Yeobh 4th Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 "Sound Better" maybe is music to yr ears but to us the general public and LTA it can means "Noise Pollution" Go head if you have deep pockets or rich parents and time to drink coffee in the inspection centres while they check yr car for noise pollution and illegal modifications. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx2010 Neutral Newbie October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 Well i don't expect it to sound like harley but at least below tat would be nice to my ears. Even small car have louder sound den my exhaust.. tat's suck! Why do you want your exhaust to be loud? It doesn't make your car move any faster..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 lol, ts want to stop tailgaters is it? no cat, on harsh decel will go pop pop and got flame, even when i got cat, i still get some glowy glowies coming out of my exhaust when decel from 110 in g3. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 Wah lau....so simple still need to teach meh? Take your aftermarket legal exhaust and operate it. How loud you want also no problem.... LTA pull you over to the side.... You whip out your certificate and throw into their face. They ask you go inspection, you say that based on your view as a responsible road user, you would out of goodwill accede to their request. Go to your nearest WS and swap the exhaust back to original. Go for inspection. Pass inspection. Go back to WS and install back your aftermarket exhaust. Keep both pieces of certificate and the inspection cert. NExt time happen again, throw both peces at the LTA officer and ask them how many times they wanna do this? bro from what i know if the LTA catch you on the spot, its usually summon straight (inspection AFTER you pay summon) or escort to Sin Ming straight THEN summon THEN inspection AFTER you fix back..... i even saw before a lancer kana escort straight to Vicom... a cert is usually useless if the LTA/TP caught you while you were high reving and the exhaust is loud to him... i seriously see a cert as no use.... unless the muffler is not loud... cause in the past ANYTHING not original LTA will fail... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mutant Neutral Newbie October 27, 2010 Share October 27, 2010 For Auto transmission, any negative side effects (etc slower pickup) if we 'operate' the internals of muffler to straight thru? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xteme Neutral Newbie October 27, 2010 Share October 27, 2010 can send me MAN address??? tks in advance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 For Auto transmission, any negative side effects (etc slower pickup) if we 'operate' the internals of muffler to straight thru? weaker low end. so you'll need to rev more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 30, 2010 Author Share October 30, 2010 Hey bro Would like to ask about aftermarket muffler, as I just install mine today at man exhaust. This muffler was for free, given by a mate who share the same type of ride as mine. Apexi if I not wrong, Sound is great, deep like bass but not sure if it's true or my own placebo, I feel pickup suffers badly.. So far I did not high rev or go above 100 as the whole day was raining heavily and road seems to be pretty wet. Could someone pls advise me if my exhaust setup is done wrongly... Manual, 1.1, stock mid pipe with aftermarket straight through muffler.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 30, 2010 Author Share October 30, 2010 A or B? i'm using A now, stock looks like B A B Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 31, 2010 Author Share October 31, 2010 after a day of muffler A, this is what i experiencing. pro: roars when engine start. from far, can hear me coming... when i remove the stock muffler, i realized it was freaking heavy.. probably 2 or 3 times more than aftermarket muffler A con: noisy, very noisy don't know if pick up is affect. went jb last nite for supper, kanna tailgate closely by a myvi.... damn stress above 100km... the noise level is horrible, lucky i always never ferry people or i really pity them. now, going out... i also feel stressed and worried... afraid will stop by tp.. probably backpressure is killing my pick up... most likely will change to muffler B on coming saturday in jb.. any guru to advise? always wanted to do exhaust, so please be a little understanding Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Not enough power? After de-cat, what next...extractor, add TC, etc. So you bought a wrong car lah. Buy a more powerful car next time. I hate those that de-cat without due care for the environment. Do it the proper way. Get the approved high flow cat for your model. Actually, the decat is better for environment, the cat changes your exhaust gas into CO2 which is the 1 causing all the greenhouse effect. Without cat carbon monoxide is produced instead. Both are evil. if u care of environment, just use bicycle or public transport. Best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Actually, the decat is better for environment, the cat changes your exhaust gas into CO2 which is the 1 causing all the greenhouse effect. Without cat carbon monoxide is produced instead. Both are evil. if u care of environment, just use bicycle or public transport. Best. CO is an antagonist of hydroxyl radicals which actually break down greenhouse gases, so although there is not much of a direct cause, there's an indirect cause. Also, CO is a precursor to O3, which owns CO2 when it comes to heat storage. As for the muffler, because its from such a small pipe into a large one, the drop in flowrate is significant, which brings up gas pressure significantly. Fluid pressure and velocity are inversely proportionate, what you're experiencing is a surge in pressure at the muffler which impedes the flow of your exhaust gases, and also there is a lot of turbulence when your exhaust gases go into your muffler, you suffer the lack of power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedecemberone 3rd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Aiyo, want more power and want to do it illegally? Replace it with an imported reconditioned bigger engine. Best part is you only pay the same road tax. I am not sure if de-cat will help much but it sure does keep you in suspense every time you see Uncle Sam next to you at the traffic lights or while cruising along our roads. Do what fellow forumers recommended. Change to bigger car and mod with air intake, extractors, KNN air filters and what have you. Personally, I will not touch the cat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 the cat might scratch you if you're not gentle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 31, 2010 Author Share October 31, 2010 aiyo... people asking which type of muffler better for pick up... straight or semi... then you guess keep talking about cat and kittens.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 lol, look up a few posts... first of all, dont waste time touching your cat, you will have NO GAINS whatsoever. if you really wanna allow your engine to breathe better.. 1. Panel Filter, change to something better flowing, K&N should be good, i used TRD in my supra previously. 2. Headers, look around for what's recommended. 3. LTA approved exhaust 4. muffler not too huge a step up from your main exhaust pipe. dont even need to touch the cat, you'll notice gains, but once again, your low end power will be affected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx2010 Neutral Newbie October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 lol, look up a few posts... first of all, dont waste time touching your cat, you will have NO GAINS whatsoever. if you really wanna allow your engine to breathe better.. 1. Panel Filter, change to something better flowing, K&N should be good, i used TRD in my supra previously. 2. Headers, look around for what's recommended. 3. LTA approved exhaust 4. muffler not too huge a step up from your main exhaust pipe. dont even need to touch the cat, you'll notice gains, but once again, your low end power will be affected. I think decat does work for Turbo cars though, esp at over 1bar boost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 31, 2010 Author Share October 31, 2010 Not again... It's cat and more cat.. Think i go for semi lah, too noisy.. Can't even enjoy my ice Anyone wan to buy my apexi??? :p ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...