Harveynorman Neutral Newbie August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 Fandi should just let his boys become South Africans then get the Spore Govt to recruit them as FT when they grow older. Since our Govt here likes to recruit FT so much. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 Think it is a combination of home sick and his mum's advice. After all, he was really young then and was a kampong boy. Guess living in europe alone was difficult. You are right, that was what he reportedly told the paper. But I guess he could have felt the negative view from the public about his offered salary from football considering his education. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 Both sons can choose to play for South Africa too even if they are singaporean? i know alot of euro players are doing it holding dual citizenship...if they join FC Groningen at 16 years old and stay at the club for a couple of years they will become home grown players in the dutch league...maybe maybe can take up dutch citizenship too...means they can choose to represent sinkapore, SA or the Netherlands ...which will u choose? Singapore don't allow dual citizenship. Go means cannot come back liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 fandi`s sons should play for south africa.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 Not just that, more $$ to be made than Singapore for soccer.. I would advise him to let them max their potential there. yes totally agree....dun waste time...let them stay in south africa... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear August 8, 2010 Share August 8, 2010 imho fandi.................go ahead if you wish your sons to represent SA i mean honestly speaking what did the country do to him after he sweat so much for the country (not only him but whole lots of born and breed in sg sports personals?\) eg the young daim, singapore young racer did our country even support him? sponsorship is being given by bolehland not surprise if he give up his citizenship to skip NS and further his career as a race driver regarding fandi sons why didn't our FA step in? it really shows how bad is FA getting in touch with the lower levels to unearth gems i think fandi more concern is not about whether whcih country will the sons represent but more to which country will appreciate them once they retire from the sports once bitten twice shy.......thats might be what fandi be thinking right now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged June 25, 2018 Share June 25, 2018 fast forward 8 years... https://www.tnp.sg/sports/singapore-football/european-trials-beckon-irfan-and-ikhsan Towering at 1.88m, he is one of the domestic league's most imposing defenders, but Irfan Fandi will be making extra visits to the gym over the next two weeks to prepare for next month's trials in England and Portugal. The centre-back is heeding the advice by super agent Jorge Mendes and Wolverhampton Wanderers manager Nuno Espirito Santo during their meeting last Saturday. The Portuguese duo - who are friends of Singaporean billionaire Peter Lim, owner of La Liga club Valencia - were in Singapore for a holiday. They have offered to help Irfan, 20, and his younger brother Ikhsan, 19, to secure trials in Europe and even shared tips with them. Said Irfan: "They just asked me to prepare well mentally and physically. I have about two weeks before I go so, during this time, I'll be going for more gym sessions and getting myself focused before I leave." In March, Irfan and Ikhsan both got a taste of what it is like to play for European clubs. The brothers had trials at Dutch club FC Groningen, where their father and Singapore Under-23 coach Fandi made a name for himself in the 1980s. The brothers have no made secret of their desire to follow in their father's footsteps. Irfan said he has gained important lessons from his previous trials, which have helped him become a better player. He said: "The players overseas are a lot better technically, mentally and physically. They have a very strong will and a passion for football. They base their life on football and they would do anything in training. "After I came back, I tried to tell the boys how it is like there, so they can learn to give their best in training. In Singapore, the situation is hard because of school and stuff. Overseas, they have school too, so it's not an excuse not to work hard." Before he goes off, Irfan hopes to do well in the Singapore U-23s' friendly against Myanmar U-23 today. The Young Lions are still hoping to secure an Asian Games berth after they were left out of the initial list by Singapore National Olympic Council (SNOC) last month. Tonight's game, which was arranged last week, could give them a helping hand in that. In their previous friendly in March, they lost 3-0 to the Indonesia U-23 at the National Stadium. But Irfan is feeling optimistic about tonight's game, saying: "I know all the boys are in good form. There's positive pressure. It's a good thing for us because we need to prove ourselves." While they still dream of getting SNOC's nod, Singapore U-23 coach Fandi does not want his charges to be caught up with qualification. Instead, he wants them to just focus on playing their best. He said: "It's just another game, we have to give our best. The important thing, whatever the result is, they must feel the hunger of playing for the national team. "It's a good opportunity for us to rise and try. It doesn't matter if we go or not, but it's an opportunity for us to show the talent and, hopefully, the selectors will see." The U-23s will be without Ikhsan, Taufiq Muqminin and Adam Swandi due to injury, but Fandi is not worried. He said: "A few players are not here, but we can still play attractive football. "We have a good blend of senior and junior players so, hopefully, the older ones can guide the younger ones. "The camaraderie, the eagerness you can see in training is a positive sign." