Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 I think we are at missing something here .... Their "cold" refer to Winter temperature in countries with 4 seasons and Summer temperature could hit 39 ~ 40 . In SG, everyday the same temperature 24 ~ 34, just pump to your preferred driving style and comfort. Some like steering light so as not to tire your arms, then pump 260 ~ 320. (risk of skidding on wet roads if pump 280 ~ 320) Some like steering heavy so that more grip on the road, then pump 180 ~ 220 By asking here for opinion will instead confuse yourself. Air pressure also depend on your current set of tyres width, height and Rim sizes. Example like 175/60/R15, 185/60/R16 and so on till .... 235/40/R20 So, to each his own comfort level of driving. No harsh and fast rules governing tyre pressure driving in Singapore where max speed limit restricted to 90Km/h ...... But if you are driving up North to MY, there are different set of rules on tyre pressure & size to follows for that long journey up and also for your safety as average speed of some drivers around 110 km/h to 180 km/h... I myself pump 250 in SG driving and when going in to MY, I will reduce the tyres pressure to 210 on 215/50/R17. Practice SAFE DRIVING always. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 I think we are at missing something here .... Their "cold" refer to Winter temperature in countries with 4 seasons and Summer temperature could hit 39 ~ 40 . In SG, everyday the same temperature 24 ~ 34, just pump to your preferred driving style and comfort. Some like steering light so as not to tire your arms, then pump 260 ~ 320. (risk of skidding on wet roads if pump 280 ~ 320) Some like steering heavy so that more grip on the road, then pump 180 ~ 220 By asking here for opinion will instead confuse yourself. Air pressure also depend on your current set of tyres width, height and Rim sizes. Example like 175/60/R15, 185/60/R16 and so on till .... 235/40/R20 So, to each his own comfort level of driving. No harsh and fast rules governing tyre pressure driving in Singapore where max speed limit restricted to 90Km/h ...... But if you are driving up North to MY, there are different set of rules on tyre pressure & size to follows for that long journey up and also for your safety as average speed of some drivers around 110 km/h to 180 km/h... I myself pump 250 in SG driving and when going in to MY, I will reduce the tyres pressure to 210 on 215/50/R17. Practice SAFE DRIVING always. Bro, cold in Tyre pressure context refers to cars which have been parked overnight and then not been driven for more than 1.6km before pumping. Best is to follow the label on the car. ☺️ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 Bro, cold in Tyre pressure context refers to cars which have been parked overnight and then not been driven for more than 1.6km before pumping. Best is to follow the label on the car. ☺️ Let say u change to PS4. The load index will increase to 92. Accordingly, u need to reduce pressure to 230 while maintaining load capacity at 515kg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 If you upgrade size say from 16 to 17, do you still follow the recommended tire pressure or you will up?? If your car comes with TPMS (those w individual pressure read outs), can observe the pressure changes from when you just pumped after a long drive and the next morning after starting the car and just driven for a few hundred metres. The difference can be as much as 20-30kpa. So I usually compensate by pumping about 20kpa more than the recommended pressure when I pump at the kiosk after a long drive....ie hot tires. Agree.... if pump base on recommendation, next morning become under already... so usually will up 20 to 30 more... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heman75 Supercharged September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 Hi all, just got my pre-owned Odyssey 2015. Is it ok to pump 270-280kpa on stock tyre since the ride is heavy. The recommended pressure on the side door seems to be on the Low side. Thanks in advance. Steve too much.. i also have ody.. 240 good enough.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 If you upgrade size say from 16 to 17, do you still follow the recommended tire pressure or you will up?? Agree.... if pump base on recommendation, next morning become under already... so usually will up 20 to 30 more... What’s stock tyre load index and pressure? Look at the sticker. What’s new tyre load index? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 Alot of times people also forget about individual tire brand/model differences in the stiffness of the sidewall....even more so when comparing RFT to non-RFT. my original were 19" RFT, when I upsided to 20" non-RFT (staggered rims), I tried sticking to the former pressure of 250kPa (hot), but find that although my acceleration is more urgent because overall lighter wheels setup, it is a little squirmish and slight increase in lateral roll on hard cornering. So, I did a little playing around with the pressure and finally settled on 260kPa front and 280kPa rear. That sorted out the cornering issues. With the larger but lighter wheels set, the ride is much more comfortable at low speed especially over humps and imperfect road surfaces (despite running at higher pressure than before) My point being, the manufacturer tire pressure label is only useful as a guide if you are running the stock factory setup. Once you change the tire brand, model, size...everything needs to be adjusted according to how you want your car to behave. Not all drivers are sensitive to how tire pressure affects the handling of their cars, so following the label is a failsafe method but not the only method. Let say u change to PS4. The load index will increase to 92.Accordingly, u need to reduce pressure to 230 while maintaining load capacity at 515kg. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 Alot of times people also forget about individual tire brand/model differences in the stiffness of the sidewall....even more so when comparing RFT to non-RFT. my original were 19" RFT, when I upsided to 20" non-RFT (staggered rims), I tried sticking to the former pressure of 250kPa (hot), but find that although my acceleration is more urgent because overall lighter wheels setup, it is a little squirmish and slight increase in lateral roll on hard cornering. So, I did a little playing around with the pressure and finally settled on 260kPa front and 280kPa rear. That sorted out the cornering issues. With the larger but lighter wheels set, the ride is much more comfortable at low speed especially over humps and imperfect road surfaces (despite running at higher pressure than before) My point being, the manufacturer tire pressure label is only useful as a guide if you are running the stock factory setup. Once you change the tire brand, model, size...everything needs to be adjusted according to how you want your car to behave. Not all drivers are sensitive to how tire pressure affects the handling of their cars, so following the label is a failsafe method but not the only method. Doc, tyre is load bearing. What’s stock and new tyre load index? I can tell you what’s the minimum pressure to pump. My previous PSS and current PS4 has same load index of 92. But PSS sidewall is as stiff as RFT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 Stock 19" RFT is this : 235/55R19 101V The new tires I go check and let you know later. Doc, tyre is load bearing.What’s stock and new tyre load index? I can tell you what’s the minimum pressure to pump.My previous PSS and current PS4 has same load index of 92.But PSS sidewall is as stiff as RFT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 What’s stock tyre load index and pressure? Look at the sticker. What’s new tyre load index? Thanks..... but sibei chim.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 Thanks..... but sibei chim.... Wait until discuss about nitrogen. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 Thanks..... but sibei chim.... Post the tyre pressure sticker photo here. Follow the way Vratenza post in term of new tyre size. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 Let me say first....nitrogen is snake oil in normal road application. Wait until discuss about nitrogen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 Let me say first....nitrogen is snake oil in normal road application. It works for me (normal road application) but with detrimental effect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 Let me say first....nitrogen is snake oil in normal road application. Had been using Nitrogen for the last 5 years Confirm same as normal air leakage 100% no difference except I paid for Nitrogen package Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 Had been using Nitrogen for the last 5 years Confirm same as normal air leakage 100% no difference except I paid for Nitrogen package IIRC, when I opted for nitrogen during tyres change, my leakage was much lesser vs normal air. The fact that my leakage was all so often, after a while, my tyres would be mostly nitrogen. While the benefit is that I pump less often, I have to pay more attention to cold tyre pressure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALTK Turbocharged September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 is your car front wheel drive? the recommended front pressure seem to be higher than the rear. Yap. Mine fwd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALTK Turbocharged September 26, 2018 Share September 26, 2018 Load index: 93. At 230, load capacity per tyre is 540kg with total capacity of 2.16 tonne. Still not enough? 240~250 within my comfy range for my current rides, 260 a bit too hard for me liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...