YOG volunteers' food... hahahaha...

Mockngbrd

i don't think its a sabo pic... i believe YOG food is that kok-ed up

even if most events are outdoor, who's going to want to sit out under the sun to have lunch?

Surely they'll look for a shaded place to eat

well, till now it is till our guess and believe, from 1 picture, maybe we sld follow that link and see what comes out at the end of the tunnel.

i read is $5.5million tender

for how many pple,divide etc..and we can ah ga know the quality

If it's $1+ a meal..then confirm liaoz..even in super big bulk..also cannot got such super price de la

actually, I did not follow news on YOG, never interested, it is from the link that I learn SFI won the tender at $5.5mil .

i read is $5.5million tender

for how many pple,divide etc..and we can ah ga know the quality

If it's $1+ a meal..then confirm liaoz..even in super big bulk..also cannot got such super price de la

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1056382/1/.html

SATS subsidiary wins catering contract for YOG

By Janice Teo | Posted: 13 May 2010 2006 hrs

SINGAPORE: A unit of Singapore Airport Terminal Services or SATS has clinched a S$5.5 million catering services contract to provide meals at the inaugural Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games.

The contract to Singapore Food Industries (SFI) includes the proposal for a meal ordering system and management of all meal requirements at the Youth Olympic Village or YOV and the games venues.

It also covers the provision of meals for up to 7,000 young athletes, games officials and volunteers at the YOV.

SATS President and CEO, Clement Woon said the contract win demonstrates that the company is well-positioned to access growth opportunities in the hospitality and tourism sectors at home.

The new contract is not expected to have any material impact on SATS' earnings for the current financial year. - CNA/vm

$5,500,000 / (7000 ppl x 3 meals a day x 22 days (5-26 Aug)) = $11.90 a meal.

welll .. quite simple to prove/disprove... since there are already a few YOG volunteers in MCF - why don't they put their mobile phones to good use and take pics of their meals together with several of their YOG volunteer kakis near a YOG tent or structure to prove they are there helping YOG.

SO .. if bad food or good food, the rest of the members can see and put their mind at rest.

Otherwise, there's always doubt...

good point.

but no point debating over 1 picture, YOG got nothing to do with me anyway. [laugh]

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1056382/1/.html

SATS subsidiary wins catering contract for YOG

By Janice Teo | Posted: 13 May 2010 2006 hrs

SINGAPORE: A unit of Singapore Airport Terminal Services or SATS has clinched a S$5.5 million catering services contract to provide meals at the inaugural Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games.

The contract to Singapore Food Industries (SFI) includes the proposal for a meal ordering system and management of all meal requirements at the Youth Olympic Village or YOV and the games venues.

It also covers the provision of meals for up to 7,000 young athletes, games officials and volunteers at the YOV.

SATS President and CEO, Clement Woon said the contract win demonstrates that the company is well-positioned to access growth opportunities in the hospitality and tourism sectors at home.

The new contract is not expected to have any material impact on SATS' earnings for the current financial year. - CNA/vm

wah lan ye, $11.90 a meal? KNN outsource some part also tau tau tan tan, and I am sure some part they outsource.

but that pack in the picture looks like at most 80 cent.

so $11.90 cant be liao

unless sports individuals food are better..

I think so la... the calculation above is just blanket averages based on reported figures.

But the atheletes and VIPs sure have better food:

http://www.todayonline.com/YOG/EDC100803-0...ood-paradise-,,,

A taste of what they'll eat

Breakfast:

- Cereal

- Different types of bread and spreads

- Scrambled eggs

- Sausages

Lunch:

- Spanish seafood paella

- Greek salad

- Indian chicken tikka

- Thailand's tom yum soup

Dinner:

- Africa's jollof rice

- Japanese sushi

- Italian spaghetti

- Persian kebab

- Chicken rice

In numbers (per day):

- 2 dining halls that can seat a total of 2,250 guests

- 5,534kg of rice and pasta

- 11,068kg of meat and seafood

- 18,186 eggs

- 7,476kg of fruits

- 94,736 litres of beverages

- 7,368kg of ice

The volunteers probably get the cheap stuff.

u haben deduct transport,costing etc etc leh

my side cater $10+ for morning and lunch..food v normal also..machiam u eat in hawker chup cai rice..

wah bro, u also very salty leh, morning and lunch $10 per head only, very good liao lah, normal catering anything under $15 is so so only for 1 meal leh, u got 2 leh. but than these are small catering co mah, less than 100 heads per event.

here 11.90 we are talking about 7000 heads, I think event select also cannot handle, mostly likely SFI outsource to some other catering ppl as well.

more like $8~ becos u did not factor in pre games operation and rehearsal

you cannot just divide the $5.5mil like that lah. $5.5 mil is the contract price. you still need to take care of logistic expense, transportation, manpower and packing materials etc.

my 10+ is $16 la [laugh] so u tell me salty bo? [laugh] lowest liao leh..tender is earned by volume ma..not big margin ..lol

some ad hoc one nice sia..got many seafood [laugh]

oh $16.....................sori I take back the salt. [:p]

Funny how everyone just embraced the picture as real! Don't you need to verify its source, especially when it come from hardwarezone? Even some people there are now questioning the authenticity of the picture.

This show either we are very gullible, or we are just happy got something to hamtam the government again. How pathetic! Government report something, always questions and doubts. But 'layman' put up something, just accept it and add oil and add sauce. How funny rite some of us are?!