Damienic 5th Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 I switch from ST to SH. The main reasons been lousy ST service. I have never encounter any network problem with SH, in fact, i found that SH is faster than ST. Recently SH free me a upgrade modem. much faster than before. free upgrade modem?? bloody hell...they ask me to pay for the upgrade modem le.. :angry: :angry: ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 Cable modem connected to linksys WLAN router. When cable modem DC, the PC will show internet connection lost. Had to power off and power on the modem + router to reestablish connection. It was happening too frequently. I suspect maybe cabling poor signal strength, as I have 2 cable tv box + 7 TV points. Looking at the overall robustness, either I spend tons of resorces troubleshooting or just jump ship. No regrets jumping ship. I am also using the same setup. but didn't encounter this problem leh. anyay i always believe, which provider you use, depend on which area you are living in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 I using starhub and doesn't experience slow speed but recently the disconections happened on a more frequent basis...something like once every 5-8 days or so...have to switch off and router/modem again then can work...previously think I experience disconnection probably only once every 1-2 months max.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 If you need to check your connection speed with starhub, you can access to this url.......http://utilities.starhub.com and then test your connection. If you did not get the correct speed of what you pay for, call starhub to complain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear August 11, 2010 Author Share August 11, 2010 No use complain to SH if the test shows slower connection speed. They will tell you because your area got more users, therefore slow lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leok777 Clutched August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 SH has never guaranteed their speeds. Their cable speeds are not Dedicated thats why they say upto xx Mbps DL/UL speed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear August 11, 2010 Share August 11, 2010 how come you need to always reboot the router??? did not encounter this problem for me before. im also using a linksys and im experiencing this problem with my maxonline premium Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear August 18, 2010 Author Share August 18, 2010 (edited) Today broadband connection slow again. I sent an enquiry to Starhub on 7th Aug, below is a reply from them: Thank you for your web form and we apologise for the delay in reply due to high volume of enquiries coming into StarHub. We wish to better understand the slow access that you are experiencing. Hence, we would appreciate it if you could provide us with the following, as this information will assist our engineers in their investigation: 1. HFC MAC ID (found at the barcode sticker on the cable modem): XXXXXXXXXXXX (Please verify) 2. Cable modem light status : 3. When did the issue start and what time the issue would occur most likely?: 4. Operating system (OS version / Service Pack): 5. Can the issue be resolved when with a direct connection between your PC and the cable modem (bypassing your router)? 6. Please list Firewall, anti-virus, peer-to-peer software running on on your PC. (Please include vendor and version) : 7. Would you encounter the same issue on a different PC? 8. Problem occur at which point (ie. Bed Room, Living Room): 9. Java Version (Refer to Network Utilities Guide.pdf for a guide to verify the Java version) : 10. Please connect your cable modem directly to the computer, bypassing any router when performing the following tests. : 3 x Download speed, ping statistic, traceroute to the website you experienced slow access, pathping, IP configuration detail. (Refer to Network Utilities Guide.pdf for the guide on how to obtain the information from our website) 11. How long does it take for you to load up the website that you experience slow access with? The following conditions must be fulfilled for an accurate test result: 1. Computer connected directly to cable modem (i.e. bypass the router, if any). 2. No wireless connection. 3. Latest Java plug-in (Download the latest at http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp <http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp> ) 4. Use Ethernet connection (UTP 100BaseT) whenever possible. 5. No other Internet software running If you have any questions on StarHub TV and MaxOnline services, please email to this address or fax in to 6720 5000. Thank you and we await your reply. To me, it's stupid to run through the steps to verify if my hardware got problem or not because i do not have slow connection before Aug'2010. That's what I replied, see what they say next. Edited August 18, 2010 by MadDog70 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altum Neutral Newbie August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 I too cannot stand the snail spped which Starhub is givng. So I googled and realized that it is happening to many people. I'm sick of calling ther customer service as it takes ages to get thru and usually nothing is done. Looks like the problem is not going to be solved as it can only get worse with more signups. It took me like 30 secs of waiting just to access the yahoo homepage, which used to be almost instant. I understand that M1 also uses cable sublet from STarhub, so the problem may be the same. The only alternative seems to be adsl. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 im also using a linksys and im experiencing this problem with my maxonline premium I am also using Linksys for wireless too leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 i these few nights also kena... after 10pm then keep dc liaoz... f--ked up starfark Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Yup, major screw up over the weekend... Tried playing World of Warcraft - the lag was terrible... The screen would literally freeze for 10 seconds at a time - the character is dead before you know it! WTF Rebooting the modem, the router and even bypassing the router will not resolve the issue!!! Surfing-wise, keep getting time outs and the ping to some websites are in the 4000ms region! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 Yup, major screw up over the weekend... Tried playing World of Warcraft - the lag was terrible... The screen would literally freeze for 10 seconds at a time - the character is dead before you know it! WTF Rebooting the modem, the router and even bypassing the router will not resolve the issue!!! Surfing-wise, keep getting time outs and the ping to some websites are in the 4000ms region! no problem with my Starcraft 2 online over starhub. could it be the region? which area do you guys live in? mine is Jurong area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Norzahari Neutral Newbie August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 (edited) pls pls asking for more feedbacks from users of the various ISPs especially in geylang area .moving in that area real soon.wonder which has less speed issues?? Edited August 24, 2010 by Norzahari Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 agree. i too could not even get a connection last night. damn pissed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 change to ST la... i was on SH 12mbps before did a speedtest max was like 4or5. peak ah... u can get 2 heng liao. change to ST 10mbps. im constantly getting 10+ 11. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear August 24, 2010 Author Share August 24, 2010 Power off your modem and on it, it works or me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear August 24, 2010 Share August 24, 2010 I've been streaming bpl live on my SH... no lag for 90 min leh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...