of these cars. i was in fact considering an audi a4 b7series, and e46.. but at the end of the day, being a bmw e36, z3 owner in the past. An audi a4b7 is in the range of 70k to 80k for a 2005 registered vehicle, and a e46 COE is in the range of 55k . Pricings of such cars can in fact be compared to some Brand new Jap/ korean cars.. if u were to ask me to come out 55k cash to purchase a car, i would not even consider. i will definately be looking at loan options and put the rest of the money into proper usage for investments. put $ into investment? easy to say but not easy to make $$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear August 29, 2010 Share August 29, 2010 put $ into investment? easy to say but not easy to make $$. u stoopig don't know how to do it does not mean others don't know how it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 29, 2010 Share August 29, 2010 ya.....but some people just dun have the cash, yet want a car what to do? take a loan lor............ dont have cash yet want car? then something may have to give in that process. cant have your cake and eat it be careful that it is not something more valuable than the car itself. I know too many who bought cars and found themselves impossible to get rid of the cars becos they would have to lose big time. in the end, they continue to throw money into financing the car becos that is the only way they can survive. yet, they feel so painful driving becos, ERP, parking, petrol etc have all gone up over the years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjy Neutral Newbie August 29, 2010 Author Share August 29, 2010 put $ into investment? easy to say but not easy to make $$. i believe this statement might seriously apply to u ? investments does not equates to 100% guranteed returns, but with proper investments done, i believe that this sum of money should appreciate. and in fact, appreciation might be more than the 1.99% interest rate for car loan. if this is the case, wouldn't it be better to be investing? and honestly, as i am in the real estate investment line, out of 10 smart investors, all 10 will take loan to financce their investments, although they have the cash to fully pay for it.. reason ? use your brain and think... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 29, 2010 Share August 29, 2010 if one just buys a car for the sake of buying.... knowing that he can't afford the expenses of the car.... yet still wants a car as a status symbol.... good luck!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 29, 2010 Share August 29, 2010 but there are always people who need the car for sales transport.... yet the company or salary make owning a car tight on expenses.... so in a sense, it's better to take a loan right??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 29, 2010 Share August 29, 2010 the case of needing to top up a lot of money to clear the bank loan on the car, isn't that the same thing that happened in Money No Enough??? Jack Ne@ had to sell hish BMW 7-Series with top up just to get rid of the car ain't it??? that's the problem with COE lor.... but then again, there're always opportunists in buying cars.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 29, 2010 Share August 29, 2010 i believe this statement might seriously apply to u ? investments does not equates to 100% guranteed returns, but with proper investments done, i believe that this sum of money should appreciate. and in fact, appreciation might be more than the 1.99% interest rate for car loan. if this is the case, wouldn't it be better to be investing? and honestly, as i am in the real estate investment line, out of 10 smart investors, all 10 will take loan to financce their investments, although they have the cash to fully pay for it.. reason ? use your brain and think... wow, which property did you develop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 29, 2010 Share August 29, 2010 u stoopig don't know how to do it does not mean others don't know how it you siao bo....i pay 400k for my maserati in cash. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 29, 2010 Share August 29, 2010 dont have cash yet want car? then something may have to give in that process. cant have your cake and eat it be careful that it is not something more valuable than the car itself. I know too many who bought cars and found themselves impossible to get rid of the cars becos they would have to lose big time. in the end, they continue to throw money into financing the car becos that is the only way they can survive. yet, they feel so painful driving becos, ERP, parking, petrol etc have all gone up over the years. thats where the in house finance from dealers come in. they are willing to lend to those who earn less than 30k a year Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 29, 2010 Share August 29, 2010 i believe this statement might seriously apply to u ? investments does not equates to 100% guranteed returns, but with proper investments done, i believe that this sum of money should appreciate. and in fact, appreciation might be more than the 1.99% interest rate for car loan. if this is the case, wouldn't it be better to be investing? and honestly, as i am in the real estate investment line, out of 10 smart investors, all 10 will take loan to financce their investments, although they have the cash to fully pay for it.. reason ? use your brain and think... i have make lots of $$ from investing. can't speak the same for others Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear August 29, 2010 Share August 29, 2010 you siao bo....i pay 400k for my maserati in cash. clap clap clap ............. I belief u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 29, 2010 Share August 29, 2010 why not man??? you mean you expect us to believe one another here??? Lol.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 29, 2010 Share August 29, 2010 you siao bo....i pay 400k for my maserati in cash. Cool but since when you bot a Maserati? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...