Jp66 5th Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 How to have interest in local sports? Frankly speaking, I will worry if my kid would take sports as a career in Singapore... I guess most of the parents will worry ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 just look at the training programme of foreign athletes.... they started training from young.... ours??? they only care about studies (which is important, no doubt), but to compete with those who have been training since they were 5??? too big a hat ain't it to try and beat them??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming89 Neutral Newbie August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 Sorry my mistake. She is participating in their Superleague representing Beijing. But still, the feeling when a FT wins and a real local wins is entirely different. I understand how u feel. As for li jia wei...she has been here since 6 yrs old. So that kinda makes her one of us but for the others, where they barely have 5 yrs of citizenship, i am also not really proud of their achievements. Thts what i feel...haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 Dunno about u guys... But for other sports events, whenever news report Singapore won, first question came to my mind: " A real Singaporean, or a bought-over foreign sportsman? " Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cam Neutral Newbie August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 One thing's for sure, YOG Opening Ceremony sux big time. Damn lao kwee watching it, no creativity at all. PATHETIC!! I rather watch my goldfish poop. What do you think? You r another wet blanket....... how u define creativity? Pls lah.... u say lao kwee, give constructive comments and suggestions lah.... The show got the elements of theater typical of Ivan Heng. seen one before anot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maldini03 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 I don't get it.... why the negativity...why the need for people (of all why American) to recognize or acknowledge our effort....THe fact is as a nation we are forever in History...THe first country to host Youth Olympic Games... Why bash your own countrymen? Why bash your children, nieces, nephews or cousins or any relatives tat volunteered n took part in the preparation n the actual events? What pride does that give u or what does tat say abt ur mentality??? No doubt they had been over budgetting, some food catering screw up...but tell me if u had known any big scale events tat never had any hiccups? Come on people, if u are Singaporeans, juz sit back n enjoy wat our little nation is capable of....we can be sore abt gvt issues/policies, stupidity or inconsistency of our leaders...but when credit is due...PLEASE STAND UP N ACKNOWLEDGE.... if u r really so sore abt the current gvt, let ur vote decide in the next election...Do we have a better alternative? OR when the crunch comes, all the loud voice people become ballless?...ok abit overboard... I don't agree w a lot of gvt policies too, but I acknowledge all our people committment n dedication in ensuring tat YOG is smooth flowing!! Hormat Senjatat! I totally agreed... It is always the same few suspects that whin and whin. They reminds me of those "hokkien peng" in my army platoon. Very Negative!! whinned abt the government, reservist, recent flooding(even thou they are not affected), transport(even thou they dun drive), bosses, inflation, etc. Worst thing is go around and whin and spread negatively, influencing others with their negatively. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cam Neutral Newbie August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 (edited) Ok. Tell me within these 2.5 years what was built up from scratch? Which stadium or pools or running track was totally newly built just for this YOG? If it's just refurbishment, then half a year is more than enough. Refurbish only half a year enuff? you play lego want ah? KNN SG only 1 stadium meh? all other planning no need ah? Write the proposal for the bid already take 8mths.... Brudder u leaving on air lah! SengKang Hockey pitch was built within the last 2 years fyi! Edited August 15, 2010 by Cam Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maldini03 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 I visited States a yr ago, and there was once I went to into a stores and bought something. The sales assistant, commented that my english is quite good for a chinese and asked me where do I come from? I told her Singapore, she asked me which part of China does that belong to. We should't be too complacent, we are not as popular as we think. The past excellence of SIA etc has put us on the world map. If we dun continue to market ourselves, we will be slowly forgotten and our rivals will eventually catch up, which meant a loss of business which resulted in the loss of our jobs and a shrinking economy. I dun totally agreed with some of the policies set either, which I think could have more thoroughtly plan. But on a hindsight, there is no perfect policy and the million dollar qn is "can u do a better job in running the whole country" if not, why complained so much? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 they will! cos some of them don't even know we exist!! hahahaha. ah well.. but seriously it really depends on their level of interest in the games. it's the games bringing attention to SG more than the other way round i feel. side note, i watched most of the ceremony and learnt of the existence of quite a number of countries that i never even heard of before... nah. they will still think its part of china. "like fking azns. china got both olympics! it was beijing and now its singapore" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 tis sk hockey pitch is going to another white elephant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 I visited States a yr ago, and there was once I went to into a stores and bought something. The sales assistant, commented that my english is quite good for a chinese and asked me where do I come from? I told her Singapore, she asked me which part of China does that belong to. We should't be too complacent, we are not as popular as we think. The past excellence of SIA etc has put us on the world map. If we dun continue to market ourselves, we will be slowly forgotten and our rivals will eventually catch up, which meant a loss of business which resulted in the loss of our jobs and a shrinking economy. I dun totally agreed with some of the policies set either, which I think could have more thoroughtly plan. But on a hindsight, there is no perfect policy and the million dollar qn is "can u do a better job in running the whole country" if not, why complained so much? US education is such that they hardly learn about other countries. Their map is always drawn macam, US is a big island, without the top Canada and bottom Mexico. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 (edited) Being brought up in M'sia, I'd sure say S'pore government is whole lot better than M'sia. OK, some people may ask, if compare with lousier country then don't need to improve already laa.... Sure, there are still lots of room for improvements here, but what would YOU do to make it better? Damn if they don't do anything, damn if they do... how????? Edited August 15, 2010 by Tjkbeluga Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 Bro u r absolutely correct... Instead of whining n bitching....provide constructive feedback. ezy to criticize...but not ezy to offer constructive feedback. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 Recently, I always see this signboard along the major roads "Giveway 5 - 29 Aug", isn't YOG already started on 5 Aug? Ya...Every morning...These f**king board make me blood boiling...Phui! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kensk Clutched August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 Bro u r absolutely correct... Instead of whining n bitching....provide constructive feedback. ezy to criticize...but not ezy to offer constructive feedback. Many feedbacks have fallen on deaf ears. Just look at the Hong Lim park. Who bothers to go there nowadays. The only way to get heard is through election. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
themagi Neutral Newbie August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 You mean before this Singapore is unknown to the world. What has the government been doing for the past 40 years? I didn't see any International media giving prominence coverage of the event. In fact many of the media don't even mention YOG. Spending $400m for international exposure??? Fact is no many people are interested in this Mickey Mouse Game. History will be the judge, just like we look back at Athens 1896. That Greece also bid for the Games is a positive sign that Singapore is in esteemed company when it also tried to bring the games here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 15, 2010 Share August 15, 2010 speaking of SIA, no doubt it has brought recognition to the name=> Singapore but as for who or what we are actually, or where we are on the map, people out there still think we're part of China.... and with so many Foreign Workers, it's no doubt they'll still have this impression when they come here as tourists.... and SIA has slackened over the years....it's competitors have overtaken them in terms of service, cabin comfort, entertainment, etc.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...