Food blogger who demands free meal sparks outrage online

Wensong

i think you missed a point by putting the onus on the rest to clarify.

if the rest clarify, they run risk of being labelled as miserly or looking down on brad for assuming that he wants his 2 other guest to eat for free. for the rest mgr, this is also a dangerous issue to be labelled as looking down on the food blogger. this was highlighted in damienic post

then if we clear this view, that neither brad nor the restaurant has the onus to clarify, then why should brad feel so upset when ask to pay? if he genuinely think there was a miscommunication then, he would have think himself have 50% of the fault and hence wont lose his temper at the restaurant.

for losing temper at restaurant, he must have

1) thought the restaurant had done him wrong; or

2) reacted as a reflex action because he lose his high and almighty status or respect as food blogger in front of his friends

if it was 1) then his latter clarification of miscommunication on both side only serves to show how hypocritical he is

if it was 2), it shows how spoilt and immature he is

Edited by Acemundo

just a side note, my old man used to quote this popular tagline whenever we argue - I eat salt more than you eat rice. So, with the food bloggers getting younger and younger, I wonder how qualify are they to "review" others' hard work? Had they sampled enough varieties? Do they even know how to cook simple dish and know what it takes to cook it well?

I think what most of us fail to see is this.

Yes the blogger shouldn't have loss his cool. but noted that he had inform the resturant that he is bringing 3 more guest.

The resturant PR should have the initiative to point out to him that only 2 meals will be free instead of 4 as a courtesy reminder.

I am not saying Blogger is right. but rather the resturant in question is also wrong.

You know that sometimes its a case of "damn if do, and damn if I dun". It is a sensitive situation. If the restuarant gone on to remind like that, it could also cause unhappiness on the other end. If the blogger in question seriously wanted other friends to come along and is not expecting the meals on the house and the restuarant procceeded to clarify in such a manner, the other party might feel offended and provoked a response of "I know about that, do you think I can't afford to pay for my frens" or something equivalent. Restaurants PR sometimes need to be very mindful of how they reply to clients as some high end clients can get very sensitive when it comes to issues like bills/pricing. Remember the sultan fish incident at the RWS restuarant? The restuarant din specify what is the price of the fish as well (even though it was far higher than the price of his original choice) and it is expected that if you dine at such places, you would know what the prices are or if you are uncomfortable/not sure, then you would ask. Similarly, as a regular food connesieur and blogger, it was probably assumed that he would have been aware of the industry practice of such invite (only 1+1 dines free) and not be having a wild expectation of other people coming can also get free meals mentality.

If you would ask me, I can accept that it is miscommunication and both parties aren't wrong where the blogger thought no response means all free whereas the restuarant thought no need to emphasise further since already made known earlier only 2 gets to dine free. But it is wrong of him to lose his cool and throw tantrums upon finding out eventually that his expectation wasn't the case. As much as we can say the restuarant is wrong for not responding, it was wrong of him as well to pinpoint the blame all on the restaurant and create a scene like that. Just explain to the restuarant that he thought all the meals of everyone would be on the house since he din receive any indication it wouldn't be so and then proceed to pay and just leave. I believe most reasonable, gracious and mature individual would have done that.

you complicate the thing liao [:p]

my thoughts on this issue after seeing both side of the story is that the resturant is not a innocent party too.

cause they had started off by giving misleading information to the public on what had actually happen.

below are just a few

1) Giving limited information on the natural of food tasting and make it sound as if the blogger just barge in to the resturant to ask for free food when in actual facts its a invitation by the resturant.

2) Giving the impression that the blogger overstay the food tasting by 1 hour when they only bring out the last dish after the resturant closing time.

You know that sometimes its a case of "damn if do, and damn if I dun". It is a sensitive situation. If the restuarant gone on to remind like that, it could also cause unhappiness on the other end. If the blogger in question seriously wanted other friends to come along and is not expecting the meals on the house and the restuarant procceeded to clarify in such a manner, the other party might feel offended and provoked a response of "I know about that, do you think I can't afford to pay for my frens" or something equivalent. Restaurants PR sometimes need to be very mindful of how they reply to clients as some high end clients can get very sensitive when it comes to issues like bills/pricing. Remember the sultan fish incident at the RWS restuarant? The restuarant din specify what is the price of the fish as well (even though it was far higher than the price of his original choice) and it is expected that if you dine at such places, you would know what the prices are or if you are uncomfortable/not sure, then you would ask. Similarly, as a regular food connesieur and blogger, it was probably assumed that he would have been aware of the industry practice of such invite (only 1+1 dines free) and not be having a wild expectation of other people coming can also get free meals mentality.

