Hit-and-run accident victim on 21/8 BB carpark..Advise pls

Hosch

I'm the owner of the vehicle in the pictures and also the victim of this hit-and-run accident, which happened just infront of blk 113 bt batok open air carpark, just before midnight on Sat 21 Aug 2010. I had parked there earlier that night, and noted that there was a lively seventh month auction going on in the open field just beyond the carpark.

Fortunately no one was injured, but as you can see my ride has suffered some really serious damage.

post-8669-1282489380_thumb.jpg post-8669-1282489413_thumb.jpg post-8669-1282489445_thumb.jpg

Kudos to two great civic minded witnesses, I managed to track down the license plate of the culprit - a huge 18-footer lorry ferrying workers. The scum bag driver had obviously reversed his lorry into my car, and ran off without a sound. The damage says it all, as the bottom portion remained largely intact without scratches but top was smashed beyond recognition. He even had the audacity to cover his tracks by clearing the notes left behind by the kind witnesses multiple times [furious]

TP was called in, I approached the temple organiser Wu3 Dang1 Shan1 Shan4 Long2 Miao4 (武堂山善龙庙) for assistance to find out who the culprit was, made a police report and finally accident report at IDAC. The car is now awaiting assessment by an authorised workshop, but it seems that most of them avoid taking on such cases. Nothing heard from the temple either, but I wouldn't pin my hopes on these equally irresponsible fellas. Come on, at least have the basic courtesy to inform me who the driver was and let us settle ourselves!

This should have been a straightforward case.. ie. Lorry driver establishes contact with me, I do a 3rd party claim, get the car repaired and case closed. Why complicate things with a police case, implicate the event organiser, make things difficult for everybody? I have no idea how the investigation will turn out, but let's just say that there is no way I'm going to let this guy off lightly after going through all these tedious processes.

Personally would like to hear some opinions on what my chances are, avenues available and of course if there are more witnesses willing to step forward, I would really appreciate if you could contact me at [email protected]. Thanks!

Damaged is quite bad, lucky to have witness or you suck thumb

that also depends if the "witness" willing to testify if need arises. normally they change tune after knowing how much hassle they would face unless they get something out of it. if the 2 civic-mindedness fellas can go all the way. kudos....

this case can swing either ends on the final outcome of payout by insurance unless solid evidence really pins down the other driver.

that reminds me of the need of a sensor or motion based car camera too.

anyway keeps us posted if the police report really help in this case.

if you still need any suggestion on any party who could help in 3rd party claim, you may pm me.

know one workshop which is a dying breed in doing this sort of claim that saved my ncb and money once even though the accident was 100% not my fault and goes 50-50 :angry:

sad to say... but the chance of u claim is zero, police will only post a letter to the owner, and if owner say never happen... then u will need to get a lawyer with your witnesses to sue the owner... but that will cost u more then the repair... so only way is your got to pay for your own repair...

even if u claim your own insurance also no good for you... they will collect more back (up the insu price)from you for the next few year... unless after u claim... then u sell off your car... and never to buy any car under your name... then the insurance will not be able to make u pay back...

i have 2 same case like u... pay for $600 and $2000 (cannot remember) myself... this is part of owning a car...

but if you lucky that the owner reply yes... then u may have some chance of making them pay.. but how many good people around in singapore?

Edited by Jeffang

if you still need any suggestion on any party who could help in 3rd party claim, you may pm me.

know one workshop which is a dying breed in doing this sort of claim that saved my ncb and money once even though the accident was 100% not my fault and goes 50-50 :angry:

the workshop save your ncb? from 100% not your fault become 50-50?

but if 50/50 then ncb sure zero liao... how come? then next year u paying sky high liao...

sad to say... but the chance of u claim is zero, police will only post a letter to the owner, and if owner say never happen... then u will need to get a lawyer with your witnesses to sue the owner... but that will cost u more then the repair... so only way is your got to pay for your own repair...

even if u claim your own insurance also no good for you... they will collect more back (up the insu price)from you for the next few year... unless after u claim... then u sell off your car... and never to buy any car under your name... then the insurance will not be able to make u pay back...

i have 2 same case like u... pay for $600 and $2000 (cannot remember) myself... this is part of owning a car...

but if you lucky that the owner reply yes... then u may have some chance of making them pay.. but how many good people around in singapore?

har. getting damn scared these days. scratch and puncture and run no claim. hit and run also no claim. why the hell are we buying insurance anymore for?

that also depends if the "witness" willing to testify if need arises. normally they change tune after knowing how much hassle they would face unless they get something out of it. if the 2 civic-mindedness fellas can go all the way. kudos....

this case can swing either ends on the final outcome of payout by insurance unless solid evidence really pins down the other driver.

that reminds me of the need of a sensor or motion based car camera too.

anyway keeps us posted if the police report really help in this case.

u can save your money on motion base camera... even u got video... police dont care...

my case all with video... report hit&run... police dont want to see video... only post a letter to owner...

so police say no case... unless i use a lawyer to sue... till i win.... then police will charge the owner telling lie..

har. getting damn scared these days. scratch and puncture and run no claim. hit and run also no claim. why the hell are we buying insurance anymore for?

who say cannot claim?

can claim your own.... but end up they make u pay back slowly to them...

so those no money to repair... then claim own insurance... then slowly/yearly pay back lor...

but hor... after u do the sum... u will know... they collect more money back from you..

the insurance is to for other people to claim from you.... let say u hit someone until the car total lose or very serious damage.... then of cos insurance will pay for you... unless u want to pay $20000 or $30000?

If you have witnesses, you stand a very good chance. I claimed for a hit and run before. All lawyer's fees were absorbed by the party at fault. You have done no wrong in parking in a parking lot!

My case was a taxi hitting me while I was riding a motorbike. Ironically it's another cab driver whom is my witness. Took police report to the lawyer firm. I won the case without paying a single cent. Claimed much much more than the value of my bike.

From the pic.. Ur car really kana hit badly.. If u have 2 witnesses of course u have a very good chance of letting the other party pays..

see u driving toyota sienta..me too............yr headlight price is a killer.......better get from hexing.............ltr i recommend u a JB shop good for these dent repairs....price super afforadable

at least got witness n the f guy car plate.....go all the way.....this is singapore.....not JB...........i support sienta drivers

Edited by Kungfu

who say cannot claim?

the insurance is to for other people to claim from you....

yeah, you are spot on.....so no point paying so much more for premium for a nice sounding brandname. just gimmicks only.

better to get the firm that have better lawyers to fight your, i mean their case. [furious]

unless the driver really noob, then must have more coverage....