Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 aiyah.... you're in a different league from TS lah.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 A matter of principals that I don't like to buy car with high consumption that is all. then can look at hybrids or those direct-injection turbo'ed ones... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 the same E250 coupe i was eying had a price difference of about $40k as compared to C&C. can you pm me your dealer? he may close a deal with me this weekend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 PI's may get their cars from Japan, Australia, UK, etc.... besides Germany mind you.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 Forget the OMV etc bro. Buying a car is as simple as choosing within your budget, and getting a car that you think is worth what you're paying for. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PDK Neutral Newbie August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 Hey Bluecollar, I think you're gonna be hard pressed to find a Continental car (within a reasonable price range) that can better your Toyota Mark X. With that V6 engine, six speeder box, quiet refinement plus F/R drive format, I'm really not sure if you can find something similar below $200K. Why do I say that? Well, I had a Mark X once. Bought it because I was rather curious about this new car that came from Japan. Drove it a couple of years from new. It was really very well engineered. With the chasis of a Toyota Crown/GS 300 and the running gear of an IS250, I really enjoyed the way it delivers the power. Parted with it after 2 years and a friend picked it up and ran 70,000 km in the next 2 years running up and down Malaysia. He didn't de-restrict the top speed of 180km but swore that if he did, the car would have easily broke 230kmh. The X didn't broke own on both of us at all. I wish you well and the very best in your search for your Conti ride. As they say, the fun is in the hunt...but do take caution about the woes Conti cars can give you. If you're buying from a PI, do ensure you have sufficient warranty coverage. Read the fine print carefully, better still over and over again. Buy from an established PI, even if it costs a bit more. I bought my X then from Ricardo cos they specialise in Toyota maintenance. Paid a premium but had good peace of mind. Once you sign on the dotted line for your new COnti ride, you probably gonna live with it for the next 4 - 5 years. I'm sure you'll enjoy driving a Conti car. The feel, ride characteristics and handling are somehow different from Jap cars. As most of them are F/R drive format, you'll love how they handle (if u love your X, you love the Contis). Hope you keep us posted once you get your new Conti ride. Take care, have fun, be safe on the roads ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 upgrade to the new Mark X lor.... hehe.... or else it's the Mercedes E250CGI already.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 just to sidetrack a bit, anyone knows about the Mercedes-Benz Remarkable Drive promo??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TristanC Neutral Newbie August 23, 2010 Author Share August 23, 2010 Hmm, many people were pretty quick to point out things like AD costs etc... I did hear many good things about Renault aftersales service though. The point was that there were 2 contis being launched, with vastly different margins. Also, they are both sort of niche, in the sense that they are not mainstream or japanese cars. I own a conti ride currently (25K AD margin, but didn't do the math when I bought it), and affordability is one thing, but pricing matters. I was hoping that Renault being a smaller outfit with less volume would be more inclined to get some of their cars out there. Especially when its such a highly reviewed car. Or perhaps they are trying to tap into the eager enthusiasts market - the few that will pay more for bragging rights to owning the vehicle first I'll just wait around and see if there is any price reduction in the coming months, thanks for the comments people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 usually not lah.... pre-launch prices will most likely be the lowest price ever.... unless the COE price drop to the ground (come crashing down).... or else, nearer to the time the shipment comes in, you'll see that the price actually increases.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 (edited) I was hoping that Renault being a smaller outfit with less volume would be more inclined to get some of their cars out there. Wearnes isn't a small outfit. They sell Jaguar, Volvo and recently Range Rover. It's just that they prefer to sell less at higher margin i/o of sell "potentially more" (but how much more in lieu of shrinking COE supply???) at lower margin. Plus, Renault isn't an easy brand to sell in Singapore given the herd mentality. Last year, the Megane II was selling at Thaiyota Altis price or even lower, but few takers. Edited August 24, 2010 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 If we are overly concern about what the AD earn. Then we will not be buying chicken rice liao. the margin they have is even higher. if you consider that most successful Chicken rice seller can easily afford a Merc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecollar 1st Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 the same E250 coupe i was eying had a price difference of about $40k as compared to C&C. can you pm me your dealer? he may close a deal with me this weekend Hi Carer, just pm you with the details. Good luck!!! I'm sure you have done some homework, care to share what makes you decide on PI over C&C. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 thanks for the pm. i will give the dealer a call at 10am. the decisive factor is the price difference. with $40k, i can cover my own warranty. i can service outside which is cheaper without the fear of voiding warranty. nowadays, parts can be found easily with the internet. even if it is more expensive, i believe $40k can cover. by the way, PI omv is around $2k to $3k lower. that amounts to roughly $10k including tax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecollar 1st Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 thanks for the pm. i will give the dealer a call at 10am. the decisive factor is the price difference. with $40k, i can cover my own warranty. i can service outside which is cheaper without the fear of voiding warranty. nowadays, parts can be found easily with the internet. even if it is more expensive, i believe $40k can cover. by the way, PI omv is around $2k to $3k lower. that amounts to roughly $10k including tax Hi Carer, may I know how do you work out to be 40K difference? Based on their profit difference or absolute car price difference? If based on car price difference, C&C is 32k more then PI. Which is why I hesitated, as the price difference do not justify me going to PI; unless like you mention 40k is then worth considering ONLY. As I travel alot up north, conti was once notorious with overheating and electrical problems is my major concern. I know STAR Assist does that for free even in Malaysia, cost like this would have blown my costing out in the galaxy (OK maybe not that bad but literately). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 $43k is the difference between listed car price by C&C and the PI i enquired. but they offer me a $3k discount for my insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 My Honda Jazz....calculated....the AD is making a loss!!! Amazingly....AD does sells current models at a loss! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 My Honda Jazz....calculated....the AD is making a loss!!! Amazingly....AD does sells current models at a loss! we are talking about conti cars here. anyway you got yourself a good deal. congrats! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...