SimonTan 2nd Gear August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 MM Lee: 4 values drive S'pore Mon, Aug 16, 2010 my paper HIGH integrity among its leaders and meritocracy are two of four basic values that laid the foundation for Singapore's success over the past 45 years, said Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew last night. "Everyone can get to the top as political leaders, MPs," he said, or through "the civil service and statutory boards". People get to where they are on merit, not through guanxi, nepotism or corruption, he added. Guanxi is Mandarin for "connections and social reputation". He was addressing more than 1,000 residents and grassroots leaders at a National Day dinner for his constituency at Tanjong Pagar Community Centre. He said: "No policy is skewed as a result of personal benefit or profits." Having a level playing field for all citizens is the third basic value. He said: "No one is advantaged by our national policies, whatever their race, language or religion." >>Too much negativity lately...this man has to come out to reassure once more!<< The fourth value is the use of English as the working language, which has made Singapore the business, banking and communications hub it is today. He went on to say that the country's problems are "not unique" and that about 70 per cent of them were faced and solved by other nations. However, he said, the Government has "studied how they have managed their problems and why some are more successful than others. Then we extracted the principles to adapt and modify them to fit our society". The nation has also harnessed innovation to find its own solutions. For instance, it implemented he Electronic Road Pricing to control city congestion and alleviated its water shortage with Newater, which reclaims water via membrane technology.Knowledge for Compliance and Control Other cities, such as those in China and the Gulf states, have in turn approached Singapore companies to tackle water recycling and waste management. Moreover, Singapore's policies are "not set in stone", MM Lee said. They are continuously re-examined and modified along with changing world circumstances. He gave the example of how the Government was against Formula One racing for many decades because the city was crowded and allowing it would encourage people to race on roads. >>Wait a minute, he meant that 10-20years ago the road was already crowded? << However, it was given the green light when the Government recognised that "the F1 has a jet-set following and could generate economic spin-offs". >>Ok Ok..from his statement am i right to say....$$$ first.....singaporean last perhaps?<< MM Lee said: "It has been a sparkling success." >>For WHO??? Who Gain?<< Most significantly, to build a vibrant country that creates jobs for all, he reiterated the need for an exceptionally strong government with "the ablest, the toughest and most dedicated" leaders". He said: "We headhunt for them and test them out in heavy responsibilities. Only such leaders can keep the economy growing and create good jobs and generate revenue to pay for the equipment and training of our 3G (third-generation) SAF." However, one area in which Singapore has done poorly is its fertility rate. MM Lee said: "We will nearly halve our population in one generation." >>HE must have forgotten his previous policy.<< As a result, the Government has had to select immigrants from Malaysia, China, India and the region. Although the first generation would take time to assimilate because of different cultures and habits, "their children will grow up Singaporeans". "We must help them to integrate into our society, not exclude them," he concluded. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 more like a has-been Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 the grand master has come out more frequently these days.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo "No policy is skewed as a result of personal benefit or profits." really merh? last i heard, ministers earn a shitload of $$$$$$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear August 16, 2010 Author Share August 16, 2010 The stoic prata man's recital and the bored son caught sleeping at event. Of course the father has to come out to do damage control lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 kio yi ki hong kan la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 Didn't bother with these speeches for years now. Do they have live animations or special effects nowadays? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 time to slp liao la [sleeping] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Summer69 Clutched August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 (edited) ever wonder we always whine & whine about gahmen in the internet, will we be forever be condemned as peasants, to be cast away from holding high level jobs & key/ sensitive appointments, becoming a celebrities or joining an opposition? This is because all comments in the internet will be cached, it can be digged out, traced and will be used against us.......if one day sway sway or heng heng we become very famous bizman, leaders or VIP. I think the more we whine, the less a threat we are, if you know what i mean. just a though.... Edited August 16, 2010 by Summer69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 Sigh just met 3 arrogant unfriendly FTs in the lift on the way to work just now..This nation is on the way down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear August 16, 2010 Author Share August 16, 2010 Only Kiasi obedient citizen will keep quiet and not raise a voice when injustice and unequality is brought upon oneself. THis type of citizen gov like. Just like a obedient toilet cleaner who never report sick and works OT, for the $600 every month, while the Boss enjoys his KTV in his S-class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 ever wonder we always whine & whine about gahmen in the internet, will we be forever be condemned as peasants, to be cast away from holding high level jobs & key/ sensitive appointments, becoming a celebrities or joining an opposition? This is because all comments in the internet will be cached, it can be digged out, traced and will be used against us.......if one day sway sway or heng heng we become very famous bizman, leaders or VIP. I think the more we whine, the less a threat we are, if you know what i mean. just a though.... simple, as long u pro-pap when make it rich, they wont "fix" you... actually, they will love to be friend with you.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 How to increase fertility rate? - Supply every couple an affordable HDB flat - at COST price, not subsidized market price. This will straight away take away a hefty burden of at least 200K. Dun need import simi FT (foreign talent/trash). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Summer69 Clutched August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 Only Kiasi obedient citizen will keep quiet and not raise a voice when injustice and unequality is brought upon oneself. THis type of citizen gov like. Just like a obedient toilet cleaner who never report sick and works OT, for the $600 every month, while the Boss enjoys his KTV in his S-class. I think the bizman, professionals, new citizen, housewives, very senior citizens, and those whose salary that comes from taxpayer's money will be very quiet. young or working adults & women are more on the 50/50 side, very blur & bochap. only the "dis grunted" middle/ low working class, unemployed, old men sitting in coffeeshop, retail stock traders, retrenched/ replaced workers are the big whiners. the above my views only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Summer69 Clutched August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 (edited) simple, as long u pro-pap when make it rich, they wont "fix" you... actually, they will love to be friend with you.... i want to be pro leh, but wined too much in the past, got record u see, wait they dig skeletons out & i become celebrities in the mass media how??? saw a joke about a young adult going to join the workforce and wished that there is a software being able to delete all his blogs, stupid act pictures of himself, facebook entries, forums comments...... bra bra bra. Edited August 16, 2010 by Summer69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 People get to where they are on merit, not through guanxi, nepotism or corruption, he added. Guanxi is Mandarin for "connections and social reputation". Yeah, right... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Summer69 Clutched August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 (edited) How to increase fertility rate? - Supply every couple an affordable HDB flat - at COST price, not subsidized market price. This will straight away take away a hefty burden of at least 200K. Dun need import simi FT (foreign talent/trash). import, outsource is the buzz word. Import FT and get more CPF, Levy, Housing income, grocery income, F& B income, medical, schools fee the list goes on....= GDP increased. i think clones citizens will be in the not so far future. Edited August 16, 2010 by Summer69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
New_Atlantis 3rd Gear August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 However, one area in which Singapore has done poorly is its fertility rate. MM Lee said: "We will nearly halve our population in one generation." >>HE must have forgotten his previous policy.<< As a result, the Government has had to select immigrants from Malaysia, China, India and the region. Although the first generation would take time to assimilate because of different cultures and habits, "their children will grow up Singaporeans". "We must help them to integrate into our society, not exclude them," he concluded. I heard this on the radio just now, He does make sense anymore, and the old man should really just learn to keep his mouth shut. If he fades out of the picture, history may still remember him as a leader that contributed to Singapore. 20 years ago Singaporeans were told to stop bonking, then 8 years ago they want more babies. WTF! They want an 8 year old kid to enter the workforce?!? If they are really sincere about this new policy, they should mandate that all FT must bring their family to Singapore. so we get ready made babies. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...