First Car - with millions of questions on where to start

E-Jazz

My experience in owning a Fit mine 1.5l but i think more or less the same.

first engine oil change at 1k

kept within 80km/hr and below 2.5k rev before oil change

second at 5k change

kept within 90km/hr and below 3k rev before oil change

third at 10k change

kept within 100km/hr and below 3k rev before oil change,

after that every 10k change engine oil , every 25k change CVT oil , Auto gear oil for yours

For petrol , any brand also can as long as you keep pump the same ron. Keeping changing Ron not good , i think.

For instance , 98 to 92 then change 95 and 92 . Stick to one ron better.

Edited by CH_CO

TS, your car comes pre-driven from factory by workers who care more about moving cars quickly rather than warming up the engine, driving it gently, and generally taking care of it like it was their own baby. I live near a major brand's distribution centre where trade-plated new cars are often driven out (for final local fitting of window films or sound systems maybe) at quite a high speed. Those guys are definitely not taking it easy with someone else's new car!

second at 5k change

third at 10k change

after that every 10k change engine oil , every 25k change CVT oil , Auto gear oil for yours

For petrol , any brand also can as long as you keep pump the same ron. Keeping changing Ron not good , i think.

just to add, once every 6 momths...feed her Vpower 2 tanks......does help in cleaning

Haha alright. Enjoy yr ride man!

When u get yr ride n u need to troubleshoot n stuff be sure to check out fjc. Things like why got sound here and there etc I think they are more equipped to ans yr qns.

You schooling or waiting for sch to start anw?

When u get yr ride n u need to troubleshoot n stuff be sure to check out fjc. Things like why got sound here and there etc I think they are more equipped to ans yr qns.

i think if e-jazz kena ding.....sure go into mental depression..... [laugh] [laugh]

Hi Karebu,

Haha, well, compared to alot of my friends, I don't know much about cars. So given that its the first car, I obviously would have tons of questions.

But thanks to the bros/sis here, its all good. They have been very patient in answering my doubts and in the process when I read their chats, I gained more than just what I asked in terms of info which have serve as a good reference to read up further on. Personally, I believe in gaining more knowledge along the way in what I do.

Yes, I do agree with you that I'll be laughing myself silly in years to come haha. Thanks :)

sigh.. what have they not been teaching you in both driving and normal school.

if all else fail, google around for the answer. at times, it wins them asking in forum.

but then, google does chalk up post for some.

if all else fail, google around for the answer. at times, it wins them asking in forum.

yah lor...even in surgery, Drs now say, 'hey, can u google for the proper squence in dissectin this son of a b...' [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

during Run-in... just make sure ur engine rev is around 2.3K rpm and ur speed around 80km/h for the 1st 1000 km.. ( ignore the 15min thingy)

ten when u go for ur 1st servicing, after they top up new mineral oil>> u can chiong liao!! haha

base on what i read and what i feel (for my latio).. ur engine RPM>> around 2K to 3k rpm>>> is the best... most fuel efficient + not noisy

Bro.. rev 3k rpm is around 120km/h..FC wil be good meh ? based on my experience to get better FC below 2.5k rpm is the best liao..

Hi all,

Its interesting to keep reading on as you guys share info. I am picking up on the go as I read on.

So a big thanks in advance and especially to Ken4555, Furrynadz, Yuan and Trex101 for helping me out when I first posted in this forum.

One of the questions I have now (believe me, I have more in my mind then this haha) is that being said that I am collecting my new vehicle - Honda Jazz 1.3(A)LX soon, it means that I have to do run-ins like everyone else.

I read that it is recommended that for the first 500 to 1000km, short trips of less than 15minutes is best.

But in my daily travel, I estimate that I will be:

Starting at Sengkang, go down all the way to Novena to drop my partner off, then proceed to Clementi.

So this entire trip will be way beyond 15 minutes.

So should I take such daily trips right from the start? Or make my partner wait while I run-in short trips till after 500km or after 1000km before I start sending her down in long trips? Cause I am really worried that if the 15minute short trip is really crucial, running such long distance trip from the start will not do well for my run-in thus resulting in less lifespan for the vehicle.

Please enlighten me with what you think? Pretty troubled here [bigcry]

Another question is, for tyre pressure, what do you guys use to check it? How is it done, pardon me as I am still in the midst of reading up articles in car bible and other websites, so will be some time before I know even the basics. But am trying my best =)

Yoz.. better get coilcover too..as ur jass is extremely high from wheel to fender..

lower down ur car is for safety cornering..

Bro.. rev 3k rpm is around 120km/h..FC wil be good meh ? based on my experience to get better FC below 2.5k rpm is the best liao..

telling ppl what RPM at what speed is useless info. differs from car to car.

