SINGAPORE: Youth Games Expose Olympic-sized Cracks

Mockngbrd

http://australia.to/2010/index.php?option=...&Itemid=201

SINGAPORE, Aug 9 (IPS) - Just a month after the buzz from the vuvuzelas ended at the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa, Singapore is busy preparing to host the next major event in the world sports calendar the Youth Olympic Games. But few seem to know, or care, about the inaugural youth version of the venerable Olympic Games.

An online survey by state-controlled media Channel News Asia found that some 88 percent of 6,430 respondent said they were

pple up there will be thinking "peasants,dont know anything about this event,the signicant"

we the people will be thinking "waste$,who will go watch"

if pple up there can think and feedbacks from we the pple who are the audiences,who stand our feet on the ground and expose to various environment one or etc,then the success rate of doing up an event will be higher..

but anyway,even own pple dun support much, issit success?in hokkien is call "Ka ki kong,ka ki chio" ownself joke,ownself laugh nia..

will we see hundreds or millions parading at streets if we won a medal etc?

pple up there will be thinking "peasants,dont know anything about this event,the signicant"

we the people will be thinking "waste$,who will go watch"

if pple up there can think and feedbacks from we the pple who are the audiences,who stand our feet on the ground and expose to various environment one or etc,then the success rate of doing up an event will be higher..

but anyway,even own pple dun support much, issit success?in hokkien is call "Ka ki kong,ka ki chio" ownself joke,ownself laugh nia..

will we see hundreds or millions parading at streets if we won a medal etc?

got. hundreds and hundreds of NS men and reservists who have been called up during this period. :D hope they provide free vuvus to them to add to the festivities!

actually how to not watch the games on TV???

most of the channels controlled by one and only broadcast company here for free-to-air....

will be showing the games at regulated time intervals on the various TV channels we have here....

confirm everybody will get a glimpse of the games one mah....

Quite true. Only until recently I knew there's a youth Olympic village. And now I know students are being chased out of their dorm to make way for them. What a "democratic society"?

And all the while I have been scratching my head where the sports events will be held when sgp have little or no sporting infrastructure. All I knew about YOG was to give way if I were to see their vehicles approaching in my rear view mirror. And the fine if I dun give way. Again very "democratic".

Although I hear a lot of talk about giving support to the event but I have no idea how to do it. I think best way to do it is to get out of their way. I think it was made very clear in the beginning.

Worse still even local event like ASEAN are no longer celebrated as important by singapore gahmen, how do you expect us to feel celebrated with a mini olympic

Edited by Joseph22

actually how to not watch the games on TV???

most of the channels controlled by one and only broadcast company here for free-to-air....

will be showing the games at regulated time intervals on the various TV channels we have here....

confirm everybody will get a glimpse of the games one mah....

Haha, I've removed my SCV set-top box and haven't attached an RF antenna.

I also eschew reading The Spayed Times (sic), Toady (sic), etc. I get my news from other sources, including blogs (which I trust to give a less biased spin to the news. Hey, at least their version tends to be more complete, from which I can draw my own conclusions).

I try to limit my propaganda dosage to a completely unavoidable bare minimum.

low view in venues..low viewer on tv..

LOL

totally gone case if so..haha!when they screen to the world..all empty one..lol

give me free i also cant be bothered to go..

but if SEA, i dont mind..totally different kind of stuffs

if thats consider high key..wah they happy dun noe like what [laugh]

If it is continous for 9days around, then consider high key.... then okay, should be happy..... but like the KNN NDP.... burn all weekend from Feb till Aug 9..... though much more than 9days, but because not continuos, it is not consider high key.... NBzz..... everyone prefer go back in camp training for 2 weeks, which is high key and fark off.....

its actually beri sad.

ys, the garmen kept having those statistics, surveys, telling us that our young ones wanna have a say in garmen policy

but when it comes to against their directions, this garmen just shut eberi ones' mouth - authocritic or dictatoric.......

example:

besides grand events like wto, f1, yog etc....

hdb upgrading, town council works, . . . . . does the garmen really measures the 75% agreement b4 they embark into this?

bus upgrades

road for bicycles track

fees on subsidised AE visits

pro-family policies such as maternity leaves, baby bonus etc....(BIG TIME FlOP! - yet pm lee now tell us to welcome ft instead - what a big joke!)

& many many more - deh r just wayang wayang oni.....

years ago, our garmen will spend thousands looking into the livelihood of the locals (poorer)

now, deh spent millions doing these nonsense events but still dat thousands but into looking the livelihood of the locals (poorer)

another examples: town council was set up (during goh ks's times) to develop neighborhood projects

but now, with million $ collected, deh still continue to suck blood from ppl but what have deh done besides losin' $ in their investments

sad! real sad!

Hello...all these the PM understands....its for the greater good.

PM understands our plight and sacrifice.

PM wants to give citizens first ok.

Have faith.

Hello...all these the PM understands....its for the greater good.

PM understands our plight and sacrifice.

PM wants to give citizens first ok.

Have faith.

anyway, we have good news! Local talent revealed, time to train him to be the next top marathon runner.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_564756.html

Edited by Zyrofillica