Kingcopa 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 i always got this qns... duno who can ans me. If u are in the YOG lane stuck in a heavy traffic congestion and happen a YOG bus behind u.... does that consider failure to give way to YOG vehicle will get fine or dedutc points or not ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 (edited) its their foreign investment policies and incentives that open up the economy in early 90s if not they still stuck there.. so u saying we stucked forever if no population increase? then India should already powerhouse by now Edited August 17, 2010 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 ok. now i am convinced of the need to do YOG i think next time, they need to properly explain why there is a need for unpopular decisions so that there will be buy in Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 F1 doesnt force students to 'volunteer' to help. F1 does not utiltise lanes which we need to give way or else fine. FI only lock the public facilities around city hall area unless YOG which occupies many public facilities. not forgetting F1 does advertise Singapore. Its tv audience rivals that of world cup or epl. YOG? probably only those with mio, starhub and local channels got viewership. starhub must be wondering why didn't they bid higher for epl. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 i always got this qns... duno who can ans me. If u are in the YOG lane stuck in a heavy traffic congestion and happen a YOG bus behind u.... does that consider failure to give way to YOG vehicle will get fine or dedutc points or not YOG vehicles have the same priority as emergency vehicles.... so what do you think??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 yday i browsed my mio,no leh only Tv5 got show nia.. but SH got some channels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 If you think about how we won the bid to host the first YOG, you will realise the benefits We do not suddenly became a force that can compete with Moscow overnight. It takes a lot to build up such a name and reputation as a Country and city and all the previous events we have successfully hosted plays a part If Ho Chi Minh City or Jakarta were to bid to host YOG, do you think they will stand a chance against Moscow? FYI the five shortlisted were:Athens (Greece), Bangkok (Thailand), Moscow (Russia), Singapore and Turin (Italy). We beat out Greece!!! the country where the first omlypics was held, and we beat out Bangkok and Turin too. How did we manage to do that??? Just by pure luck??? Or was it our reputation which is derived from what we have done and how we portrayed ourselves to the international areana in recent years? Just like the people who voted at the IOC, businesses and commercial communities and international organisations have a certain impression of Singapore. The one which helped win her the right to host the first ever YOG. And this hosting of YOG will build up their reputation even more, in intangible ways that you and I do not see immediately. If you remember the bidding process, we more or less got it by default. Cos the IOC President said then that it will give the YOG to a country who has never hosted a "big-scale sports event" before (i.e. us). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 The only benefit i see is Mr Teo getting promotion after the Games Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlau Clutched August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 what do u understand by this sentence " In like manner the youth olympic is a young persons' passage to positioned performance. It will help our next generation to have aim and dreams. So when they grow up they wont be like their parent, talk like frog in the well, sky is not bigger than 50cents coin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 It will help our next generation to have aim and dreams. So when they grow up they wont be like their parent, talk like frog in the well, sky is not bigger than 50cents coin. dreams will shot down fast when they realise home prices worth 100000x more than their backside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 dreams will shot down fast when they realise home prices worth 100000x more than their backside I think our kids will realistically have to emigrate in order to afford housing. If now the next generation- definately the next generation (our grandkids) - 3rm HDB would probably cost $1million from HDB at "subsidised" rate! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 ya this will be the intangible benefits we will see very soon,so we are frog in the well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 i always got this qns... duno who can ans me. If u are in the YOG lane stuck in a heavy traffic congestion and happen a YOG bus behind u.... does that consider failure to give way to YOG vehicle will get fine or dedutc points or not That's why it is good time to install a DVD Cam in the vehicle....... Got summon, show to TP the video of the jam....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 That's why it is good time to install a DVD Cam in the vehicle....... Got summon, show to TP the video of the jam....... Brudder, careful hor ... don't aim wrong side and shoot home movee. My bad, sorry sorry neke neke. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Seriously what do you think ? Seriously....aside from wasted tax-payer monie, I can't even bothered about the Event. Come the next heavy storm I wanna know which street to go canoeing or when DBS ATM screw up or when the next terrorist great-escapade or when the daily living cost falls......those I bother Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 The only benefit i see is Mr Teo getting promotion after the Games this i agree. Super ball carrier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear August 18, 2010 Share August 18, 2010 (edited) Seriously what do you think ? If you look at us as Singapore Pte Ltd, then what we are doing is marketing. Higher visibility and credibility.. that will prob attract foreign investments etc... but with more money pouring in, if you are not the one benefiting, then you are in deep sh!t. Edited August 18, 2010 by Chrispie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear August 18, 2010 Share August 18, 2010 If you look at us as Singapore Pte Ltd, then what we are doing is marketing. Higher visibility and credibility.. that will prob attract foreign investments etc... but with more money pouring in, if you are not the one benefiting, then you are in deep sh!t. Exactly.... I think hosting SYOG would be more of a marketing strategy about re-branding SG... Look at the two IRs, F1 race,etc.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...