Damienic 5th Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 agree.... "Heartland" malls are harder to find parking then in Orchard... Orchard, i always get a lot no problem. Only difficult one is Cineleisure on friday nights. yep. for cineleisure, if you dun mind walk a bit, can park at orchard building which is just a stone throw away...that one usually no problem to find parking even on fri nights.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 this is an auction by the govt for public housing. take note, the words.... 1) govt 2) public housing (its not even exec condo) as mentioned one of the replies... the highest bid process is lazy, ineffective, translates to higher costs, inflation etc. and how are alternatives to highest bidder super easy to kelong? (and may i remind you we have a very very well paid govt just for this reason). the private sector do this on a daily basis. as long as your evaluation criterias are reasonable, and cast in stone from the start of the process, you can't be shaken. add to that the public sector is audited to the last paper clip. unfortunately this is the one and only modus operandi of the govt. you are already feeling its effects. the 3 govt owned power plants were recently sold to the highest bidders. from now on, regardless or oil price or USD rate, you will only see your electricity tariffs go up in general. so what they are well-paid... alot of CEOs are well paid too and i dun see them doing anything.... i got 2 choices... work my way up or stop harping on the fact they are more well paid then us...... is not that i am ok with those high paid men in white.... but show me a good candidate that can work for less.... people have been harping on the word public housing thus it has to beaffordable.... well it must be affordable that is why people are still buying it.. dun forget only if either is SG citizen then can buy these new flats.. so people must have found it affordable if not, they will not be buying... and public housing is not what it was 20yrs ago.... many people are jumping on the bandwagon and selling once there is profit to be made or renting it out and then complain say HDB expensive...... alot of them look at it as investment or money making tree and not housing... i have a relative... used to be housewife and look after kids for at least past 15yrs when her husband left her for someone else... she had to come out and work... of cuz she is not well paid as she is out of touch with working life already... she struggled to keep up with the instalment payments while supporting her 2 children.. one of them with 6-7As for o levels and studying in JC now..... after defaulting for very long HDB took back the flat i think is 4rm... ask her to downgrade...... but have to wait few yrs for a smaller unit as there is currently not enough supply for those on public assistance and during this time HDB rent her a flat with another family at low rate......... THIS IS PUBLIC HOUSING how many of the public knows about this? people also complain petrol keeep going up.... but i read a report in MY.. saw it in a thread here only yesterday.... thailand petrol price is almost similar to as us... phillipines petrol price is double of ours... then i realised is only because MY is cheap so we complain....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 ya.... petrol price in Thailand, Cambodia etc....basically almost the same as us, differing by only at most $0.30/L??? and yet, the common cars you see there are SUV's, especially cambodia.... loads of LandCruiser, Lexus SUV running about there.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 If you ask me, places like vivo is getting even more crowded and harder to find parking than places like orchard...serious...on a fri evening after work, I can get to orchard and find a lot to park within 10-15mins of which 5mins to find a lot and another 10mins to get from my place to the shopping centre car park..if I did the same for vivo, i will need double the time or even more..even for tampines mall, I find the time to find a lot is usually more than the time I can find a lot at orchard..orchard is not really that crowded these days...there is only long jams and difficulty to find a lot probably during the first two weeks of the Great Singapore Sale and during christmas period..other than that, I dun find it that crowded..tampines mall and amk hub parking is in fact harder to find than orchard.. I feel that its the pricing of the CP, vivo , tampinese mall car park fee very affordable to the mass, can park there, walk, window shop until ur leg break, pocket also will not burn a hole, imagine they charge the driver with orchard takashimaya car park pricing, confirm u will able to get a lot in peak period coz ppl will chop chop settle their shopping quickly n get out of the shopping center asap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 (edited) I feel that its the pricing of the CP, vivo , tampinese mall car park fee very affordable to the mass, can park there, walk, window shop until ur leg break, pocket also will not burn a hole, imagine they charge the driver with orchard takashimaya car park pricing, confirm u will able to get a lot in peak period coz ppl will chop chop settle their shopping quickly n get out of the shopping center asap it really depends on whether you know where to park in orchard and at what time. For example, if wanna go ngee ann city to shop on a sat evening, can choose to park at wisma atria which is per entry at $3.50 after 5pm onwards. ...vivo is charging $3.00 after 6pm on a sat...only 50 cents cheaper...vivo is only a lot cheaper compared to orchard if you are talking abt a weekday afternoon during office hours..but who goes shopping on a weekday afternoon anyway when most pple are working?? I dun really agree orchard is that expensive to park...ion also only charges $3.74 per entry after 5pm on weekdays and on sat...I find the petrol cost is in fact likely to be even higher for going to vivo during evening on fri and sat where it takes so much time to drive along telok blangah road just to get into vivo.. I dun really rem how much it cost to park at tampines mall...but I vaguely rem when I go to amk hub to shop on a sat evening, I paid $3++ for 3hours ++ there from 6plus to 9plus...certainly not any cheaper than orchard... Edited August 4, 2010 by Damienic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 (edited) Woodlands also getting really cramp.... only have that one stupid Causeway Point.... heard it's gonna be renovated.... looking forward to that day nia.... thats why Tampines is best! Got 3 shopping malls + 1 in Simei = 4 ! If I add Expo WOW no need to go anywhere else... Edited August 4, 2010 by Tigerwoods Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 Talk about amk, I spend some good 10 + yrs hang around the center but I hate amk ctr after the opening of amk hub... So bloody jam on weekend... I no longer shop there.