Another thing which I thought you should know is that don't surf car forums too much. Don't spend too much time in MCF.....Stop reading magazines like Hotstuff, Top Gear, Torque etc. You will save yourself from a lot of temptations and lots of monies from your wallet. :D

If you want reliabilty and durability, keep your car as stock as possible. It will last you many years.

Yup. Personally, i have no intention to mod anything. Currently this new car comes with a 5 year unlimited mileage warranty. So no way I am going to do anything to it. Also, if I have spare cash, I would rather save more for "rainy days" and do a good AD maintenance to keep the car running good.

I don't really buy magazines, too much high torque car reviews which I know even with the extra money, I won't invest in those. Normally I surf forums to read up and know more haha. Websites now and then to read up before i post in forum when i get confused. I have quite a busy work life, so sometimes its hard for me to find info given the amount of time i have, so its easier to obtain information from those who have experienced it before me. Hopefully one day i'll be able to contribute back to others after me =P

second at 5k change

third at 10k change

Hi CH_CO,

Thanks for breaking down the details you have gone through.

It'll help alot.

Appreciate it.

TS, your car comes pre-driven from factory by workers who care more about moving cars quickly rather than warming up the engine, driving it gently, and generally taking care of it like it was their own baby. I live near a major brand's distribution centre where trade-plated new cars are often driven out (for final local fitting of window films or sound systems maybe) at quite a high speed. Those guys are definitely not taking it easy with someone else's new car!

Hi Macrosszero,

Yea, I heard about that too. Read before in a forum that they saw new cars speeding beyond 100 on express way to the motor car showroom after fitting. Was a bit shock when I read that post, but now, it seems like a norm in most cases.

TS, dun ask so much questions. just take ur car and enjoy it. it wont give u problems so easily one lah... if it does, then u got lemon car...

Haha, can't help it. Thread already states a million questions =X

But though I am more rest assured after reading up the experience of you guys that most likely the car won't give as much problems as I perceive and whats left are just general tips that I can gather to enhance my knowledge on more proficient usage of the car.

Working haha. late bloomer in terms of getting first car haha. Yea, i signed up for FJC too. Just that I am more active here since the replies here come in quite fast and I try make a point to respond to every one who is replying me.

i think if e-jazz kena ding.....sure go into mental depression..... [laugh] [laugh]

Hi Radx,

hahaha, I think first thing I will do is come in and post those "HELP! URGENT" threads =X

Well the school only tells you roughly which is engine oil, which is brake oil, etc, never really go in depth. Maximum was teaching us how to change tyres lol.

Yoz.. better get coilcover too..as ur jass is extremely high from wheel to fender..

lower down ur car is for safety cornering..

Hi Aaron_soh80,

Will look up on that too. Thanks

just to add, once every 6 momths...feed her Vpower 2 tanks......does help in cleaning

You mean Vpower as in the petrol grade/type?

So when I pump ron 95 usually, then at the 6th month I go for Vpower 2 times with full tank of it? Need any oil change proceedure or can just top up the Vpower on top of existing ron 95 when its almost empty? Sorry for the noob question, totally zero experience in this area for me.

Hear say is Caltex platinium would be a better choice over V-power. Better in power and cleaning performance. For powerwise I agree, cleaning wise, need to strip out engine than will know.

[bigcry][bigcry][bigcry][bigcry]

You lucky fellow.

Haven't get your first car already so many tips from kong fu masters.

Keep my word for the last, not so important.

Don't buy so many car care products. OK. Going to finish then restock.

This is very very true. Because I have problem using these wax, and polishs... I still have 1-2 bought 2-3 years ago, just used a few times only...

Dont say i never tell you first.

I bet there are many Kong Fu Masters out there who are equally or more guilty me for hoarding money this way.

very bad habit.. :wacko:

can u be considerate.. think of those people in caltex that will be out of job when u ask people to pump vpower.

every now and then, I still see my neighbor opening his fuel flap and shout inside for the people from caltex to go in front and clean the piston [:p]

Another thing you might want to consider is to buy your engine oil from outside and bring to KM for them to use. KM charges more than $25/ltr of engine oil. Maybe only do this after your 1st/2nd service with KM.

For my car, HCH2 during the 1k and 10k service, they charged around $10x.xx for 3.8ltrs of Shell Helix Ultra 5w30. For my 20k service, i brought 4 quarts (1 qtr=946ml) of Amsoil 100% synthetic 0w20 oil (total $60 only) and KM returned around 0.4 ltrs of oil, which means they only filled 3.4-3.5ltrs of engine oil. Firtsly, that shows KM overcharges for oil and Secondly, they have "cheated" me twice for charging for extra oil.