Babyt 4th Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 i managed to see pictures of poor attendance at the YOG concert...so pathetic. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 If you think about how we won the bid to host the first YOG, you will realise the benefits We do not suddenly became a force that can compete with Moscow overnight. It takes a lot to build up such a name and reputation as a Country and city and all the previous events we have successfully hosted plays a part If Ho Chi Minh City or Jakarta were to bid to host YOG, do you think they will stand a chance against Moscow? FYI the five shortlisted were:Athens (Greece), Bangkok (Thailand), Moscow (Russia), Singapore and Turin (Italy). We beat out Greece!!! the country where the first omlypics was held, and we beat out Bangkok and Turin too. How did we manage to do that??? Just by pure luck??? Or was it our reputation which is derived from what we have done and how we portrayed ourselves to the international areana in recent years? Just like the people who voted at the IOC, businesses and commercial communities and international organisations have a certain impression of Singapore. The one which helped win her the right to host the first ever YOG. And this hosting of YOG will build up their reputation even more, in intangible ways that you and I do not see immediately. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johorat 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 (edited) If you think about how we won the bid to host the first YOG, you will realise the benefits We do not suddenly became a force that can compete with Moscow overnight. It takes a lot to build up such a name and reputation as a Country and city and all the previous events we have successfully hosted plays a part If Ho Chi Minh City or Jakarta were to bid to host YOG, do you think they will stand a chance against Moscow? FYI the five shortlisted were:Athens (Greece), Bangkok (Thailand), Moscow (Russia), Singapore and Turin (Italy). We beat out Greece!!! the country where the first omlypics was held, and we beat out Bangkok and Turin too. How did we manage to do that??? Just by pure luck??? Or was it our reputation which is derived from what we have done and how we portrayed ourselves to the international areana in recent years? Just like the people who voted at the IOC, businesses and commercial communities and international organisations have a certain impression of Singapore. The one which helped win her the right to host the first ever YOG. And this hosting of YOG will build up their reputation even more, in intangible ways that you and I do not see immediately. IOC selection process has a dirty history of bribery and under table dealings.. We did try to bribe the Jamaican by upgrading their stadium below market price? Is there anything we still don't know? Edited August 17, 2010 by Johorat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 oops guess i was in the wrong frequency... my apologies ok let the bashing begin.... again! YOG!! Oh yeah oh yeah oh yeah HOY! Gimme a "Y" Why? Gimme a "O" Oohh? Gimme a "G" Gee? What does it spell? Why Oohh Gee?? Ask Dr Pyramid lor . . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 in intangible ways that you and I do not see immediately. all i can say is SGD 387,000,000 is alot of zeros... they better be all spend properly since its our tax $... we doubt their ability ever since temasick G!C with its skorlars made the UBS/shittygroup investments & lost BILLIONS... i guess wat is 387m compared to BILLIONs lost rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 IOC must be thanking their lucky stars that Moscow did not win, they will be choked with smog if the games was held there now.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 i managed to see pictures of poor attendance at the YOG concert...so pathetic. SHHhhhhh! Don't say pathetic leh . . . . Later kena bashed by this FT guy who just got his citizenship. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 IOC selection process has a dirty history of bribery and under table dealings.. We did try to bribe the Jamaican by upgrading their stadium below market price? Is there anything we still don't know? SHHHhhhhh . . . but we got prawned by them right? Heah heah heah . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 (edited) i wondering what we benefit intangible..like? Exposure to the world?"Singapore,wow YOG!!" like this? China did so many events, when they came..any one "WOW!!World Expo, Beijing 2008?" all also ah tiong here n there...go oversea worst calling even $$$ pour here, how much citizens gain? the side effect worst still... increase pay?HDB cheaper?transport cheaper?rebate cheaper??the bubble bigger,the worst it will get.. any of these all is a cheaper one???? Alot companies set up base HQ here etc coz its 1 of the easiest place to do bizness,security,no natural disaster thats all...the main attractions thats all know why China pick up so fast in past decade?do they do all these events first to attract investors??NO,go check their policy in bizness will know why... my view is just realistic thats all.. Edited August 17, 2010 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 SHHHhhhhh . . . but we got prawned by them right? Heah heah heah . . . I still prefer soft shell crab ....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 YOG!! Oh yeah oh yeah oh yeah HOY! Gimme a "Y" Why? Gimme a "O" Oohh? Gimme a "G" Gee? What does it spell? Why Oohh Gee?? Ask Dr Pyramid lor . . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Singapore will definitely sink one day given it's rapid development..... looking forward to that day.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Feel its for a mkting purpose, let more ppl in this planet know abt our country, which in turn may increase the number of new immigrants to spore to replace sporean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrbms 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 mus b 1st in a lot of things... 1st F1 nite race.. 1st YOG.. 1st blah blah blha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 yeah.... now all the singapore drivers drive like F1 drivers... eh...F1 also got invehicle camera wan... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 F1 about 60% fund supported so not 100% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 (edited) F1 doesnt force students to 'volunteer' to help. F1 does not utiltise lanes which we need to give way or else fine. FI only lock the public facilities around city hall area unless YOG which occupies many public facilities. Edited August 17, 2010 by Babyt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 know why China pick up so fast in past decade?do they do all these events first to attract investors??NO,go check their policy in bizness will know why... my view is just realistic thats all.. bro, China got insane number of population to support ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...