Pokyman 1st Gear August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 What to do ..... home grown males need to serve NS ... that is a fact ... there should not be any exception to the rule. Doesnt mean you are more talented means you can "siam" (of coz defer is understandable, coz u still need to serve). Does the sons of FTs need to serve as well? It is not mandatory riught? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 Actually not just Soccer... Look at other areas like Ballet, Music and other sports as well... All these, 2 years is alot of time.... Not even $$$ can buy back esp when these areas where the prime age is ard 18-20plus only... Hiaz... [shakehead] the gahmen prefer to buy instant success. but yet dun wanna come out big money. they only keen on table tennis cuz they dun haf to pump alot of money into the sport as compared to soccer. look at asslick. S$1.5m/yr as operating budget?? wtf..tats even lower then an average EPL player's wages! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 the gahmen prefer to buy instant success. but yet dun wanna come out big money. they only keen on table tennis cuz they dun haf to pump alot of money into the sport as compared to soccer. look at asslick. S$1.5m/yr as operating budget?? wtf..tats even lower then an average EPL player's wages! Ya la...Just look at the table tennis team... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 get offered a professional contract first then say Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 if fandi ever asked for my advice it'd be to let his kids take up foreign citizenship.... mindef don't want to look foolish giving preferential treatment to whoever it is. i'll be very surprised if they give exemptions etc. or change policies over this. its the most cover-your-ass org ever. they'll always follow set guidelines. then you can imagine those kids serving ns and playing for saffc, which is like a giant step backwards from where they could've been. not to mention other local players scything them down out of envy. but still its too early no matter what the reviews on them are. asian kids always have a knack of being super impressive in the pre-teen years... then something happens between 16-21 and all is quiet. but since their dad is different, hopefully they'll be moulded to become bigger stars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahseng 5th Gear August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 if can go europe don't go, play in Sleague instead, when they grow up it will be their biggest regret in their lives. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 Faster give up singaporean citizenship to escape NS ! playing for SAFFC/Home utd for 2 yrs is 2 yrs wasted when you can be playing in Europe... What in the world is he waiting for Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 (edited) Faster give up singaporean citizenship to escape NS ! playing for SAFFC/Home utd for 2 yrs is 2 yrs wasted when you can be playing in Europe... What in the world is he waiting for Not just Europe... Play in A, J , K -leagues are already good enough..... SLEAGUE is top 10 league in Asia... Please, don't make me laugh..... [laugh] It can be top 10....But not in terms of skills Edited August 6, 2010 by Mike1234 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear August 6, 2010 Author Share August 6, 2010 Think the days of selfless behavior is indeed over....pretty sad.....one should take care of his ar$e first before anything else...... It has come to a point that 'only the fittest survives' thus, make hay while the sun shines Selflessness behavior is still there, for example I always give up my seat in the MRT or bus when I see another person who needs it more. However, as head of my family, I placed family above all. You need to know that no one owns your ar$e a seat in the train or bus and you are not always lucky that someone will give up their seat for your young children or old parents. Some fortunate ones can afford a car to overcome this problem. Since old times, it has been a dog eat dog situation. Am I going to push my kid to her limit so that she can compete with the tonnes of talents that are attracted to our island or would I prefer to let give her space to live her life. I personally dun see the need to join the rat race for survival. There are still many livable places in the planet that we can go to. Its always about balance, you will gain something while you lose something else. Its about choices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear August 6, 2010 Author Share August 6, 2010 In case, you ppl still didn't get the message. He had already mentioned the NS portion and as a sports person, he has indirectly tell you the kids will most probably be Africans if they do get a professional contract. Wait for them to be awarded the contract then talk lar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 (edited) you make your own choices. as parents, how many prepared to support their kids the way Joscelin Yeo's parents did? only know how to blame cheng hu. NZ also got small population but can send undefeated team to WC2010. talent only brings your halfway, the rest of the journey is tears, blood and sacrifices and still make not win gold after all. how many willing to go for it knowing they may end up with nothing to show for it other than personal best? if fandi chooses for his sons to be abroad, so be it bec every dad wants the best for his kid. NS or no NS, if you want to succeed in football, Singapore is not the place to be. Edited August 6, 2010 by Sabian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 I personally dun see the need to join the rat race for survival. There are still many livable places in the planet that we can go to. Its always about balance, you will gain something while you lose something else. Its about choices. well said Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 you make your own choices. as parents, how many prepared to support their kids the way Joscelin Yeo's parents did? only know how to blame cheng hu. NZ also got small population but can send undefeated team to WC2010. talent only brings your halfway, the rest of the journey is tears, blood and sacrifices and still make not win gold after all. how many willing to go for it knowing they may end up with nothing to show for it other than personal best? This case a bit different. In soccer, the formative 2 years of 18~22 is very important. A lot of starts are born around this time. Look at Messi, C.Ron, Ronney. imagine what will they be if during those time, they are in NS and not playing top class competitive soccer. Look at what happen to Fandi after he choose to play in Asia. His improvement is greatly hinder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 (edited) i think i would excuse his son's from NS if they are up to it. Yes, it does set a very dangerous precedent. But how many has followed Fandi's footstep since? Put it this way, their talent serves our country better elsewhere. Is it that difficult? Edited August 6, 2010 by Bavarian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 No offence though.... For soccer ..... Its best to give up SG citizenship... Becos the standard of SG soccer is too low... Furthermore, if one wants to go overseas club say like Europe, the Country's ranking would need to take into considerations... I agree to a certain extent. When Fandi wanted to become a professional footballer with a European club back then, some of my friends remarked that how can a Pri 6 be earning so much. What would that made those who studied so much think? So my opinion is - yes, for a soccer career go somewhere to further it. SIN soccer is not low but the general public thinks that it is just a game, should not be paid so much if anything at all for SIN soccer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 i think i would excuse his son's from NS if they are up to it. Yes, it does set a very dangerous precedent. But how many has followed Fandi's footstep since? Put it this way, their talent serves our country better elsewhere. Is it that difficult? Actually if we take the terms. National Service, Serving as national player can be consider as NS. but reserve only for the bests of the bests. AKA those who can make it in europe top league. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huat138 2nd Gear August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 His sons want to play for FC Groningen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmadman 6th Gear August 6, 2010 Share August 6, 2010 i served bmt at 22SA in late 88 wif fandi's younger brother, n halfway, he was posted 2 play 4 SAFSA, eventhou he admited hes not skillful like his brother n din even hv 2 finish his BMT. jus bcoz he is fandi's bro, he got 2 escape bmt, so mayb fandi's 2 sons can make up 4 it n finally do sumting 4 the Lions hehehehe..... still hv respect 4 the lions of 70s 80s. the later lions r more in2 acting like NATO. sad the 70s n 80s lions din get the govt backing the later lions got.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...