Ahtong 1st Gear August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 I know we must be respectful of others' beliefs but people should also be considerate when practising their customs. Every year, I know it is the start, middle and end of 7th month by the epic amount of smoke and ash in the air. Worse still, every patch of grass have those red incense sticks bordering them. To my knowledge, even Tiong Kok never practice 7th month anymore. Isn't there a more civic minded way of doing things? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 I know we must be respectful of others' beliefs but people should also be considerate when practising their customs. Every year, I know it is the start, middle and end of 7th month by the epic amount of smoke and ash in the air. Worse still, every patch of grass have those red incense sticks bordering them. To my knowledge, even Tiong Kok never practice 7th month anymore. Isn't there a more civic minded way of doing things? TBF, Tiong Kok during the great rebellion and bid to better control their citizen. Abolish all religions that is why they did not follow the practice anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 Don't think China is a good example...cos they have technically no religion, especially during the early part of communism. I do agree that people should be more considerate and more mindful of fire safety. There were lots of unburned paper all over the streets and burned patches of turf in my estate. But again, maybe those who chose to doing their offerings on places other than the drum provided by TC, may have a very valid reason for doing so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 TBF, Tiong Kok during the great rebellion and bid to better control their citizen. Abolish all religions that is why they did not follow the practice anymore. it's the Cultural Revolution... but to suppress and abolish all religions also caused all the good values and traditions to vanish... that's why there's this missing ethic in business and other areas in life for a certain one or two generations of chinese born during that era Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knht Neutral Newbie August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 TBF, Tiong Kok during the great rebellion and bid to better control their citizen. Abolish all religions that is why they did not follow the practice anymore. the great Cultural Revolution............. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 I know we must be respectful of others' beliefs but people should also be considerate when practising their customs. Every year, I know it is the start, middle and end of 7th month by the epic amount of smoke and ash in the air. Worse still, every patch of grass have those red incense sticks bordering them. To my knowledge, even Tiong Kok never practice 7th month anymore. Isn't there a more civic minded way of doing things? More civic minded way of doing things in regard to Sinkie? Yesterday there are groups of such ppl BBQ a big fires near many petrol stations. Civic minded? Sinkie don't give a damn about blowing everyone and everything up except themselves and their beliefs. All Sinkie care are...their MONEY, their HDB and their cars! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear August 25, 2010 Author Share August 25, 2010 TBF, Tiong Kok during the great rebellion and bid to better control their citizen. Abolish all religions that is why they did not follow the practice anymore. Can you imagine 1 billion Tiongs burning hell money at the same time? The whole Asia-Pac region will be smothered in smog. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Versatile 1st Gear August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 TS cfm jia ga wan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear August 25, 2010 Author Share August 25, 2010 TS cfm jia ga wan. Translation please? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 it's the Cultural Revolution... but to suppress and abolish all religions also caused all the good values and traditions to vanish... that's why there's this missing ethic in business and other areas in life for a certain one or two generations of chinese born during that era And the best thing about it is...... no worries about religious tension, no need to have religious tolerance or harmony in the society. Religion by itself is the root of many evil, coz religion is good. And if good exist, then evil will too. Good is the root of evil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 Can u also imagine how happy the hungry ghost will be? if every person in china burn 1 hell note, the ghost will be damn blardy rich! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear August 25, 2010 Author Share August 25, 2010 Can u also imagine how happy the hungry ghost will be? if every person in china burn 1 hell note, the ghost will be damn blardy rich! On the contrary, hell will have epic hyperinflation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 I know we must be respectful of others' beliefs but people should also be considerate when practising their customs. Every year, I know it is the start, middle and end of 7th month by the epic amount of smoke and ash in the air. Worse still, every patch of grass have those red incense sticks bordering them. To my knowledge, even Tiong Kok never practice 7th month anymore. Isn't there a more civic minded way of doing things? A bit hard lah.... coz real estate is at a premium so there's only that much open space availlable for the offerings and such..... Some more one block already how many hundred units times the no. of blocks per estate and all fighting for the same patch of open space.... Maybe NEA can hire bangla during 1st and 15th of the 7th month to standby at nite during those popular timeslots and help clear the stuff as each family completes their prayer.... maciam like the same concept during Qing Ming when families flock to LCK or Mandai.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruby_tan Neutral Newbie August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 means he thinks you christian.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 I know we must be respectful of others' beliefs but people should also be considerate when practising their customs. Every year, I know it is the start, middle and end of 7th month by the epic amount of smoke and ash in the air. Worse still, every patch of grass have those red incense sticks bordering them. To my knowledge, even Tiong Kok never practice 7th month anymore. Isn't there a more civic minded way of doing things? All kinds of people with all kinds of opinions around. Some/many do not know if there are right or wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yellowrx8 Clutched August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 I used to be like u. Dun believe a damm s--t. Until 1 day, i saw "it".... Then, there's the start of the burning... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 I know we must be respectful of others' beliefs but people should also be considerate when practising their customs. Every year, I know it is the start, middle and end of 7th month by the epic amount of smoke and ash in the air. Worse still, every patch of grass have those red incense sticks bordering them. To my knowledge, even Tiong Kok never practice 7th month anymore. Isn't there a more civic minded way of doing things? Hmm... can this be the productivity boost they got without the smoke/haze? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 And the best thing about it is...... no worries about religious tension, no need to have religious tolerance or harmony in the society. Religion by itself is the root of many evil, coz religion is good. And if good exist, then evil will too. Good is the root of evil. Like that those businesses dealing with religions go bust soon ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...