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 ya.... petrol price in Thailand, Cambodia etc....basically almost the same as us, differing by only at most $0.30/L??? and yet, the common cars you see there are SUV's, especially cambodia.... loads of LandCruiser, Lexus SUV running about there.... Cos u c their roads... Our roads compared to theirs... U think they wana drive which ones??? If me, i also wana drive 4WD SUVs [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 thats why Tampines is best! Got 3 shopping malls + 1 in Simei = 4 ! If I add Expo WOW no need to go anywhere else... Still got Ikea, Courts as well... Those Big types one... Actually tampines not bad la.... Maybe i would consider... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 so what they are well-paid... alot of CEOs are well paid too and i dun see them doing anything.... i got 2 choices... work my way up or stop harping on the fact they are more well paid then us...... is not that i am ok with those high paid men in white.... but show me a good candidate that can work for less.... i highlighted the 'well paid' fact for the sole reason that this is supposed to curb corruption among public office holders, which you mention is possible without the highest bid model. nothing more. people have been harping on the word public housing thus it has to beaffordable.... well it must be affordable that is why people are still buying it.. dun forget only if either is SG citizen then can buy these new flats.. so people must have found it affordable if not, they will not be buying... people are not buying willingly,but what's the alternative? changi tents maybe... and public housing is not what it was 20yrs ago.... many people are jumping on the bandwagon and selling once there is profit to be made or renting it out and then complain say HDB expensive...... alot of them look at it as investment or money making tree and not housing... it sure isn't. prices went into a supernatural escalation,out of whack with inflation and wages. i'm sure there are many profiteering, but that gives little comfort to the many more who're about to purchase their first flats on huge 30year loans.... i have a relative... used to be housewife and look after kids for at least past 15yrs when her husband left her for someone else... she had to come out and work... of cuz she is not well paid as she is out of touch with working life already... she struggled to keep up with the instalment payments while supporting her 2 children.. one of them with 6-7As for o levels and studying in JC now..... after defaulting for very long HDB took back the flat i think is 4rm... ask her to downgrade...... but have to wait few yrs for a smaller unit as there is currently not enough supply for those on public assistance and during this time HDB rent her a flat with another family at low rate......... THIS IS PUBLIC HOUSING my sympathies to her. and i'll have to highlight that the first part of this para shows how unaffordable flats have become. after 15 years and 4 rm(?) flat still unpaid for... it'll just get worse in future people also complain petrol keeep going up.... but i read a report in MY.. saw it in a thread here only yesterday.... thailand petrol price is almost similar to as us... phillipines petrol price is double of ours... then i realised is only because MY is cheap so we complain....... thail and philippines petrol prices may be just as high. but they are countered by lower costs of many other needs. which i can't say the same for my country Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 Woodlands also getting really cramp.... only have that one stupid Causeway Point.... heard it's gonna be renovated.... looking forward to that day nia.... Causeway Point is a nightmare on weekends and during school holidays. This is not helped by the structure of the building and roads leading to the car park. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 Talk about amk, I spend some good 10 + yrs hang around the center but I hate amk ctr after the opening of amk hub... So bloody jam on weekend... I no longer shop there.... I usually go to the hawker centre to eat. I would park at the open space car park opposite Courts. But of late, even that car park is almost completely filled during weekends. As for AMK hub, it is almost untouchable during weekends. Even walking can be quite challenging too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 The fact is, I dun find there is much so-called quiet places in Singapore anymore...what some people say abt neighbourhood shopping centres like jurong pt, tampines mall and etc etc can in fact sometimes be as crowded as town area shopping centres or even more crowded..I have been to amk hub thrice and I can say that each time I need min 15mins or even more to queue from outside of car park before I can get in and another 10mins min to find a lot..last sat I went to suntec and can easily find a lot to park..I can never experience the same if say I go to a supposedly more quiet neighbourhood shopping centre such as IMM or jurong point..Singapore got quiet and non-crowded place to shop meh?? Perhaps only sun plaza ba.. There is nothing to shop at Sun Plaza but yet it is also very crowded. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 With your new house coming, u can practically walk to orchard. btw....Great World City basement gona open a new 4D outlet within these few days. Huat Ah!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 I usually go to the hawker centre to eat. I would park at the open space car park opposite Courts. But of late, even that car park is almost completely filled during weekends. As for AMK hub, it is almost untouchable during weekends. Even walking can be quite challenging too. i prefer empty malls like Thomson plaza, west coast plaza (ex Ginza plaza) nowadays) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 wah i had more post then him few mths back... now he NOSed liao im still TC He talk a lot la....Some are rubbish....Others don't make any sense. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 Congrats! You are now promoted to NOS-ed Next year this time, he will be 2F2F. Record posts of at least 40k. Mai sng sng..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear August 4, 2010 Share August 4, 2010 He talk a lot la....Some are rubbish....Others don't make any sense. Walau... u suan J22... walau [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...