Must Display Road Tax?

Leok777

I have never been asked about my road tax disc, even when stopped by TP. It was also hidden by my dark tint and hardly visible from outside on my previous ride. Until recently.....

for bros who go in/out of JI everyday should know that, after the aetos security checked your boot, usually they will give u the thumps up or wave u to go off.

But one fine morning, really early, about 5.20am, as i was entering JI, this aetos guy checked my boot but instead of waving me off, took his time to walk around my car to the front windscreen and stared hard. Then he gestured to me to wind down my front pax window.

"Where is your road tax?" His hand making a circle sign.

I pointed to the "hidden" road tax disc. "any problem?"

He replied "oh, cannot see it from the outside"

"Brother, TP also dun check my road tax, why you need to check? Your job issit?"

He grinned nervously and waved me off.

I purposely drove very slowly to see whether he repeated the same thing with the next. He waved it off after closing the boot... wtf.

Now, after change to a new car, I dun even bother to display it. Just put it somewhere in the car compartment to show when needed.

I have never been asked about my road tax disc, even when stopped by TP. It was also hidden by my dark tint and hardly visible from outside on my previous ride. Until recently.....

for bros who go in/out of JI everyday should know that, after the aetos security checked your boot, usually they will give u the thumps up or wave u to go off.

But one fine morning, really early, about 5.20am, as i was entering JI, this aetos guy checked my boot but instead of waving me off, took his time to walk around my car to the front windscreen and stared hard. Then he gestured to me to wind down my front pax window.

"Where is your road tax?" His hand making a circle sign.

I pointed to the "hidden" road tax disc. "any problem?"

He replied "oh, cannot see it from the outside"

"Brother, TP also dun check my road tax, why you need to check? Your job issit?"

He grinned nervously and waved me off.

I purposely drove very slowly to see whether he repeated the same thing with the next. He waved it off after closing the boot... wtf.

Now, after change to a new car, I dun even bother to display it. Just put it somewhere in the car compartment to show when needed.

Good luck to you.

i always display.. to prevent unnecessary questioning.. sometimes from this kinda nosey farkers who think they are doing their job to be nosey..

ever once 2 yrs back, a guy in his late 20s or early 30s, driving a black E-class parked in front of me.. He was waiting for his friend, so was I..

He walked around his car.. then came to my car.. took a look at my road tax disc (expired - I was waiting for LTA to send me the updated disc after I paid online).. I was sitting in the driver seat.

This nosey guy, walked to my window, knocked on the window, gestured for me to wind down.. took out his pass (oh from singapore police force).. told me he's from spf.. then questioned me why I didnt pay road tax, or I didnt display the renewed road tax disc.. I told him he could check with LTA.. and that I was waiting for LTA to send me the renewed disc.

He remained silent for a while.. said oh ok.. Then before he walked off.. added, make sure u display when u receive the new disc!

KNN! farking nosey.. so spf talks to people like that? Warning me? I just wound up my window..

i always display.. to prevent unnecessary questioning.. sometimes from this kinda nosey farkers who think they are doing their job to be nosey..

ever once 2 yrs back, a guy in his late 20s or early 30s, driving a black E-class parked in front of me.. He was waiting for his friend, so was I..

He walked around his car.. then came to my car.. took a look at my road tax disc (expired - I was waiting for LTA to send me the updated disc after I paid online).. I was sitting in the driver seat.

This nosey guy, walked to my window, knocked on the window, gestured for me to wind down.. took out his pass (oh from singapore police force).. told me he's from spf.. then questioned me why I didnt pay road tax, or I didnt display the renewed road tax disc.. I told him he could check with LTA.. and that I was waiting for LTA to send me the renewed disc.

He remained silent for a while.. said oh ok.. Then before he walked off.. added, make sure u display when u receive the new disc!

KNN! farking nosey.. so spf talks to people like that? Warning me? I just wound up my window..

Next time ask him for his warrant card. Security pass is not a valid form of identification to the public :D

You never ask for his number and division, saying that you wish to "commend" him to the divisional commander or CP for his vigilance....He might receive a nice "earful" somewhere some time later.

Edited by Yuan

Next time ask him for his warrant card. Security pass is not a valid form of identification to the public :D

Precisely. As he is in plainclothes, lagi justifiable to ask for warrant card, failing which call 999 to arrest this fella for impersonating police officer.

mata so free to kaypoh this kinda things? go and disturb those who vandalise cars or kill dogs lah.... only know how to disturb tax-paying law abiding sgporeans....

You never ask for his number and division, saying that you wish to "commend" him to the divisional commander or CP for his vigilance....He might receive a nice "earful" somewhere some time later.

I nvr really bothered much actually.. was getting impatient waiting for my friend.. and took talking to him as letting time pass faster..

mata so free to kaypoh this kinda things? go and disturb those who vandalise cars or kill dogs lah.... only know how to disturb tax-paying law abiding sgporeans....

Yeah man.. too free! maybe he got impatient waiting for his friend too.. go around finding faults with people..

What so difficult just to display road tax?It's a must to display road tax within 14 days upon recieving.

It is difficult to display the road tax,but it looks very ugly.