Chao5 1st Gear August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 Think twice before giving kopi $$ to the M'sia traffic cops... S'porean driver jailed and fined for bribing M'sian cop JOHOR BARU - A Singaporean businessman was fined RM15,000 (S$6,400) and sentenced to a day in jail by the Sessions Court here after he pleaded guilty to offering a bribe to a traffic policeman. Ong Peoy Kuan, 61, offered a RM100 (S$42) bribe to Kons Muhammad Hafiz Aziz near the Lima Kedai toll plaza at about 5pm on May 30 to not take action against him for exceeding the speed limit. Ong offered the bribe as Kons Muhammad Hafiz was about to issue a summons. The offence under Section 17 of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission Act 2009 is punishable with up to 20 years' imprisonment or a fine of not less than five times the bribe amount or RM10,000, whichever is higher. In mitigation, Ong's lawyer G.K. Sritharan said the accused was a first-time offender and was suffering from kidney disease as well as diabetes. "He has deeply regretted his actions and has fully repented," he said. "He has saved the court's time and expenses by admitting to the charge." DPP Abdul Ghafar Abdul Latiff argued for the maximum sentence to be imposed, saying that offering a bribe to a civil servant was a very serious offence. Ong paid the fine. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 HAHAHAHAAHAHHAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAHAHAHHAAHAHA HAHAHAHAAHAHHAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAHAHAHHAAHAHA MALAYSIA BOLEH Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 Wah lan! Suay fella kenna one of the rare ON cops in bolehland! Think it's better never to assume that they take bribes. Always wait for them to offer first... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 Dont go in this month, unless necessary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 ya. they need the extra income to buy stuff for Hari Raya celebration. if need to, go in very early in the morning before they erect the checkpoints. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 What's your intelligence on their timing? My intel told me after around 9+am. usually after their morning briefing, deployment and Kopi (normal days). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 1/2 to the govt 1/2 to the officer who got this guy... win win for them... so to give or not to give kopi $$$??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleo 6th Gear August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 i remember reading a report on asiaone recently tat they caught a few singaporens giving kopi $ few mths back... I used to have a separate wallet with only RM40 juz in case kena caught for watever reasons tat they can think of but after reading tat article few mths back, i basically rather they gimme summon then risk going to jail... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tasman Neutral Newbie August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 was recently stop by MY TP for speeding 120 KM/hr at second link. Saw some SG drivers did pay kopi money to settle. I refuse and in fact, demand a summon be issued. TP did not do so, but just wrote name ( from my driving card) and car number on a plain sheet of paper and then advised that summon would be mailed to me in Singapore. I am just wonder how the TP knows my address, why not issue summon on the spot sound very fishy ???????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 wayang only lah. They do this to show people they dont corrupt, then after this accept bribe from every driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 This guy don't know the game lar..., he should go one level higher and if that also fail, offer to the judge lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tomasky 2nd Gear August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 (edited) haha..teach those speedsters a lesson especially when they think they can do anything on malaysia roads and test the malaysian law u never know what will happen tot hem on foreign land haha i do hope the malaysian authority has a special game plan to deal with the singaporeans Edited August 19, 2010 by Tomasky Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 20, 2010 Share August 20, 2010 What's your intelligence on their timing? My intel told me after around 9+am. usually after their morning briefing, deployment and Kopi (normal days). Best time.... every Friday 12.30m to 2.00pm....... Friday prayers ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 20, 2010 Share August 20, 2010 wayang only lah. They do this to show people they dont corrupt, then after this accept bribe from every driver. True............ it happen to my working colleagues who drove up during the long weekends (National Day) to Malacca........ Was travelling along the highway at 90+ after the second toll from Tuas link and was stopped at a road block for speeding. Polis say to her that she was speeding at 126km/h. KNN first time driving to MY in 2 cars and she is those slow driver type can speed at 126km/h real shocking to me....... The TP asked for $$$$ and she gave him RM150/-.......... She informed all those cars that had been stopped by the side are SG cars ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear August 20, 2010 Share August 20, 2010 True............ it happen to my working colleagues who drove up during the long weekends (National Day) to Malacca........ Was travelling along the highway at 90+ after the second toll from Tuas link and was stopped at a road block for speeding. Polis say to her that she was speeding at 126km/h. KNN first time driving to MY in 2 cars and she is those slow driver type can speed at 126km/h real shocking to me....... The TP asked for $$$$ and she gave him RM150/-.......... She informed all those cars that had been stopped by the side are SG cars ..... Seems like yr friend looks like the type very easy to makan. Hope this serves as an experience on how to deal wif the anjing (dogs) next time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear August 20, 2010 Share August 20, 2010 Actually, its the TP's word against yours. What if they claimed that you tried to bribe them even when one did not???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged August 20, 2010 Share August 20, 2010 True............ it happen to my working colleagues who drove up during the long weekends (National Day) to Malacca........ Was travelling along the highway at 90+ after the second toll from Tuas link and was stopped at a road block for speeding. Polis say to her that she was speeding at 126km/h. KNN first time driving to MY in 2 cars and she is those slow driver type can speed at 126km/h real shocking to me....... The TP asked for $$$$ and she gave him RM150/-.......... She informed all those cars that had been stopped by the side are SG cars ..... nowadays, i prefer to ask for summon if i know i didn't speed..just 2 weeks ago, i was stopped just after the NSHW going into JB.. farker says i'm speeding at 123km/h..i know i didn't speed cos i set my cruise control at exactly 110kmh, so i insisted i didn't speed. Farker after some thoughts, tell me he'll send summon over to my house.. I think he's just trying his luck.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ayotee Neutral Newbie August 20, 2010 Share August 20, 2010 but will they really send summons to your house? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...