Strudel- 1st Gear August 16, 2010 Author Share August 16, 2010 (edited) are there race tracks in aus for u to race? if so share you experience with the skyline? Yes there are. We have 3 that I know of in Brisbane. Theres willowbank (drag), queensland raceway aka qr(track) and lakeside raceway (where a couple of my photos are taken). Current plan is end of this year or early next year I'll start doing time attack. I'm fairly new to the scene and only had gone for 1 drag race and 1 track race. The drag race was my last and I doubt I'll be doing any more until I got a new clutch. Track was fun but again I doubt I'll do more until I saved up for the Nismo clutch. My quarter mile time wasnt impressive for the power I'm pushing (13.5s and should be mid 12s) due to clutch not biting well. Also after 3 launches (6500rpm) I'm have some weirdass sound when engaging reverse gear. My mechanic told me its a loose throwout bearing and it wouldnt be an issue. The sound went away after the car cooled down and was never heard again. I did 4 runs during the drag day and 1 was just a normal 4500rpm launch (bogged down), 1 5500rpm (ok only) and 2 6500rpm, now thats heavenly. A hard launch at that rpm would definately be below 5s for 0-100km/h. Track is entirely different. All I can say is what people say about anyone can drive a GTR well is pretty true. You dont really need a lot of skills to drive them decently. But most of the time you'll be in 2-3gears and keeping between 5000-7000rpm (although most GTR owners I know keeps between 6000-8000). 2nd gear is good enough for 120-130km/h and really you'll be looking at above 200km/h with 4th and can only be done at straights. Although this is fun, mountain runs are way more exciting (I'm a pretty safe driver when it comes to this and dont push my limits). This little toy can handle really well. For anyone that doesnt know, GTR's Attesa AWD system is not like Evo or Rexies. They're not technically AWD. Heres the answer from Wiki, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ATTESA Actually theres a couple of photos from the drag race and a youtube video as well. I'll post them up when I'm back at camp after work later. Edited August 16, 2010 by Strudel- ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear August 16, 2010 Share August 16, 2010 i think u are pushing the vehicle too hard man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strudel- 1st Gear August 16, 2010 Author Share August 16, 2010 i think u are pushing the vehicle too hard man Erm... I'm one of the granny drivers liao leh. Dont be surprised by the launch rpm because thats VERY NORMAL for GTRs here. Any other RPM your car will bog down and we dont want that during drag do we? Launching at 6500rpm makes you feel like the car is flying... Turbo lag doesnt exist! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strudel- 1st Gear August 16, 2010 Author Share August 16, 2010 Heres the pictures. and the video... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 nice ride mate....I've got a friend who recently got a white R33 GTR also in Melbourne. Just joined the forum and thought I might share my mistress with everyone. She's a 1995 series 1 R33 GTR V-Spec N1 (N1 being the same variant used for Nissan Group A racing). I was told by a trusted source that only 98 R33 N1s were built. Below is some difference between the standard GTR and the N1. - The RB26DETT N1 is an upgraded version of the standard RB26DETT engine. It was first developed by Nismo for Group A racing purposes. - water cooling channels in the block are enhanced to increase flow. The block, and internal components are also strengthened. - The pistons have 1.2 mm (0.047 in) top rings - Balanced Crankshaft, The specifications of the camshafts were also improved for power. - The N1 engine uses the same parallel twin turbocharger layout but with improved turbochargers. The N1 engine also received an upgraded oil pump and water pump, to improve the cooling and lubrication of the engine. The N1 engine is identified by its 24U number stamped on the block, as opposed to the 05U stamp on standard RB26DETT engines. It also came stock with an oil cooler. - The turbine wheels on the new turbochargers are made from steel, rather than the weaker ceramic used for all standard GT-R models. The R33 N1 engine was slightly revised, with larger turbochargers than the R32 N1 engine, supporting more power if the engine were to be modified. - They were advertised as making the same 280 PS (276 hp) as the standard model, but with the lighter engine parts, and more efficient turbochargers, the engine would make closer to 350 hp (260 kW). - No "luxury" options which includes, air-conditioner, floor mats, rear wind screen wiper and radio/CD player. I've owned the car more 1.5 years and below are some mods which I have done. 1) Nismo Monoblock Forged LMGT4 18"x9.5" +12 rims with Bridgestone Potenza RE050A 285/30/18 2) Trust Full Titanium Catback Ti-R 3) Apexi Power FC ECU 4) Apexi Power FC Boost Controller Kit 5) Just Jap Racing Ceramic Hi-flow Cat (cheapo Aus brand) 6) HKS Stainless Steel Front Pipe 7) Air-con (this is acutally the first mod as the car doesnt