Jp66 5th Gear August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 I think our kids will realistically have to emigrate in order to afford housing. If now the next generation- definately the next generation (our grandkids) - 3rm HDB would probably cost $1million from HDB at "subsidised" rate! maybe the ultimate objective is to replace the whole island with FT. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 lookg at ur signature.. i feel so sad.. i wonder what singaporeans are thinkg at times. they kpkb... when its election time, just a couple of hundreds and a promise to upgrade the lift is enuff to sway them... many want a change.. but if you keep doing the same thing, u will just keep getting the same thing!! hmmmm, maybe MCF should form a team and contest in next erection Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 As per title of thread. 1.) YOG helps to pry a sizeable number of individuals from the politically apathetic camp. Of note is that the fact that most of such individuals happen to fall in the age category where it is regarded natural for individuals to be politically apathetic. Do i smell class consciousness? 2.) YOG gives all Singaporeans a first hand lesson on the 101s of a police state. enough said. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear August 21, 2010 Share August 21, 2010 I only know that after this and 2011 elections, GST will go up to 10% which is their target in the first place. Must remember, GST helps the poor! Must also remb GST increase but our salary never increase and somemore got FTs....worse still.. Looking at the performances of some of our ministers at the recent events.... are we paying world class talents? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flying_genie 6th Gear August 21, 2010 Share August 21, 2010 No foreign media is even remotely interested in the YOG. No reports from 'sports crazy' countries' media. Nothing from CNN, Fox News, BBC, Sky News, Australia's Channel 7, 9, SBS, ABC. Australia's TV channels are talking about the Commonwealth Games which is 2 months away rather than YOG! This shows the amount of 'interest' in those countries! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 After YOG, the jobless rate will rise. Apart from the volunteers, there's a substantial amount of part time workers employed for this event. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 After YOG, the jobless rate will rise. Apart from the volunteers, there's a substantial amount of part time workers employed for this event. i am not sure about that, some industry face labour shortage because of YOG and has to pay more to get staff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dankoo 4th Gear August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 No foreign media is even remotely interested in the YOG. No reports from 'sports crazy' countries' media. Nothing from CNN, Fox News, BBC, Sky News, Australia's Channel 7, 9, SBS, ABC. Australia's TV channels are talking about the Commonwealth Games which is 2 months away rather than YOG! This shows the amount of 'interest' in those countries! As I mentioned before...Junior competiton normally do not get much media coverage. I look at it as the positive impact of these games on the young athletes and their preparations for the coming olympics. The impact of Singapore to these youths too. I for one, enjoyed the watching the games and we get to see who the future stars will be... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 i am not sure about that, some industry face labour shortage because of YOG and has to pay more to get staff. The people whom I'm working with will all go jobless, some waiting to go ns, others just ord or graduated. All down the line from the cleaners, food handlers, support personnels ... And those hired direct by SYOGOC are paid $5 per hr for their service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 As I mentioned before...Junior competiton normally do not get much media coverage. I look at it as the positive impact of these games on the young athletes and their preparations for the coming olympics. The impact of Singapore to these youths too. I for one, enjoyed the watching the games and we get to see who the future stars will be... positive impact at a pretty costly price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 Today YOG closing, our govt go all out on the fireworks. Just tonite i witness 3 burst of fireworks, space about 30 mins of each other. Its happening as im typing now. haha. But the YOG opening day fireworks is nicer and also a longer duration.......much better than the 2010 NDP@ Padang ones too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 not immediate or direct benefit i think... I dun think YOG can attract many tourist like world cup or real olympic game.... the young chap is not likely spend a lot over here as well cause during this period, they will either busy training, or resting. Even when the game is over, the winner will rush back for their reward and the looser wont hv much mood to stay anything longer also... its more of increasing SG status/reputation/fame internationally... This can boast the tourism industry in long run and at the same time, higher chances to attract foreign investor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 (edited) Today YOG closing, our govt go all out on the fireworks. Just tonite i witness 3 burst of fireworks, space about 30 mins of each other. Its happening as im typing now. haha. But the YOG opening day fireworks is nicer and also a longer duration.......much better than the 2010 NDP@ Padang ones too. Oh, it's over? Good to know. I'm happy (and proud) to say I didn't watch a single second of the YOG. My apathy was complete and blissful. Edited August 26, 2010 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 Oh, it's over? Good to know. I'm happy to say I didn't watch a single second of the YOG. My apathy was complete and blissful. welcome to the club [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 Oh, it's over? Good to know. I'm happy (and proud) to say I didn't watch a single second of the YOG. My apathy was complete and blissful. now to drive with PEACE on the roads without giving way to the 'you know what' mother father own the road buses :angry: :angry: :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 now to drive with PEACE on the roads without giving way to the 'you know what' mother father own the road buses :angry: :angry: :angry: But when the YOG vehicles see your work vehicle approaching, *they* will give way to *you*. Bus drivers can be quite a pantang lot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 But when the YOG vehicles see your work vehicle approaching, *they* will give way to *you*. Bus drivers can be quite a pantang lot. oh yes, they should normally be behind in any entourage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 now to drive with PEACE on the roads without giving way to the 'you know what' mother father own the road buses :angry: :angry: :angry: Anyway, you always drive with PEACE. REST IN PEACE. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...