Starhub home network slow

MadDog70

Same here. Supposedly they recently upgraded my plan to 16Mbps but speedtest.net I tested hovers between 1+Mbps to 3+Mbps... <_<

I think it's time SH upgrade their old system to cater for mobile & home internet. With the increasing number of ppl signing up for mobile data plan for iphone, ipads, laptops and handphones, it's slowing down the internet speeds.

If this continues I will have to switch to Singtel which has more consistant internet speeds.

Used to be Starhub. Ever since the Taiwan earthquake which severed a major submarine cable. Starhub surfing experience has never been the same again. It takes alot of money to salvage and repair the cable and i doubt it has been done. My sources tell me that Starhub is part of a consortium of ISPs which own the submarine cable.

What has been done to mitigate this issue is traffic routing. That is, US bound traffic has been routed via the Asian continent. This is not really a tenable solution really.

The internet connection is better now, back to normal, maybe after my feedback to Starhub?

Now enjoying the fast network speed.

ah, this could be the reason why my YouTube was slow last few days. Was having slow connection on Monday, thought it was the national day effect.

thats bad. I am actually considering switching to SH from ST when my contract expires next year.

I can tolerate occasional slow speeds but not disconnections. Since my trusty mio modem (silver/grey) died, ST replaced it with the white one....and that was when the nitemares began. Disconnections happen almost on a daily basis!

thats bad. I am actually considering switching to SH from ST when my contract expires next year.

I can tolerate occasional slow speeds but not disconnections. Since my trusty mio modem (silver/grey) died, ST replaced it with the white one....and that was when the nitemares began. Disconnections happen almost on a daily basis!

ST always has disconnection problems, but speed wise is much faster than SH. I got both mio internet 3mbps and starhub 16mbps

yep

me kena oso

2 weeks or last week

whole week after 9pm, my IE cant load pictures need to keep refresh esp LOCAL sites.

until 12am

fedup...

now ok liao

I switched from SH to Singtel ADSL 1 yr ago, and I never regretted. Was with SH ever since they started cable modem.

SH always had to manually reboot the router, while Singtel integrated router auto reconnect during their rare occasion of DC.

I switched from SH to Singtel ADSL 1 yr ago, and I never regretted. Was with SH ever since they started cable modem.

SH always had to manually reboot the router, while Singtel integrated router auto reconnect during their rare occasion of DC.

how come you need to always reboot the router???

did not encounter this problem for me before.

how come you need to always reboot the router???

did not encounter this problem for me before.

Cable modem connected to linksys WLAN router.

When cable modem DC, the PC will show internet connection lost.

Had to power off and power on the modem + router to reestablish connection.

It was happening too frequently. I suspect maybe cabling poor signal strength, as I have 2 cable tv box + 7 TV points.

Looking at the overall robustness, either I spend tons of resorces troubleshooting or just jump ship.

No regrets jumping ship.

I am with SH when it first came to my block and the water tap effect wasn't too great because i was among the few who got them in my blocks and everything was nice and ever since the water tap effect kicks in it is rather slow and unstable to me.

Currently ST because move house and doesn't have SH yet that time. I wouldn't say ST is better because I had mio TV, home line and internet, when a call comes in then the internet connection will be gone and have to wait for like 5 mins before it is automatically up again. However, I would say that their service is slightly friendlier than SH bah.

I switch from ST to SH.

The main reasons been lousy ST service.

I have never encounter any network problem with SH, in fact, i found that SH is faster than ST. Recently SH free me a upgrade modem. much faster than before.