If you would ask me, I can accept that it is miscommunication and both parties aren't wrong where the blogger thought no response means all free whereas the restuarant thought no need to emphasise further since already made known earlier only 2 gets to dine free. But it is wrong of him to lose his cool and throw tantrums upon finding out eventually that his expectation wasn't the case. As much as we can say the restuarant is wrong for not responding, it was wrong of him as well to pinpoint the blame all on the restaurant and create a scene like that. Just explain to the restuarant that he thought all the meals of everyone would be on the house since he din receive any indication it wouldn't be so and then proceed to pay and just leave. I believe most reasonable, gracious and mature individual would have done that.

FYI, the resturant did not state to blogger only 2 will be free. they only told the Media its standard industries practise that food tasting is only for 2 free person and not to the blogger.

Plus some blogger pointed out that the actual price was not $400 plus as stated in the news but more of around 260 plus.

Plus, did he really throw his CC?? or did he put the CC down in the Visa folder with a bit more force??

you are funny...even if the restaurant is the devil, what right it gives brad to behave this way? now i have not made any assumptions about the restaurant so far, my only comments is about brat.

2 wrongs don't make a right, so whatever wrong the restaurant did is not ammunition for mr brad to misbehave.

if we have to forever behave relative to how others behave, we are just a chameleon, always putting on an appearance to be in sync with the environment.

Edited by Acemundo

you complicate the thing liao [:p]

my thoughts on this issue after seeing both side of the story is that the resturant is not a innocent party too.

cause they had started off by giving misleading information to the public on what had actually happen.

below are just a few

1) Giving limited information on the natural of food tasting and make it sound as if the blogger just barge in to the resturant to ask for free food when in actual facts its a invitation by the resturant.

2) Giving the impression that the blogger overstay the food tasting by 1 hour when they only bring out the last dish after the resturant closing time.

bro, for (1), it was firstly an account given by the yahoo website, not an official account by the restaurant when the thing first broke out. the media might have erred in presenting the story as such

for (2), if you have read, all his friends come at staggered timing. they din come together. If you are a chef or restuarant operator before, you would know that it is not easy to ensure the dish stays fresh while ensuring it comes out at the shortest possible timing. it is a food tasting session. the restuarant needs to ensure the food stays top notch and yet it can't do a quick job considering his frens come at staggered timings

I believe you have never been in service industry before and din realise talking to customer with tactful replies can be very complicated and an arduous task. You thought just a simple reminder from the restaurant that not all can dine free will do but you will be surprised by how some "high level" customers would react when a restaurant replies certain things abt pricing and billing. If you remind abt price, some clients can respond "you think I cannot afford ah". if you talk abt billing, some can respond "you think I cannot pay and is cheapskate expecting free meals is it". It is not as simple as you think.

nevertheless, Iam prepared to give benefit of doubt that both are wrong. but still it doesn't warrant a behaviour as such from the blogger himself.

you are funny...even if the restaurant is the devil, what right it gives brad to behave this way? now i have not made any assumptions about the restaurant so far, my only comments is about brat.

2 wrongs don't make a right, so whatever wrong the restaurant did is not ammunition for mr brad to misbehave.

if we have to forever behave relative to how others behave, we are just a chameleon, always putting on an appearance to be in sync with the environment.

you are funnier lah. i have never mention that the blogger behavier is correct. but look at the way you all chose to slam only the Blogger and not the resturant doesn't seems fair to him.

i had repeatedly mention that i dont think Blogger is right but just dont think that the resturant is innocent which most ppl here seems to think so.

well if u never think the blooger ought to be accorded some forgiveness, then in the first place why did you reply to posts that were criticising the blogger? I think is you who give others the impression to lay some blame on the restaurant to save the blogger from criticism. if you genuinely are not, then i think you should just remain seated on the fence and not comment anything. that will show you are neutral towards both.

anyway, for my view, what the restaurant did is still reasonable so I don't slam the restaurant. what brad did was unreasonable in whichever angle i view it. hence, i only participate in criticizing brad, not the restaurant.

bro, for (1), it was firstly an account given by the yahoo website, not an official account by the restaurant when the thing first broke out. the media might have erred in presenting the story as such

for (2), if you have read, all his friends come at staggered timing. they din come together. If you are a chef or restuarant operator before, you would know that it is not easy to ensure the dish stays fresh while ensuring it comes out at the shortest possible timing. it is a food tasting session. the restuarant needs to ensure the food stays top notch and yet it can't do a quick job considering his frens come at staggered timings