come with it) 8) Tein Super Street Coilover Heres a couple of my favourite photos. My Wife's Beetle and my Mistress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercur1al Clutched August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Erm... I'm one of the granny drivers liao leh. Dont be surprised by the launch rpm because thats VERY NORMAL for GTRs here. Any other RPM your car will bog down and we dont want that during drag do we? Launching at 6500rpm makes you feel like the car is flying... Turbo lag doesnt exist! You need launch control. Nothing beats launch control... unless u manually load the engine...then its a different matter. The difference is....you might be launching at 6500rpm...but with 0 boost if u dun load the engine. I am launching at 5800rpm but with almost 1 bar of boost already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strudel- 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Author Share August 17, 2010 nice ride mate....I've got a friend who recently got a white R33 GTR also in Melbourne. Thanks. He's probably on the Skylines Australia forum too. You need launch control. Nothing beats launch control... unless u manually load the engine...then its a different matter. The difference is....you might be launching at 6500rpm...but with 0 boost if u dun load the engine. I am launching at 5800rpm but with almost 1 bar of boost already. Good point! I should check the next time when I'm rev-ing. I never bother looking at the boost gauge ever... lolz. Only check the power fc commander for the max during that time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercur1al Clutched August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Hmm no idea if power FC has launch control but i would expect so.... Its a no brainer to launch after that. Just full throttle, ECU limits ur rev to a preset level and this creates loading on the engine which generates boost... So in fact u will be full throttling ur car, rev held at maybe 6k (depending on your tuner), and already building boost... just waiting for the lights to turn green. Only concern is to slip ur clutch.....else the huge strain might break ur gb or clutch after repeated launches. Normal soft launch....u are launching with maybe 100bhp... no boost plus low rpm. With launch control.....u are launching with maybe....300bhp or more depending on ur boost levels.... the strain is triple or more! But if u think launching at 7k is heavenly...wait till u try launching at 7k rpm WITH boost... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strudel- 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Author Share August 17, 2010 Hmm no idea if power FC has launch control but i would expect so.... Its a no brainer to launch after that. Just full throttle, ECU limits ur rev to a preset level and this creates loading on the engine which generates boost... So in fact u will be full throttling ur car, rev held at maybe 6k (depending on your tuner), and already building boost... just waiting for the lights to turn green. Only concern is to slip ur clutch.....else the huge strain might break ur gb or clutch after repeated launches. Normal soft launch....u are launching with maybe 100bhp... no boost plus low rpm. With launch control.....u are launching with maybe....300bhp or more depending on ur boost levels.... the strain is triple or more! But if u think launching at 7k is heavenly...wait till u try launching at 7k rpm WITH boost... Trust me I'd like to try that BUT, until I get the gearbox rebuilt and new clutch, I probably wouldnt do it (very tempted though). Really feels good. Its just like the picture of the drag. Notice how the rear suspension was all the way down and the front was lifted, wheel spin was negligible too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strudel- 1st Gear September 12, 2010 Author Share September 12, 2010 The car's been defected and gone 50mm higher now... so unglam. Also, s--t bonus this year, meaning clutch and gearbox rebuilt will need to be put back. SIAN! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear September 12, 2010 Share September 12, 2010 我要买 gtr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TRD 2nd Gear September 12, 2010 Share September 12, 2010 nice pic bro keep it up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ez_rider Neutral Newbie September 12, 2010 Share September 12, 2010 Ya.Nice pics,bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear September 12, 2010 Share September 12, 2010 (edited) 我要买 gtr Click - 我要做車手 Another good memory - Can't edit my post, juz click the youtube link for some memories... Edited September 12, 2010 by Xspace Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strudel- 1st Gear September 12, 2010 Author Share September 12, 2010 Hahaha. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strudel- 1st Gear December 21, 2010 Author Share December 21, 2010 Just realised I didnt post these. Will post some pictures of the new Project MU slotted rotors I'm get them in a couple of weeks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 I WISH I COULD DO THAT. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...