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LPPL 6th Gear June 25, 2018 Share June 25, 2018 Cmi lah...Got physique and some skills but no brains also no use Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic June 26, 2018 Share June 26, 2018 fast forward 8 years... https://www.tnp.sg/sports/singapore-football/european-trials-beckon-irfan-and-ikhsan Towering at 1.88m, he is one of the domestic league's most imposing defenders, but Irfan Fandi will be making extra visits to the gym over the next two weeks to prepare for next month's trials in England and Portugal. The centre-back is heeding the advice by super agent Jorge Mendes and Wolverhampton Wanderers manager Nuno Espirito Santo during their meeting last Saturday. The Portuguese duo - who are friends of Singaporean billionaire Peter Lim, owner of La Liga club Valencia - were in Singapore for a holiday. They have offered to help Irfan, 20, and his younger brother Ikhsan, 19, to secure trials in Europe and even shared tips with them. Said Irfan: "They just asked me to prepare well mentally and physically. I have about two weeks before I go so, during this time, I'll be going for more gym sessions and getting myself focused before I leave." In March, Irfan and Ikhsan both got a taste of what it is like to play for European clubs. The brothers had trials at Dutch club FC Groningen, where their father and Singapore Under-23 coach Fandi made a name for himself in the 1980s. The brothers have no made secret of their desire to follow in their father's footsteps. Irfan said he has gained important lessons from his previous trials, which have helped him become a better player. He said: "The players overseas are a lot better technically, mentally and physically. They have a very strong will and a passion for football. They base their life on football and they would do anything in training. "After I came back, I tried to tell the boys how it is like there, so they can learn to give their best in training. In Singapore, the situation is hard because of school and stuff. Overseas, they have school too, so it's not an excuse not to work hard." Before he goes off, Irfan hopes to do well in the Singapore U-23s' friendly against Myanmar U-23 today. The Young Lions are still hoping to secure an Asian Games berth after they were left out of the initial list by Singapore National Olympic Council (SNOC) last month. Tonight's game, which was arranged last week, could give them a helping hand in that. In their previous friendly in March, they lost 3-0 to the Indonesia U-23 at the National Stadium. But Irfan is feeling optimistic about tonight's game, saying: "I know all the boys are in good form. There's positive pressure. It's a good thing for us because we need to prove ourselves." While they still dream of getting SNOC's nod, Singapore U-23 coach Fandi does not want his charges to be caught up with qualification. Instead, he wants them to just focus on playing their best. He said: "It's just another game, we have to give our best. The important thing, whatever the result is, they must feel the hunger of playing for the national team. "It's a good opportunity for us to rise and try. It doesn't matter if we go or not, but it's an opportunity for us to show the talent and, hopefully, the selectors will see." The U-23s will be without Ikhsan, Taufiq Muqminin and Adam Swandi due to injury, but Fandi is not worried. He said: "A few players are not here, but we can still play attractive football. "We have a good blend of senior and junior players so, hopefully, the older ones can guide the younger ones. "The camaraderie, the eagerness you can see in training is a positive sign." Have they completed ns?? if not complete liao then decide the rest 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kdash Supersonic June 26, 2018 Share June 26, 2018 its not so easy to just go Europe trial and be chosen. alot of hard work had been put in by the European boys since a very young age. Irfan already mentioned that physically and technically they are better. that being said, all the best for their trials! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic June 26, 2018 Share June 26, 2018 Cmi lah...Got physique and some skills but no brains also no usesingapore got so many with brain.......still cannot make it (sports)........... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged June 26, 2018 Share June 26, 2018 Have they completed ns?? if not complete liao then decide the rest Their NS stint is rarely reported and sketchy. According to wiki, one is in army, the other in police. No report of fandi and wife sending them to NS nor graduate from certain courses like spec or officer. My guess is they are constantly in and out of camp. Just like my time my guys were attached to dunno what sports safsa, always not around, always got training, always got competition. Dunno real or not or chao keng. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kdash Supersonic July 14, 2018 Share July 14, 2018 (edited) Hmmm... If he build up his career and profile there and earn millions signing contracts with clubs, would he still want to stay here? this is personal interest vs SG interest liao lo... garment has to weigh the potential of sporting success and publicity for SG if Davis is successful in EPL, vs conditions for NS deferment and whether justified or not. another current example is Son from Spurs. shall wait and see what the Korean garment will do... https://talksport.com/football/352149/tottenham-hotspur-news-does-spurs-heung-min-son-have-complete-national-service-south-korea/ Edited July 14, 2018 by kdash Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic July 14, 2018 Share July 14, 2018 this is personal interest vs SG interest liao lo... garment has to weigh the potential of sporting success and publicity for SG if Davis is successful in EPL, vs conditions for NS deferment and whether justified or not. another current example is Son from Spurs. shall wait and see what the Korean garment will do... https://talksport.com/football/352149/tottenham-hotspur-news-does-spurs-heung-min-son-have-complete-national-service-south-korea/ The world is getting more mobile, which is why the younger generation are moving foreign to realise their dreams. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...