I believe you have never been in service industry before and din realise talking to customer with tactful replies can be very complicated and an arduous task. You thought just a simple reminder from the restaurant that not all can dine free will do but you will be surprised by how some "high level" customers would react when a restaurant replies certain things abt pricing and billing. If you remind abt price, some clients can respond "you think I cannot afford ah". if you talk abt billing, some can respond "you think I cannot pay and is cheapskate expecting free meals is it". It is not as simple as you think.

nevertheless, Iam prepared to give benefit of doubt that both are wrong. but still it doesn't warrant a behaviour as such from the blogger himself.

yes that is what i am trying to point out and i agree with you on the blogger

anyway

1) yes i notice i make a error for this. i apologise

2) stagged time but before closing time right? so the blame shouldn't be place on him alone for closing late.

BTW i had been in service line before. So yes, i had seen some high caliber irresponsible customers too. but i wont in anyway tell another person outside of the resturant what that person had done.

well if u never think the blooger ought to be accorded some forgiveness, then in the first place why did you reply to posts that were criticising the blogger? I think is you who give others the impression to lay some blame on the restaurant to save the blogger from criticism. if you genuinely are not, then i think you should just remain seated on the fence and not comment anything. that will show you are neutral towards both.

anyway, for my view, what the restaurant did is still reasonable so I don't slam the restaurant. what brad did was unreasonable in whichever angle i view it. hence, i only participate in criticizing brad, not the restaurant.

i reply not because i think blogger is right but rather i reply because i dont think its fair that he is to take all the blame.

FYI, the resturant did not state to blogger only 2 will be free. they only told the Media its standard industries practise that food tasting is only for 2 free person and not to the blogger.

Plus some blogger pointed out that the actual price was not $400 plus as stated in the news but more of around 260 plus.

Plus, did he really throw his CC?? or did he put the CC down in the Visa folder with a bit more force??

they din state explicitly that only 2 will be free. but if you take a closer look, in mel's first reply, she said they would be pleased to host him (meaning himself is free), and then she asked "are you bringing a guest along, I can make the arrangement". that equates to himself and only A Guest. Not guests. if you read the articles in TNP and ST earlier, various food bloggers acknowleged that it is industrial practice of 1+1 free. the restuarant probably thought brad, being a somewhat regular food blogger would know that. strictly speaking, we can say the restuarant shldn't just assume, but why should brad assume the usual industrial practice can be made exceptional for his case?

the actual price was $400 plus for all of them. it was $260 for his two friends + champagne. it was subsequently brought down to $170 or so becos the resturant waive the cost of champagne.

iam not interested to argue abt the credit card but if he did choose to apologised for that, it should be a rather unwarranted show of unhappiness at that instance which I still question what gives him the right to be so angry towards the restaurant when it was a case of "miscomm"..

xiaxue blog not bad..provide the pics of the other 3 bloogers (am i right?) + melanie from the restaurant.

I think its the other 3 blogger are the one who slam bread rather than the one who go with him.

BTW, some might be interested in xiaxue view on this incident [:p]

http://xiaxue.blogspot.com/

i find it quite funny.

Extract from xiaxue's blog:

"Who the f--k do I think I am? I'm a bloody popular blogger who can make or break a brand. You may think this is arrogance, but it is true, so suck on it."

Typical. This is what we have been discussing as well isn't it? A person's belief that his/her popularity actually makes him/her the judge, jury and executioner.

It is said that the ones with true power never goes around flaunting it. It's so sad.

they din state explicitly that only 2 will be free. but if you take a closer look, in mel's first reply, she said they would be pleased to host him (meaning himself is free), and then she asked "are you bringing a guest along, I can make the arrangement". that equates to himself and only A Guest. Not guests. if you read the articles in TNP and ST earlier, various food bloggers acknowleged that it is industrial practice of 1+1 free. the restuarant probably thought brad, being a somewhat regular food blogger would know that. strictly speaking, we can say the restuarant shldn't just assume, but why should brad assume the usual industrial practice can be made exceptional for his case?

the actual price was $400 plus for all of them. it was $260 for his two friends + champagne. it was subsequently brought down to $170 or so becos the resturant waive the cost of champagne.

iam not interested to argue abt the credit card but if he did choose to apologised for that, it should be a rather unwarranted show of unhappiness at that instance which I still question what gives him the right to be so angry towards the restaurant when it was a case of "miscomm"..

And he reply he is bringing 3 guest which i felt, the resturant should clarify only 1 guest do not have to pay at that moment. After all some ppl take silence as consent.